bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Recreation > Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Aug 2006, 00:51   #1
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Steam doesn't open when double-clicked...

Yeah, like it says. I want to play some CS:S and Steam will not open. I do not want to re-install, but if I really need to then I guess I will.

Anyone got and ideas that could help. It isn't showing up in the processes section of the task manager after I double-click it the first time, then it tells me that "steam is already open" or something similarafter I try it the second time.

Thanks ahead of time
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 03:42   #2
Dr_Placebo
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK baby!
Posts: 28
Dr_Placebo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Try a reinstall, sounds like it is needed.
DRP
__________________
Building afresh
Dr_Placebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 03:50   #3
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah I just did it. Now I am waiting for Source to download and update
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 04:04   #4
Dr_Placebo
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London UK baby!
Posts: 28
Dr_Placebo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Fun fun.
Good luck.
DRP
__________________
Building afresh
Dr_Placebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 04:08   #5
hitman012
Super Moderator
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,877
hitman012 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelhitman012 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelhitman012 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
If you (or anyone) has to do this in the future, back up all of the GCF files from ..\Steam\SteamApps to somewhere else before reinstalling. When you've reinstalled, start your games downloading and close Steam, put the GCF files back, re-open, and you should be at 100% across the board.

Makes re-installing Steam a lot easier
__________________
"Nothing is more practical than a good theory"
- Kurt Lewin
hitman012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 06:34   #6
Ben
Ultramodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 1,000
Ben has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
You could just delete (it will download a replacement on its own):
Steam.dll
SteamUI.dll
ClientRegistry.blob

Works 90% of the time for most steam related problems.
__________________
flickr
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 09:58   #7
Lethal
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 28
Lethal has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
How long have you tried waiting?

Mine doesn't open straight away. Tends to to take a few minutes before it does anything.

Also, when was the last time Steam/games on it were updated? as I find when it needs updating and you double click it, it takes a while to load up because it brings up steam updating and progress bar thing.
Lethal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 17:05   #8
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Well, the longest I waited was an hour and it never opened, even after a restart, and thanks for the handy tips guys!!
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 22:49   #9
SeBbY_007
Supermodder
 
SeBbY_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 289
SeBbY_007 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman012
If you (or anyone) has to do this in the future, back up all of the GCF files from ..\Steam\SteamApps to somewhere else before reinstalling. When you've reinstalled, start your games downloading and close Steam, put the GCF files back, re-open, and you should be at 100% across the board.

Makes re-installing Steam a lot easier
Or you can go to File>Backup Games and Steam does it for you.

But last time I re-installed, I re-downloaded all the files to ensure none of the game files were the cause of my problem.

Good Luck Anyway.
SeBbY_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2006, 02:43   #10
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ok. So I re-downloaded STEAM, and it is doing it again. I emailed STEAM about the problem and they have not mailed me in a few days. I am seriously fed up with this crap. Everytime I try and play someting STEAM screws up.

Fantastic.
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2006, 20:02   #11
Spacecowboy92
Gettin' Lazy
 
Spacecowboy92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Winchester, UK
Posts: 757
Spacecowboy92 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is steam in the start up folder? So it starts when you boot windows. If it is try dragging it out of there and starting it manualy, might help.
__________________
Spacecowboy92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2007, 00:19   #12
shermsdeli
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
shermsdeli has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Fixed!!!

I finally fixed this crap! I had to uninstall AOL security software.. so if you don't have that, it may be whatever anti-virus you have. I disabled all protections, and it didn't solve anything. I had to completely uninstall it.
shermsdeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2007, 05:43   #13
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
lol I took care of this problem months ago, but thanks for the info


How I cured the problem you ask: I quit Counter-Strike. Seriously, I haven't played in almost 4 months now (since I had this problem)
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2007, 21:42   #14
Fr4nk
Tyrannosaurus Alan !
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Uk, Essex
Posts: 2,367
Fr4nk has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Have you installed IE7 ? I had this problem with both steam and EA link when I installed IE7 (Automatic update) Unistalling IE7 solved the prob
__________________
{Macbook Pro + Dell 2407 WFP - Canon 3000V + Canon 350D + BG-E3 + Sigma 10-20mm + 50mm f1.8 + kit 28-90mm EF - Rolleiflex 2.8 TLR}
*Flickr ~Flickriver ^ My Behance Art Folio
Fr4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2007, 14:28   #15
ChromeX
I *am* a Dremel
 
ChromeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,603
ChromeX has yet to learn the way of the DremelChromeX has yet to learn the way of the DremelChromeX has yet to learn the way of the DremelChromeX has yet to learn the way of the DremelChromeX has yet to learn the way of the DremelChromeX has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben
You could just delete (it will download a replacement on its own):
Steam.dll
SteamUI.dll
ClientRegistry.blob

Works 90% of the time for most steam related problems.
Cheers mate worked a treat for me
ChromeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pc

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.