bit-tech.net

Old 18th Apr 2016, 08:36   #1
Kehoe
Multimodder
 
Kehoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 214
Kehoe has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
EK-SUPREME-HF

Hey peep's

My old pc used a EK-SUPREME-HF-NICKEL-ACETAL to cool the CPU it was setup for a socket 1366, question is does anyone know or think this will fit the newer 1151 sockets as well ? i ask as i've been looking at a replacement waterblock but i've noticed the new one's still say they fit the 1366 and if my old one will fit my new one, its 60 ish saved.


Thanks in advance for any help on this one,
Kehoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2016, 08:49   #2
David
RIP Tel
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow, weigh a pie
Posts: 11,466
David is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming Saiyan
If you have a 1155/1156 mount it will fit 1151, the 1366 mount won't fit. I fitted my Antec Kuhler 620 to my Skylake chip without any issues, using the 1155 mount holes.

The only concern is the reduction in substrate thickness on Skylake CPUs, and whether on not you'll need a shim for CPU block.
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!

Main rig - 6700K|Z170|32GB|256GB M.2|500GB SSDs|8TB NAS|980 Ti|3007WFP-HC|Parvum S2.0
David is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2016, 12:21   #3
Akira749
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Donnacona, QC, Canada
Posts: 103
Akira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kehoe View Post
Hey peep's

My old pc used a EK-SUPREME-HF-NICKEL-ACETAL to cool the CPU it was setup for a socket 1366, question is does anyone know or think this will fit the newer 1151 sockets as well ? i ask as i've been looking at a replacement waterblock but i've noticed the new one's still say they fit the 1366 and if my old one will fit my new one, its 60 ish saved.


Thanks in advance for any help on this one,
Hi,

If I remember correctly, the Supreme HF used a "universal" backplate. This mean that the same backplate you used on your 1366 will fit on the 115x mounting points.

So basically the mounting steps will be identical to the 1366 for the 115x except for the thickness of the plastic standoffs that are going between the metal backplate and the motherboard. The 1366 uses 2.5mm thick ones while the 115x uses 2mm ones. Both should be included in your box.
Akira749 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2016, 12:34   #4
Kehoe
Multimodder
 
Kehoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 214
Kehoe has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I called EK, they advised me it will fit, but they would recommend the newer mounting bracket due to how it puts pressure on the CPU, order the parts cost me 15, which is better than 60 imo

Thanks guys
Kehoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2016, 13:17   #5
David
RIP Tel
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow, weigh a pie
Posts: 11,466
David is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming SaiyanDavid is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kehoe View Post
I called EK, they advised me it will fit, but they would recommend the newer mounting bracket due to how it puts pressure on the CPU, order the parts cost me 15, which is better than 60 imo
Yep, that's the shim I was talking about.
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!

Main rig - 6700K|Z170|32GB|256GB M.2|500GB SSDs|8TB NAS|980 Ti|3007WFP-HC|Parvum S2.0
David is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2016, 15:35   #6
Akira749
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Donnacona, QC, Canada
Posts: 103
Akira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the DremelAkira749 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kehoe View Post
I called EK, they advised me it will fit, but they would recommend the newer mounting bracket due to how it puts pressure on the CPU, order the parts cost me 15, which is better than 60 imo

Thanks guys
Akira749 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:03.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.