1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Beta-Readers Wanted

Discussion in 'General' started by Phalanx, 20 Jan 2011.

1. Phalanx

Phalanx Needs more dragons and stuff.

Right, bit of a request from you guys, if you're interested in reading unreleased short stories and novels before they are published.

Some of you might be aware that I have two jobs. My first job is working for an IT consultancy. Pretty normal job. My second job is far more interesting to me, and it's getting to the point where I am considering turning professional with it after some success.

I'm a writer. Science-Fiction to be precise, and more often than not based on Warhammer 40,000. I'm looking for beta-readers who have some practice in one form or another that would like to be involved in reading drafts and pieces of my work before I pass them to submission through my publisher.

I am looking for two or three people who have one or more of the following:

- People who have a love for sci-fi and can feel the storyline and feedback in a way that explains if the story works for them or not, and WHY.
    - People who have editing experience, and are able to pick out transitional grammatical errors (ie. not necessarily a missing comma, but a comma in the wrong place. That kind of thing).
    - People who have a background in Warhammer 40,000 and like reading. This is much more focused and will be less work than just science-fiction in general. My roots are in Warhammer 40,000 for my publishing, but I am moving to a broader sci-fi genre soon.
    - People who are able to say what they mean. I don't mean just comments like "Yeah, I loved it!" - Pick the story apart and explain what you liked and didn't. Pull no punches.

If you think you can help and want to read free transcripts of future published items before they are released, get in touch by e-mail. My e-mail is christian[dot]damico@gmail[dot]com