1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project Athena

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by nmil, 6 Jun 2015.

1. nmil

nmil What's a Dremel?

[​IMG]

Hi guys,
    This is my first time posting up on this forum and also my first time building a fully custom case.
    Here's a youtube vid that I made to go over the case design on sketchup. Hope you enjoy :D

Current progress
    [​IMG]IMG_0340 by nmrci1, on Flickr

Last edited: 28 Aug 2015
  2. nmil

nmil What's a Dremel?

[​IMG]

Time for some pics.
    This build was designed as a quiet optimized case that will look different. I didn't want to have to put padding on the case, so I designed it so that I would be able to run the biggest fans possible at the slowest speeds. (This is also my first time using sketchup, so it doesn't look that good.)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The side box where the power button is located will also house the hard drives and the wiring. The 2 fans on the front are 200mm, this is so that I can run them at 30% the whole time for maximum quietness.
    [​IMG]
    The motherboard tray will be lifted slightly of the back and there will be lights behind it, giving the tray a floating effect.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I plan to put some sort of artwork on the back of the case.
    I hope you enjoyed.

3. nmil

nmil What's a Dremel?

[​IMG]

Started to make progress on the build.
    [​IMG]IMG_0070 by nmrci1, on Flickr
    And I decided to hoolow out the insides to save weight and have more room for cable management later on.
    Before and after
    [​IMG]IMG_0073 by nmrci1, on Flickr
    [​IMG]IMG_0075 by nmrci1, on Flickr
    All done (without filing)
    [​IMG]IMG_0076 by nmrci1, on Flickr
    I also had modify my tools in order to make the cuts
    [​IMG]IMG_0077 by nmrci1, on Flickr