1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors Motorcycles - commuting

Discussion in 'General' started by DeadP1xels, 19 Jul 2016.

1. DeadP1xels

DeadP1xels Social distancing since 92

I've been given the go ahead to remote work so i can move back to my homeland full time :clap:

This does mean I'll need to return to the office twice a week (currently should go down to one) to attend meetings throughout the day.

My car is a fuel hog and I'm lucky to get 35mpg out of it. I'm considering just ditching it for something small and unattractive to save my wallet when i was approached by a friend selling a Kawasaki Ninja 250.

I have no experience with bikes so assume fisher price knowledge here ladys and gentleman!

I've been driving for almost 6 years with no history of accidents... i do have 3 points for 57 in a 50 though... certainly not a speed demon in a 1.2 Corsa. I've always loved the idea of getting a motorcycle... my dad (previously a rider) always hated the idea of me doing it so would usually discourage it.

My commute is 140 miles one way, I'll need to do the trip twice a week for the next few months. 560 miles which a quick calculator tells me could run me around £75-£80 a week in fuel alone! :waah: when i get to work car parking is borderline impossible but oodles of space in the motorcycle area

90 miles of my journey is M5, other part is roads I'm extremely familiar with, The guy selling the bike is a trained mechanic and i have his word any issues could be fixed at trade prices (even if i didn't buy his bike) like he's been doing with my car.

Is this a completely bonkers idea, it sounds like i'm probably missing something here.

2. bawjaws

bawjaws Multimodder

I'm not sure I'd want to commute for two hours each way on a motorbike, tbh.

3. mrlongbeard

mrlongbeard Multimodder