bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th Feb 2017, 21:46   #1
riggs
^_^
 
riggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 1,712
riggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysis
Moving an EFI partition

I've just bought one of those cheap Chinese Win10 tablets which came with an Android dual boot setup. I read a few guides detailing how to remove Android and merge the remaining free space with the Win10 partition. What they don't describe is what to do when there's an EFI partition in the way.

Currently, my disk layout looks like this;


So I need to create a new 100MB FAT32 partition at the beginning of the disk and move the contents of the current EFI partition over. Is this even possible? I've got no install media (which would probably be the easiest way of doing things) and was hoping to do this without too much messing around.
__________________
Bally Jerry pranged his kite right in the how's your father. Hairy blighter, dicky-birdied, feathered back on his Sammy, took a waspy, flipped over on his Betty Harper's and caught his can in the Bertie!
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Feb 2017, 00:06   #2
RedFlames
...is a figment of your imagination
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 6,979
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It largely depends how locked down the bios is, as most of the utilities i can think of would require you to boot from a usb pen drive [even reinstalling windows from scratch would].

As for install media, MS have the media creation tool which'll download an appropriate image to a usb stick or an iso.
__________________
Why are you still reading this? The post is over. Go Home.

RedFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Feb 2017, 02:54   #3
riggs
^_^
 
riggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 1,712
riggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysis
I figured as much. Got a USB-C adaptor on the way as well as an OTG hub, so it looks like I'll be doing a fresh install. Just need to figure out how to extract the Windows key/activation, along with all the drivers (as far as I can see, Chuwi don't offer the drivers for download).

Thanks for that MS link btw. :-)
__________________
Bally Jerry pranged his kite right in the how's your father. Hairy blighter, dicky-birdied, feathered back on his Sammy, took a waspy, flipped over on his Betty Harper's and caught his can in the Bertie!
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2017, 10:54   #4
aramil
One does not simply upgrade Windows
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: between the furture & the past, UK
Posts: 940
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
You Could check with something like "showkeyplus" for key/bios info.

But generally after activation by user win10 is activated by digital entitlement. So a hardware hash is stored @ MS and when reinstalling you should not need to input anything, it just matches up it's hardware hash and activates.

(works on my linx10)
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.4Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 |Palit GeForce GTX 980 Super Jetstream 4Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 1Tb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 16Gb (4x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 | Zalman MS800 | AOC 27" 2560x1440 | Windows 10 Pro 64bit | Linx10 Tablet ED: CMDR Aramil Lorrathain Become a Star Citizen get 5,000 free Credits HERE
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2017, 11:03   #5
riggs
^_^
 
riggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 1,712
riggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysisriggs can run Crysis
Oh, ok, didn't realise that was the case with Windows these days. I ended up extracting the product key anyway, even if I don't end up needing to use it.
Also managed to backup all the drivers with DoubleDriver, so I should be good to go as soon as this USB-C adaptor turns up.

Thanks for the replies btw :-)
__________________
Bally Jerry pranged his kite right in the how's your father. Hairy blighter, dicky-birdied, feathered back on his Sammy, took a waspy, flipped over on his Betty Harper's and caught his can in the Bertie!
riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:16.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.