1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other In major need of upgrade and i need your help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jls25, 21 Feb 2012.

1. jls25

jls25 CatfishSoup

Hey everyone. So i have been a long time member on this site, but its clear that from my post count i read more than i write on this site.

anyway, i am back and its because i am in much much need of an upgrade. im still running 775. :p

so my current set up is

CPU: E8400 @ 3.6
    2GB DDR2
    680i
    8800 GT super clocked
    Corsair TX750

misc. HDD = 3.5TB

HAF 932

anyway, so im upgrading because i am a photographer and cinematographer and I need a rig for editing video and photos, and for some good gaming as well. though im more of a console person, i still miss PC gaming.

now i want to keep some parts, but it would only be my PSU, CPU cooler (fenrir which i think supports sandy bridge) case, and HDD.

So i was thinking of getting:

i5 2500K - i heard good things about this, and about overclocking
    any DDR3 memory
    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
    GTX 560TI

that would cost nearing a grand if i am not mistaken.

do you guys have any recommendations? or do you guys agree that this is a good set up?

2. Parge

Parge the worst Super Moderator

All very good choices. You could buy a lower range motherboard if you wanted to save a few pennies!

3. jls25

jls25 CatfishSoup

what other motherboard do you say would be good? would it do good for overclocking still? what would be the main difference

4. MrDomRocks

MrDomRocks Modder

Z86 boards utiliise onboard GPU thats the i5 has whilst P8P67 board doesnt.

Plus do you need the extra features the Deluxe board has?

I have the P8P67 Rev 3 basic version and it is a pretty good over all board. Overclocks well from the little I have done. SLI capable too.