1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Watercooling PC CPU temp Shutdown

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Druyii, 27 Jan 2016.

1. Druyii

Druyii What's a Dremel?

Hi guys,

So it seems that I have the worst luck when it comes to PC builds, my first had a catastrophic mobo failure and then I tried to replace with a like for like, but it worked only for a small period before just failing again. Then my brother (user: Huge) gave me his old build as he never uses it, and as much as I love his build, I have no experience with water cooled systems and therefore am scared witless about trying to fix on my own as my brother is too busy and far away now to help.

Basically, the cooling system doesn't appear to be doing its job at the moment as I've had more than a few system shutdowns due to the CPU being too hot. Even as I type, SpeedFan is reporting a system temp at a healthy 27°C, but the GPU is running at 56°C and the CPU at 86°C. The water cooler in question is the Corsair H-50 and the rest of the build is:

Mobo: ASUS P8P67-M Pro
    CPU: i5-2500k @3300MHz
    RAM: 2x 4GB Corsair DDR3
    GPU: XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black

I will admit that my knowledge here is so minimal that I don't want to do something stupid after watching a shady YouTube guide, so any further information needed I'll give if I can. As far as I can see, all the power cables are set up right, but when you boot the PC, you can't hear the cooler start pumping coolant around.

Thanks in advance for the help,
    Druyii

2. Big Elf

Big Elf Oh no! Not another f----ing elf!