1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboards Which Motherboard?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Colt 45 J, 23 Oct 2008.

1. Colt 45 J

Colt 45 J Aye

I can't decide, I am a student (so i'm poor). I am looking to build a cheap computer, and pretty much anything is an upgrade from the crap I am using now. I want a dual core, plan on OCing it a bit and pushing some performance out of a Pentium Dual Core (also need to buy one) but my question is which of these motherboards, or any in a similar price range (up to $60 preferably this includes shipping but doesn't have to) is the best? I am leaning to the ASUS but want some outside opinions.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131288

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186140

Thanks, Colt 45 J

2. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

Go with Foxconn.
    - HDMI (open options)
    - better video card (drivers wise, power wise it's about the same)
    - Vista Ready, even possibly Windows 7
    - nForce, nice for performance
    - Ability to view HD movie (with nvidia purevideo)

Quality should be same as this is the very low end of ASUS. And RMA service for ASUS America is not very good. So I don't' think you lose anything on either mobos on the service.

3. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

Your joking right?

OK maybe that statement is more fitting with nvidia's top end motherboards, where problems are common.

If your on a tight budget i suggest finding a second hand Intel P35 motherboard on ebay.

When you go cheap you take a chance of either getting a good stable stock performance board or so flaky you feel sick about wasting the cash on it.

The motherboard can make or break a good system build, and this is where i would invest my money, then find the cheapest 775 chip around, and 2GB of memory can be had on the cheap, as long as its DDR2-800 you'll be fine.

4. GoodBytes