1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Bit of assistance with data protection regime please

Discussion in 'Software' started by Mister_Tad, 30 Sep 2014.

1. Mister_Tad

Mister_Tad Will work for nuts Super Moderator

I used to be right on top of data protection with RAID, replication and a series of rotating external disks but I seem to have become a bit lazy and have swapped some kit out leaving me feeling fairly exposed (though I have far less data to protect these days). Amusingly, I do data management consultancy for a living, but alas I don't have the sort of budget to implement the sort of thing I advise upon and have little knowledge of more consumer oriented stuff.

So what I have in terms of kit is...

W2012R2 server, 4TB & 2TB storage drives
    2TB single disk NAS - fairly basic but does have some copy services and allows root CLI access
    1TB and 500GB external disks.

~100GB of data I simply cannot lose
    ~600GB of data which would present a serious inconvenience if I were to lose it
    ~500GB of data which I'd be mildly miffed if I lost, but woulnd't lose sleep over
    - 1x W7 Ultimate desktop, 1x W8.1 Pro laptop which I don't fancy ever needing a fresh install on for whatever reason.
    - A mild desire to rip ~500DVDs at some point in the future, and only once

I'm thinking of using StableBit DrivePool for a No-RAID solution to protect against drive failure in the server for principle data, leaving the remainder of the capacity of the 4TB disk for backups of the desktop/laptop.

A few things that I'm not quite sure the best way to approach:

I'd like something like VSS on the server for certain data, but at a more granular level than the entire volume, to avoid bulk changes to large files which I don't care about all that much wiping out the entire repository for things I probably care about a lot more.