bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th May 2006, 18:09   #1
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Dual Monitor vs. One Large Monitor

So I'm thinking of creating this new set-up in my room.

I wanted to have one large LCD TV in the 32" range and have a dual monitor set-up on my computer. The LCD TV and my computer would be connected if I wanted to play media from my computer and the LCD TV would also be connected to a cable feed.

But I have a question regarding the dual monitor portion. Is there any way to get a larger screen that works like a dual monitor without the divider in the middle. I'm assuming that most large LCD's cant do this because they dont have resolutions larger than 1300 or whatever. Is this a true assumption?

Otherwise Id rather have one widescreen that works like two monitors in one rather than having two seperate monitors for my comp. Is there any way to make this possible?
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2006, 09:25   #2
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
LCD TVs have way lower resolutions than their PC Monitor counterparts.

My advice is just to keep TVs away from normal PC use, showing media on them is fine though.

You can buy Widescreen monitors, but i dont understand why youd want to make it act like two seperate monitors?
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 05:34   #3
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
well is there any way to have a dual monitor setup without two monitors, in other words, one large widescreen monitor with the resolution of two monitors side by side so that theer is no divider in the middle.
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 09:06   #4
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
A widescreen monitor is widescreen... so the resolution will be wider than a normal monitor anyway.

Do you want a monitor that is 8:3 but in a single monitor?

I really dont understand what you on about except for that?
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 12:40   #5
adam197
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 507
adam197 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The resolution isnt a software thing. Its restricted by the actual display. You cant have a higher resolution than the optimum resolution of the display. The aspect ratio wouldnt work anyway, as (if you could do it) you would have a 8:3 ratio.

For others: As far as I can tell he is trying to have twice the real estate on one monitor. Such as having 2 x 1024x768 work areas side by side on a single widescreen monitor.
adam197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 14:54   #6
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
you see dual monitor are obviously 2 seperate monitors as a result the two screens arent seamless as there is a divide in the middle of the screen that results from having two seperaet monitors. Is there any way to have one big wide monitor that have the funtionality of two monitors so you have a large workspace.
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 15:37   #7
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbehmoaras
Is there any way to have one big wide monitor that have the funtionality of two monitors so you have a large workspace.
yes a widescreen monitor like you said in your post

(ive put it in aspect ratio not resolution as the numbers make more sence)

dual monitors is two 4:3 screens together (8:3 to make it easy)
widescreen = 16:9

NO MANUFACTURERS make 8:3 screens without a divide in the middle as it isnt a display standard.

Dual monitors or widescreen, thats you only choice.
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 15:42   #8
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I apreciate the smart comment which was clearly made by someone who doesnt know much about monitors. If you go to a store to purchase a wall screen, it will not double the width of the resolution so you can have two monitors in one and they generally top out in 1300's im asking if anyone knows of a monitor in the 2500 width range
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 15:43   #9
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
did you not read my post?
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 15:43   #10
gbeeby
Supermodder
 
gbeeby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 294
gbeeby has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i have seen monitors that have a very small frame around them, so smaller divider in the middle

but if your like me it will still bug you
__________________
Main rig - dell axim X30
gbeeby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 15:46   #11
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
atomic its ok you obviously dont know too much about monitors, and gbeeby have you found a solution to this problem anywhere
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 16:05   #12
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
I do know about monitors. You are getting monitors and TVs confused.

TVs generally go upto about 1366x768, whilst a Computer monitor will go much higher.

The 30" Dell for instance will do 2560x1600.
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 16:13   #13
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Just to show I do know what im on about, I run dual 19" monitors at work and a widescreen at home (i prefer it over duals)

__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 16:13   #14
jbehmoaras
Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 53
jbehmoaras has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I wish you had clarifyied that earlier because i have been looking for large computer monitors that still do not increase their resolution but im glad you pointed out one that did
jbehmoaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 16:34   #15
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Widescreen monitor resolutions:

20" - 1680x1050
24" - 1920x1200
30" - 2560x1600

The Dell 2405FPW (24") is a great display if you cant quite afford the beastie that is the 30"!

Im upgrading my 2005FPW to the 2405 soon for the extra resolution.

ps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbehmoaras
I wish you had clarifyied that earlier because i have been looking for large computer monitors that still do not increase their resolution but im glad you pointed out one that did
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic
LCD TVs have way lower resolutions than their PC Monitor counterparts.
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 22:57   #16
Da_BaCoN
Ultramodder
 
Da_BaCoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,200
Da_BaCoN has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
*pats Atmoic on the back*

It's ok - I understood you at least
__________________
/me baaaaarfs all over the thread
-------------------------------------
Da_BaCoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 08:56   #17
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,308
Atomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youAtomic - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Phew wasnt me just being an invalid!
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 12:27   #18
dullonien
Master of the unfinished.
 
dullonien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Posts: 1,226
dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Urm, unfortunately jbehmoaras, u are making no sense atall in what u are asking. Atomic has pointed out all your options, and yet u still say that he knows nothing. All u have to do is listen to atomic, he obviouly knows alot more than you about this topic.

As Atomic has pointed out it is impossible to get 1 widescren monitor that matches exactly with 2x15"/17"/19" monitors.
__________________
Main SilverStone FT03B | 2500K@4.0GHz | Corsair H70 | Maximus IV Gene-Z | 16GB DDR3 | Zotac GTX 470 | Corsair AX750 | 2 x HP ZR24w's | Server Antec 300 | Q6600 | Corsair H50 | EVGA 680i Sli | 8GB DDR2 | Sapphire HD4870 | Corsair HX520 | HighPoint RocketRAID 2680SGL | Renderer Lian-Li V300 | E6600 | Titan Fenrir | Abit Fatal1ty F-190HD | 4GB DDR2 | HIS X1950XT | Storage 12.5TB of Seagate HDD's |
dullonien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2006, 22:26   #19
hllywood14
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: in a shoe
Posts: 8
hllywood14 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
as someone that used to work for DELL dare I speak the name all monitors are made and then housed in a dell case..mainly face plate..if you search well you can find a monitor with the same spec..that is alot cheaper...just my 2 cents.
hllywood14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2006, 07:31   #20
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,648
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic
Widescreen monitor resolutions:

20" - 1680x1050
24" - 1920x1200
30" - 2560x1600

The Dell 2405FPW (24") is a great display if you cant quite afford the beastie that is the 30"!

Im upgrading my 2005FPW to the 2405 soon for the extra resolution.

ps.



tbh.. i could afford the 30, but chose the 24. It's too big for a desktop. Sitting at desktop distances the viewing angle difference between looking at one side then back to centre is so great, you actually see a difference in brightness. In order to get around this, you have to sit sao far away as make the whole point of having a big monitor redundant. Plus.. most people's desks dont allow you to place it far enough back.

2504 is ideal for desktop use, and I much prefer it over dual monitor set ups. If you game, duals are crap anyway, cos your cross hairs are hidden by the monitor bezles, and if you only use one for gaming, what's the point?
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
htpc

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.