1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Upward airflow nas/server from old case

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by james888, 28 Mar 2012.

1. james888

james888 What's a Dremel?

I have been wanting to do some kind of case mod for awhile. I didn't have a case where I would actually be improving it. I just purchased an old core 2 duo system from a friend for pretty cheap. The case he gave me was an old dell oem something or a another. I've also wanted to experiment with upward airflow. I have very little experience with modding. I don't even have a dremel yet but will be needing one soon for this. So I will be getting one. I do need some input from some more experienced modders. So let me explain what I have done so far and what I am planning so far.

My goal is to take this not nice case and make it a nice upward airflow case.
    The only use I have for the hardware is for some sort of nas/server. The case will be overkill for sure. Really the system is a play thing that I don't have to worry about.

Hardware:
    Cpu: core 2 duo 4300 1.8ghz
    Motherboard: BIOSTAR G41D3+ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138314
    Hdd: I only have a 1tb hdd for now

Here is the original case.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I circled the big dell logos that I will have to dremel off. I don't know what to replace them with. I could do a window on the side that faces the internals but the other side just faces a wall. The little steel thing on the right is a hdd cage I might use from another old case I have. This case only came with a cage for a single hdd that wont work for my mod.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]