1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New build after 6 years, questions on W/C layout, components, mod GTX 680's?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by IvanLV, 26 Mar 2012.

1. IvanLV

IvanLV What's a Dremel?

Greetings Programs! After 6 longs years I am finally able to start a much needed new build. I thought I'd make a couple posts in some forums in search of answers from people more experienced than myself. I have build my three last computers, the last two have been liquid cooled, and I love it. My new rig will serve as both gaming platform for my inner geek and digital workstation as I am a recient Animation grad looking to break into the industry.

I will list my currently planned component purchases and the questions / concerns I have.

1. Component list
    a. Any components you recommend / do not recommend?

2. Water cooling layout
    a. Is running 3 rads overkill?
    b. Pro's and Con's

3. 580 vs 680
    a. Can you mod a 680? (making the card take up one pci slot)
    b. Recommended GPU for Physx

Firstly my list of currently planned / already purchased components:

Primary Components
    Case: Corsair 800d
    Mobo: Crosshair V
    CPU: AMD FX-8150
    Ram: 4 x 8gig Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600
    Power Supply: Corsair AX1200
    GPU: 3 x EVGA GTX 680 / 580*
    Physx GPU: Open to suggestion*
    Sound Card: Creative X-Fi*
    Primary Storage: 2 x Kingston Hyper X 120gb raid 0
    Secondary Storage: WD 1TB 7200rpm

Cooling Components
    Rad1: Airplex Revolution 420/360mm
    Rad2: Airplex Modulary System 280mm
    Rad3: Airplex Modulary System 140mm
    Case/Rad Fans: 7 x Sharkoon Silent Eagle 800
    Reservoir: Frozen Q double helix 250mm
    Pump: DD12v-D5 pump