1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cultured [lab-grown] meat.

Discussion in 'Serious' started by RedFlames, 16 Mar 2017.

1. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team

2. VipersGratitude

VipersGratitude Multimodder

I've recently become hooked on Joe Rogan's podcasts, and this very topic came up on a show I listened to yesterday

3. goldstar0011

goldstar0011 Multimodder

I read something about grown fish protein which could be as a fish supplement for meals etc, I work in the food industry so it's something we hear about from time to time.

As a whole personally I'm behind it as our reliance of cheap meats is too much but getting the masses to accept this is not something I see happening easily, the issues we have when a product is in a different box is crazy at times.

I have some veggie friends who admit to missing the texture of a juicy beef burger, there's hope for them one day.

4. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

I would happily tuck in to lab-grown meat, providing it's nutritionally similar to or better than traditionally-grown meat and isn't too much more expensive. Like, I'd pay anything up to double the price of the meat I eat at the moment, but above that and even though I know that it's ethically the wrong decision I'd probably cheap out with traditional meat (though I try, where possible, to buy meat with some small degree of welfare guarantee: free-range chicken, that kind of thing.)