bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Partner Forums > Asus UK

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Apr 2016, 21:28   #1
gtiboy
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 170
gtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Asus Z170-A Temp Warning Message?

Hi all, I recently installed a new Z170-A motherboard after my old P8Z77 went faulty. I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

After the initial boot up a pop up window appears in the bottom right hand corner of the screen saying Warning! EXT_Sensor3 -300.00 Centigrade.

What does this mean?

__________________
Intel Core i7 6700K | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus Z170-A | 16GB Corsair Vegeance LPX Black 2133Mhz DDR4 | Samsung 830 256GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB | Asus GTX 680 DC2T-2GD5 | Asus Xonar Essence STX II | Pioneer BDR-207DBK Blu-ray Writer | Seasonic Platinum SS-760XP2 | Dell U2711 | Fractal Define R5

Last edited by gtiboy; 13th Apr 2016 at 22:09.
gtiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Apr 2016, 22:16   #2
Big Elf
“not another f—-ing elf”
 
Big Elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South East
Posts: 3,040
Big Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming SaiyanBig Elf is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It means that even after all these years Asus still aren't capable of making decent, accurate temperature reporting software, probably.
__________________
Case Labs TH10│Asus Rampage III Extreme│Core i7 990X│24GB Corsair Dominator GT│GTX Titan SLI│Samsung 850 EVO 256GB│Crucial M4│2TB Samsung Momentus x 2│SeaSonic P1000W│EK Supremacy│EK FC-RE3│EK-FC Titan SE x 2│EK-RAM Dominator│Black Ice SR-1 480 x 3│Swiftech 35X2
Big Elf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Apr 2016, 23:28   #3
gtiboy
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 170
gtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Would a fresh install of windows 7 or 10 be advisable after installing a new motherboard a few generations on seeing as that would have the old chipset drivers installed in Windows 7 from my old P8Z77 Deluxe board?

Not sure if it would clash though which is what I'm wondering.
__________________
Intel Core i7 6700K | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus Z170-A | 16GB Corsair Vegeance LPX Black 2133Mhz DDR4 | Samsung 830 256GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB | Asus GTX 680 DC2T-2GD5 | Asus Xonar Essence STX II | Pioneer BDR-207DBK Blu-ray Writer | Seasonic Platinum SS-760XP2 | Dell U2711 | Fractal Define R5
gtiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2016, 01:47   #4
TheMadDutchDude
Flying Dutchman
 
TheMadDutchDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Broadview Hts, OH, USA
Posts: 2,815
TheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming SaiyanTheMadDutchDude is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Set the software to ignore that reading.

It is advisable to reinstall, yes. It won't solve that message though.
__________________
ASUS X99-Deluxe/U3.1 | Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.2 GHz | Custom CPU Water Cooling | Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8GB | 2x ASUS STRIX RX480@RX580 8GB with VRAM strap mod | Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe + 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB in RAID0 | EVGA SuperNOVA G3 1kW | Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG | CM Masterkeys Pro L | Logitech G502 | Logitech G920 | ASUS ZenBook UX305F
TheMadDutchDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2016, 10:22   #5
gtiboy
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 170
gtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyangtiboy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadDutchDude View Post
Set the software to ignore that reading.

It is advisable to reinstall, yes. It won't solve that message though.
So a temp reading of 300.00 centigrade is not a fault with the board itself?
__________________
Intel Core i7 6700K | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus Z170-A | 16GB Corsair Vegeance LPX Black 2133Mhz DDR4 | Samsung 830 256GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB | Asus GTX 680 DC2T-2GD5 | Asus Xonar Essence STX II | Pioneer BDR-207DBK Blu-ray Writer | Seasonic Platinum SS-760XP2 | Dell U2711 | Fractal Define R5
gtiboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2016, 10:33   #6
jinq-sea
The Double Insulates
Moderator
 
jinq-sea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,554
jinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyanjinq-sea is a Super Spamming Saiyan
That temperature is, in theory, not possible. It's below absolute zero! I'd say it's just bunkum. Ignore it
__________________
Comrade Woody: "I dunno, whores are a bit like cornflakes, you always regret buying the cheap ones."

small(ish): i7-5960X / X99E-ITX/AC - Bitspower Block / 32Gb Ballistix / Titan X (P) / 512Gb Samsung 950 Pro NVMe / 250D
tiny: i7-4790K / Max VII Impact - EK Monoblock / 16Gb Ballistix / EVGA Titan X (M) HC / 256Gb SM951 NVMe / nCase M1
htpc/vr: i7-6700K / Z170i / 16Gb Ballistix / EVGA 1080 Founders Edition / 128Gb SM951 NVMe & Sandisk 960Gb SSD / RVZ01
jinq-sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2016, 09:03   #7
Fingers66
Kiwi in London
 
Fingers66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,244
Fingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming SaiyanFingers66 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Try installing the latest version of the Intel chipset drivers/software, sometimes new chipsets require updated inf files for all of the sensors to be detected correctly. Download it from the Intel website here: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/pro...lation-Utility.

Make sure you select the right O/S.
__________________
Gaming: [Silverstone TJ08-E][Asus Z170M-PLUS ][i5-6600K][Tundra TD03][16GB 2666MHz][Asus Strix GTX 980][Samsung 850 Evo 500GB][Corsair HX650][Dell U2412M][Corsair K60]
Main: [Lian Li PC-A04][Asus Z97M-Plus][i7-4770K][Corsair H55][16GB 1600MHz][iGPU][Samsung M.2 NVMe 256GB][Seasonic X-650 Gold]
Kids: [Silverstone SG05B][Asus H87I-Plus][i3-4330][8GB 1600MHz][EVGA GTX 750Ti FTW][Crucial M4 256GB][ST45SF 450w][Dell E207WFP]
NAS 1:[Synology DS211j] NAS 2:[Homebrew OMV]
Fingers66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2016, 09:26   #8
aramil
One does not simply upgrade Windows
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: between the furture & the past, UK
Posts: 940
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
The Asus software is chipset specific uninstall the z77 version completely with its uninstaller and install the matching version from the Asus website.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.4Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 |Palit GeForce GTX 980 Super Jetstream 4Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 1Tb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 16Gb (4x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 | Zalman MS800 | AOC 27" 2560x1440 | Windows 10 Pro 64bit | Linx10 Tablet ED: CMDR Aramil Lorrathain Become a Star Citizen get 5,000 free Credits HERE
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:04.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.