1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux RAID, WDS and hypervisors

Discussion in 'Software' started by noizdaemon666, 14 Apr 2014.

1. noizdaemon666

noizdaemon666 I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn

Hi guys,

I've got my grubby mitts on a HP ML350 G5 server at work. Not the best server but it'll (hopefully) do exactly what I want. I've upgraded it to 16GiB ECC 667 and added a second Xeon 5310.

So I now have two servers. One with an AMD 1090T, 8GiB 1333, 128GB SSD as OS drive and 3x2TB HDDs in RAID 5 which hold customer data (I work as a repair/build technician). Then I have the HP.

The 1090T server used to hold customer data, was the primary DC for the workshop, be a WDS server and run Hyper-V (to make up to date WIMs for reloads). I initially split these roles so the 1090T had the domain and held customer data and the HP ran Hyper-V and WDS. Both ran Server 2012 R2 standard.

I've been having issues with the HP dropping the 2nd CPU and not using it correctly. It also has dreadful performance on the E200i RAID controller (it has 4 72GB 10K SAS drives in R0). I'm wanting to move the HP onto Linux as it picks up and uses both processors (I tried a Linux Mint live disc).

So to my questions :D I want the HP to do the virtualisation and hopefully WDS. So which version of Linux would you guys suggest? (I'm ok with Debian and Ubuntu distros, my favourite being Linux Mint. I also understand WDS is not the easiest of things to make work outside of Windows server). Also within that question, would taking the SAS drives out of hardware RAID and into software RAID make them any faster? If so would a different distro help with this? (Needs to do both in any case.)

I think I'll be able to get WDS working by myself once the rest is set up however I need to be able to mount/image the virtual machines to distribute the resulting WIMs to Windows PCs.