bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 18th Apr 2017, 16:25   #1
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Custom DDC pump top

Hi hi

If you've seen my Asteria II project log, you'll know that I'm having a few minor niggles with my DDC pump placement. To cut a long story short my original requirements had a pump top with ports on the side since I can't realistically use any ports on the top. Not being able to do that is causing some headaches and untidiness.

So I thought "let's just make my own".

Having dissected a few DDC tops, it really does seem to be nothing more complex than a 40mm round space in the middle of the top 8mm deep for the pump head, the outlet port positioned to the outside edge of that round space (presumably for maximum speed from centrifugal force) and an inlet port put largely anywhere to get the water in and spinning.

Is it really any more complex than that?


The only thing I'm looking at is the vertical placement of the outlet. Some tops, such as the XSPC one, have the outlet port exactly half way over the base of the round area, so half of the "tunnel" is aligned with the space. Other tops, such as the Alphacool top, have the outlet port aligned central to the top's thickness, which would align the "tunnel" mostly away from the round area.

Tips, tricks and advice please? Smashing a forstner and couple of twist bits through acetal isn't likely to be an issue if I take things very slowly with plenty of lube, it's more the placement of everything I want to confirm.

Cheers.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2017, 19:33   #2
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Right, so regardless of what happens I need to feed water directly over the centre of the impeller. That'll be annoying given I don't want anything on the top face of the top.

So essentially then I have to drill a tunnel from the side of the top into the center directly over the impeller, then bore from the recess a little bit more to meet the tunnel, thereby dropping water onto the centre of the impeller?
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2017, 20:18   #3
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks for the sketch, it's pretty much what was in my head after your clarification on feeding the impeller. Does the output need to be fully in line with the impeller recess as you've draw in, or can I vertically-center it so half the tunnel is above the recess?

I'll go back and update my scale drawings.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2017, 20:51   #4
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Good info, very much appreciated.

I'll play it safe for now given I'll only have a drill press and a couple of drill bits. The goal of this discussion is to get a DDC top that only has ports on the sides, and given the pump is hidden behind my graphics card it won't matter if the top isn't super-pretty with vertically-aligned holes and whatnot. Function over form in this specific instance opens up a whole world of improved form for the project in its entirety.

I'll probably post up some basic layout drawings of the thing later on for you to cast your eye over, if that's OK?
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2017, 09:26   #5
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Coin View Post
I understand that you need a top with nothing on top but would a top with the top port with a plug work for you?
That would be most factory tops then

Alas no, a top plug will get in the way of the graphics card unless the pump is placed at a very specific point. Also, most DDC tops with side ports are greater than 20mm thick (so they won't fit) or are larger in area than the DDC itself, so again won't fit. That pretty much leaves the Aquacomputer top which I already have, which in itself was a compromise.

I do have a placement that will work, and I've made a new steel plate for it to remove the top inlet port, but it leaves me no margin for error and tube routing that's ugly and very awkward. Hence looking at making something specific.

Ultimately the issue is I cannot go larger than 45mm tall for the entire pump assembly, which leaves 20mm for the top itself. That in turn means no top plugs. That gives me the flexibility to squeeze the DDC behind the graphics card as originally planned, but raise and lower the vertical position of the pump unencumbered for best fit of tube routing, anti-vibration pads, etc.

It's a tricky one.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2017, 15:01   #6
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So asura, quick layout based on what we've discussed.

Side view to illustrate feeds


  • 8mm deep impeller recess with an 8mm diameter feed (yellow)
  • 6mm diameter inlet into the impeller feed; threaded hole vertically offset a bit (red)
  • 8mm diameter outlet (green)

No crazy angles since I'll just be stabbing acetal with some drill bits in a drill press, but is this the sort of thing I should be looking at?

Cheers.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2017, 17:05   #7
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So the green tube needs to be as wide, if not wider, then the spinny blue bit?
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2017, 17:24   #8
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Funny you should mention Martin's roundup because I was discussing spiral volutes with JR23 about an hour ago. No way in hell could I do a spiral volute with a drill press and forster bit though

Now of course there's no point in doing this if I'm going to totally ruin my pump performance, but I'm OK with "good enough" to get this done.

Worst case scenario I can make the Aquacomputer top work and just put up with ugly plumbing. Most of it will be underneath the GPU so not immediately obvious, but it'll irk me if it's too scruffy.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2017, 11:29   #9
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have some grub screws floating around after sealing up some ports on my Alpahcool radiator, but that was a faff and lots of mess with Fernox LSX. They don't work on the Aquacomputer DDC top I have at the moment because they're quite long and distort some of the threads on top (it's a weird internal construction).

But yes, sealing up top ports with other material and glue is an option too. I have routes to explore.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2017, 22:29   #10
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi, me again.

I've done some musings in Fusion 360 based on tools I have access to to stab some acetal. If I put an STL file up somewhere, would somebody be able to view it and tell me if the design would work?
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2017, 23:40   #11
LePhuronn
Multimodder
 
LePhuronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Posts: 85
LePhuronn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
No space for copper in this build, dude! That's reserved for the 3rd project I have planned.

As for the stock DDC top, the ports are on the same side where I need them on opposite sides. I already have the Aquacomputer DDC top which gives me ports on the same side.
__________________
Project: ASTERIA II: Rearmoured
In Win 901, case mod, watercooled | Modding update nominee April 2017
LePhuronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:22.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.