1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress "Xposure" polished concrete desk....update 03.04.16

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by skulth, 26 Aug 2015.

1. skulth

skulth What's a Dremel?

Well how to start......

I have long dreamed of building my own computer case and desk. I have been coming to this site for many many years for ideas. I have been blown away by the effort and ideas everyone has on here.

So I have finally got around to doing something my self. I have got about half way through this project. So over the next few days there will be a rather large amount added here which sums up around 3-4 months of work but years of knowledge that I have research and experimented with.

So with out further a do.......

The idea is simple and breaks down into 3 parts.

1- desk top, this is going to be an exposed aggregate concrete. Simply put I will cast concrete and then grind it back to expose the aggregate
    2- desk supports, this will be a wooden frame made in 2 sections. A front leg and a wall mounted back which will have the compute mounted on it.
    3-wall mounted case, This is the only bit I haven't finalised yet. As it depends on money when its time to build whether I will watercool or aircool.

This is an example of exposed aggregate concrete, however when I'm done mine will be much smoother.

[​IMG]

So before I truly decided this was the what I wanted I did a few test pieces.

This shows 3 slabs with one that's been ground down and 2 that are in there cast state. They only show a very rough grind but was enough for me to love it.

[​IMG]

10mm aggregate (this is the size of the aggregates not the thickness of the concrete)

[​IMG]

mixture of 10mm and 20mm aggregate (this is the size of the aggregates not the thickness of the concrete)

[​IMG]

Having decided this was the way I went about designing the desk its self.