bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 28th Nov 2005, 22:14   #1
Nikumba
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dark Place
Posts: 552
Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Variable Voltage Relay

Im no sure if a relay like this exists, but I want a relay that will work with varying voltages.

So if a voltage is passed over it, it switched on

Cheers

Nikumba
Nikumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2005, 01:04   #2
cpemma
Ecky thump
 
cpemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: S.Yorkshire, OK
Posts: 12,329
cpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysis
Give us an example.
__________________
Nobody's perfect.
But being a Yorkshireman is as close as you can get.
cpemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2005, 01:31   #3
gulp35
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, CMU, PA
Posts: 84
gulp35 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Why not use a comparitor circuit. The easiest way is to use an op amp. Set it so it doesn't "turn on" until you exceed some set voltage. Then set the output to control your "relay". You may need a SCR or transistor to handle the load of your relay coil, as it may be to much current for the op amp to supply on its own.
__________________
MAIN:--Epox 8RDA+ v1.1--TbredB 1700+ 2500MHz@1.792v[SwiftecMCW6002&DannerMag3Pump]--2x256MB Kingston PC3000 2-2-2-8
&nbsp --ATi Radeon 9800Pro[Copper 1U Heatsink]--WD800JB+WD2500JB--Sony DVD/CDRW--Forton350W
Mods: HAL|9000-A 2U mod Odyssey --- Custom Wooden Cubish Case --- "Mission" Impossible HTPC --- MI Discussion Thread
gulp35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2005, 10:27   #4
Nikumba
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dark Place
Posts: 552
Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Nikumba is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpemma
Give us an example.
Basically i want to be able to turn a motor on when a battery gearbox is started but since its battery powered the voltage drops over time hence a 12v relay would onlyu work for so long before not working

Nikumba
Nikumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2005, 14:14   #5
cpemma
Ecky thump
 
cpemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: S.Yorkshire, OK
Posts: 12,329
cpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikumba
Basically i want to be able to turn a motor on when a battery gearbox is started but since its battery powered the voltage drops over time hence a 12v relay would onlyu work for so long before not working
Most 12V-coil relays will work fine down to at least 9V supply. If that's not low enough for you, use a 6V relay with a 5V LM7805 regulator on the battery (and a protection diode across the relay), that will work with the battery down to around 7V.
__________________
Nobody's perfect.
But being a Yorkshireman is as close as you can get.
cpemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:51.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.