bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Oct 2005, 15:41   #1
WilHarris
Just another nobody
 
WilHarris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Oxford
Posts: 2,678
WilHarris has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Leadtek Winfast DTV1000 T

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200...v1000_t/1.html

WilHarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 16:10   #2
kiljoi
I *am* a computer king.
 
kiljoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: pants!
Posts: 2,301
kiljoi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sounds like a decent card. Maybe I missed it in the article, but what do these cost?
__________________
I NEEED YOU AND TEH GUYS HELP ME TO GET TEH ORANGE BOX WITH WHICH I DONT KNOW I NEED TO KNOW FORM YOU
kiljoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 16:21   #3
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
we're not sure at the moment, but expect it to be competitive - down in the last paragraph
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 17:01   #4
lord nicon21
sexy *******
 
lord nicon21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: U.K warwickshire
Posts: 1,150
lord nicon21 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i would't pay more than 20.00 for that
__________________
Originally posted by Pygobombe
Cool.. can I come... I got a few additions I'd like to add... like make HPs and Compaqs computers (and other proprietary computers) illegal to be built... as well as celeron/duron.. they just too slow, better to get an older computer that performs better anyways
lord nicon21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 17:02   #5
MrWillyWonka
Chocolate computers galore!
Moderator
 
MrWillyWonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, Hants
Posts: 5,892
MrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord nicon21
i would't pay more than 20.00 for that
Well, consider this, I'm paying 120 for my new TV card sometime later. 20 would only get you a bog standard poor quality card, I've got a 25 and its not all that great!
MrWillyWonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 17:13   #6
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
There are a few niggles, as I mentioned, but I think they're software related rather than hardware. The ghosting only happens when you're in high-motion video with lots of moving around. It's not that bad, and the screen shots exaggerate it a little. Most TV cards suffer from the same thing anyway.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 17:50   #7
mclean007
Officious Bystander
 
mclean007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nodnol
Posts: 1,999
mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Good to see a company that has finally exploited the opportunity afforded by DVB - namely, to decode multiple channels from the same transport stream simultaneously. That seems to me like such an obvious (and, I would think, relatively simple) refinement that I'm surprised no-one has done it before. Unless I missed it. Which I probably did. So just ignore me - I'm not here.
__________________
mclean007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 17:53   #8
dom_
--->
 
dom_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: uk, south east
Posts: 3,942
dom_ has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
does it act as two cards in mce then? or one?
(did i miss that?)
dom_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 18:09   #9
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
you can link two cards together for dual tuner goodness in MCE, giving you a max of four broadcasts from two "providers" simultaneously.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 18:18   #10
stephen2002
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 183
stephen2002 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I guess this can do DTV, but no HDTV?
stephen2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 18:35   #11
Enak
Also known as Kane
 
Enak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 831
Enak has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
EPG works on my Sony Set Top Box and my Hauppauge WinTV Nova-t.

EPGs are available in the UK.
Enak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 18:39   #12
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen2002
I guess this can do DTV, but no HDTV?
does support HDTV, oops forgot to mention that in the review.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 19:08   #13
tank_rider
Ultramodder
 
tank_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,090
tank_rider has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enak
EPG works on my Sony Set Top Box and my Hauppauge WinTV Nova-t.

EPGs are available in the UK.
yep, EPG works with my compro DVB-T200 too with the included software, and GB-PVR can find an EPG source too.
__________________
Main - e5200 @ 3.5GHz (akasa 965) || GA-EP31-DS3L || 2X2GB Crucial Ballistix || xfx GTX 260 || 500GB Seagate 7200.10 sata + 250GB Samsung sata + 160GB Samsung ide || NEC DVDRW || Enermax Liberty 400W || Antec P180 || 22" Fujitsu Siemems TFT
Media - X2 4400 @ 2.4GHz || Epox 9NDA3+ || 2GB RAM || 6800gs || 80GB Maxtor Diamond Plus 9 || LG DVD RAM || Iiyama Vision Master Pro 454
tank_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 19:17   #14
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
I can get channel information, but there's no way to look at the electronic program guide using the software - it just crashes.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 21:35   #15
herbs
Nobody but us chickens
 
herbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere
Posts: 3,859
herbs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz
you can link two cards together for dual tuner goodness in MCE, giving you a max of four broadcasts from two "providers" simultaneously.
If the product only has one tuner then to my knowledge MCE only records the channel not the transport stream, so you would only be able to record two shows at once (with two tuners) on mce not the 4 you mention.
Also the terminology of "Providers" is confusing surely you mean on the the mux.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWillyWonka
Well, consider this, I'm paying 120 for my new TV card sometime later. 20 would only get you a bog standard poor quality card, I've got a 25 and its not all that great!
I hope you don't mean the nebula if so I wouldn't purchase one quiet yet until the 3.5 version of the software is out of Beta stage, at its current beta stage it's a pile of steaming sh*t. Although it will record more than one channel as long as it's on the same mux with one tuner, which i think was being explained in the review of the Winfast.


What alot of people seem to forget that this product has BDA driver which means 3rd party applications will be able to support fairly easy unlike the cheap dvb-t cards I see people buying lately such as the freecom usb dvb-t product and a few others.
__________________

A police recruit was asked during the exam, "What would you do if you had to arrest your own mother?" He said, "Call for backup."

"you could have it all, my empire of dirt, I will let you down, I will make you hurt"

Last edited by herbs; 26th Oct 2005 at 21:53.
herbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 21:56   #16
glaeken
Freeeeeeeze! I'm a cawp!
 
glaeken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,885
glaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremelglaeken has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
How does the image quality compare to the ati theater 550 pro?
__________________
I drink your milkshake! I drink it up!
My Graphics Blog | Optix.NET
glaeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 22:09   #17
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by herbs
If the product only has one tuner then to my knowledge MCE only records the channel not the transport stream, so you would only be able to record two shows at once (with two tuners) on mce not the 4 you mention.
I didn't state that you could record 4 different channels, you can watch up to four broadcasts at the same time with dual tuners, as you've got dual picture in/over picture modes, meaning that you can simultaneously view four channels from two different transport streams. You can only record from one channel per card.

Quote:
Also the terminology of "Providers" is confusing surely you mean on the the mux.
This particular tuner splits down channel selections into providers. Basically the software terms the channels that share the same base frequency as one group of channels from a provider. I believe transport stream is the correct terminology.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 22:21   #18
herbs
Nobody but us chickens
 
herbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere
Posts: 3,859
herbs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz
I didn't state that you could record 4 different channels, you can watch up to four broadcasts at the same time with dual tuners, as you've got dual picture in/over picture modes, meaning that you can simultaneously view four channels from two different transport streams. You can only record from one channel per card.


This particular tuner splits down channel selections into providers. Basically the software terms the channels that share the same base frequency as one group of channels from a provider. I believe transport stream is the correct terminology.
Sorry I misread but to my knowledge still out of the box you will still only can watch one channel at the time in MCE, as afaik MCE doesn't provide the PiP or other picture/picture features (click here). Also do you know that the drivers can support two instances of the same card as your example of watching 4 channels? as some tv cards cannot.
Transport stream is the whole mux.
__________________

A police recruit was asked during the exam, "What would you do if you had to arrest your own mother?" He said, "Call for backup."

"you could have it all, my empire of dirt, I will let you down, I will make you hurt"
herbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 22:23   #19
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Yes, clearly states on the back of the box that you can run two cards together, so I'm assuming that you can run two side by side.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2005, 22:40   #20
herbs
Nobody but us chickens
 
herbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere
Posts: 3,859
herbs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by glaeken
How does the image quality compare to the ati theater 550 pro?
The ati 550 is an analogue card where the winfast DTV1000 is a digital card, so depending on your country and location it can effect the quality. The winfast DTV1000 card (actually any dvb-t card) depends on the codec used for display , and digital streams mostly broadcast in mpeg2 format already and the recording is straight to hard drive without any conversion. So depending on the broadcast bit rate and compression ratio used by the channel your display/recording the quality can be poor or good, but with digital you do not get the issues associated with analogue signals check out https://www.aca.gov.au/radcomm/publi.../tv_index.html . With digital there are different issues.
But to answer question generally you should get a better picture, and to be truthful alot of countries are fazing out analogue broadcasts on tv.
__________________

A police recruit was asked during the exam, "What would you do if you had to arrest your own mother?" He said, "Call for backup."

"you could have it all, my empire of dirt, I will let you down, I will make you hurt"

Last edited by herbs; 26th Oct 2005 at 22:49.
herbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.