1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Wiring out a house with Cat 6?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mnet_Gaming, 28 Aug 2014.

1. Mnet_Gaming

Mnet_Gaming What's a Dremel?

tl;dr Need to wire up a house with Cat 6 in London - how much?

Hey all,

So this is a bit of an unusual one and given the amount of modders here I'm figuring you'll know.

I recently[ish] moved into my own house which was built way back in the 1930s and I'm finding that Wireless and Powerline networking really isn't working for me.

I often work from home (I'm a dev) so having fast networking to shift things to and from a nas and other machines is really useful. At the moment I'm working around it by using a single workstation which is loaded with disks. It works reasonably but it's continually being a point of failure and also fairly pricey to run.

What I'm thinking is I should probably just get the house wired up properly with Cat 6 and shove a managed switch in the loft or utility cupboard with the VM Broadband. I'm thinking four rooms and an additional two "utility areas" (garage etc) could use wiring up (though at a min, two). Ideally I'd have 4 ports per room (nic teaming if possible) and maybe some additional dark cable run for future use. I could provide the cable and switch.

Does anyone know where I could even start with something like this? What sort of budget would it require if I got someone in to do it? Am I missing a trick is there another non-intrusive networking approach I've not tried?

Cheers, hopefully my wall-o-text doesn't put you off!

2. Sp!

Sp! Minimodder

it really depends how you go about doing it, the cable is fairly cheap £80 will get you a nice roll of 305m which will probably be enough, £30 for a patch panel at your head end, then about £5 per double socket in the room for a reasonable face plate.