1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Mac Cube Pro

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by avolla, 29 Jun 2010.

1. avolla

avolla Mini Water Modder

This is my first project and it's not going to be an easy one. My goal for this project is to make a pair of mac pro cases into a cube that will fit a full atx board with room for future expansion. One part that I haven't seen done very often is the side by side optical drives. The kicker is that I want to keep the stock door assembly since I am a fan with how it works.

Here are two renderings of the case.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now down to business. So I'm starting with two mac pro g5 cases that i found on ebay.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Time to take these beasts apart. After fighting with the nuts for a while, I finally got the backpanel/stands piece free from the inner cage.
    [​IMG]

Way to many nuts on those two.
    [​IMG]

After pulling the rest of the internal parts out, I have two empty mac pro cases ready for modification.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

The inner cage of this case is going to be 13.5in. tall by 15in. long by 15in. wide. It's not a small case but it'll do the job. To make this work, I cut one case down to size to make sure it was going to work. Masking tape is a great thing to get lines straight and also helps protect the case.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Time to start cutting. The weapon of choice for these cuts.
    [​IMG]

It's really hard to take photos and cut accurately at the same time so here is the aftermath.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here are a couple shots of the parts mocked up to give an idea of the size.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

More to come.

Austin

Last edited: 14 Jul 2010
  2. sk8roy

sk8roy What's a Dremel?