1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress The APOC Project, (Update 8th Sept)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by sebtiger, 5 May 2009.

1. sebtiger

sebtiger CNC controlled Dremel I have

Hi there, my name is Seb Karam aka sebtiger.

I am a 20 year old gap year student heading for uni in october this year and a budding modder. I have been doing some major mods for the last 2 years, of which all of them have been documented on the ebuyer forums. (The Ebuyer modding index follow sebtiger).

This year I came into £500 from a competition and decided to put it towards something I have longed to do since I started my engineering GCSE. Build a computer controlled machine that would cut and engrave materials. The whole experience has been a huge learning curve. Since I finished my CNC machine, well reached a point where it was able to cut things out, I have had the intention on getting it to work on a huge project. A project that would dwarf all my other projects; A scratch build (building a case from scratch).

My CNC machine was made with the idea that I would cut out acrylic fan grills and other acrylic modifications in a similar vein. A few weeks into the construction of the CNC it dawned on me that I would be able to cut out puzzle type objects and even more complicated things like flatpack skeletons.

With this in mind, I got thinking looking for influences and ideas. I needed something big, something that has never been done before and something that will inspire other people to get into modding. I have also set myself the goal of producing a case that was worthy to be featured in the bit-tech modding section and CUSTOMPC "Community Reader's Drives".