bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 25th Sep 2006, 04:38   #1
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Dell Touchpad mouse mod / pc interface *Update*

View the updated project log on my personal site, XodusTech.com

So I had a old busted dell laptop with a touch pad in it, I had heard these things were ps/2 compatable, but I had to find out for myself, this may work itself into a neat mod one day. First I had to figure out the pinouts of the connector on the back of the touchpad. Turns out the company who makes them had some really nice documenation, a 91 page pdf on every touchpad they pretty much made. Including the pinouts, and any other technical info i may want.

First I had to test to see if it would work. I just soldered to the ribbon cable for now, but im going to desolder the connector on the touchpads pcb and make my own interface, just making sure the ps/2 is true.

Pictures:







All of the PDF info can be found at: http://www.synaptics.com/decaf/utilities/ACF126.pdf Starting on page 27 it lists all the info to get it hooked up to ps/2


SO whats next? well remove the connector on the back of the touchpad, solder on my own interface, and redo the buttons.


Any input is appreciated.

Last edited by Warrior_Rocker; 26th May 2012 at 17:30.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2006, 04:40   #2
DeLorean5000
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 539
DeLorean5000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
good job dude, ive always wanted to do it... but never got around too it.. I say you should integrate it into somthing... maybe your book bag
DeLorean5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2006, 04:43   #3
cire9753
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 287
cire9753 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
nice man that could be cool on a modded case with a ps1 screen and this mounted
cire9753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2006, 01:17   #4
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Okay, So I decided to remove that nasty ribbon cable. But doing so was easier said than done. I had some trouble removing the plug on the touchpad pcb that the ribbon wire hooked into, I ended up ripping up several traces 'DOH!, So I had to solder some wires to replace the torn traces. Turns out it is fine though. Good save on soldering skills. I also took the buttons off the ribbon cable, not sure where they will end up or where the whole thing will end up, but its a preliminary mod so..

anyway Pictures:

First I had to solder wires to the back of the touchpad, If you look closely you can see where I had to repair the traces in 3 spots.



Finally got those pesky buttons off the ribbon and prepped for soldering.



Buttons now soldered, and the useless ribbon I now have?



Love to hear anyones input on what I should do with something like this, or any comments on the mod itself.

Last edited by Warrior_Rocker; 7th Oct 2008 at 19:30.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2006, 04:02   #5
CollinstheClown
-Xbox Pwner-
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Norwood, PA in the USA
Posts: 167
CollinstheClown has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wow, neat idea! I may have to try it someday! Great sodlering skills man, I have that iron and it broke on me. Mount in into your KB!




-CollinstheClown
CollinstheClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2006, 04:10   #6
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
yea, i wish the touchpad was usb..., I am trying to look at the dell motherboard from that very same laptop in an attempt to figure out if i can interface the keyboard with ps/2 as well. I wouldnt see why not, but I cannot make heads or tails of the dell mobo.

I was thinking about putting it on my keyboard, after all why not (I already have kb ps/2 and usb running to it, why not mouse ps/2) I could place it either where the insert-pagedown keys are, or the dpad. Not sure if I really want to get rid of either, I use the insert pad for winamp, and the dpad... well just for normal dpadding?


I was thinking it coud be neat to use in the car for a carputer, those touchscreens are nice, but sometimes you want a real mouse with right and left click. Or I thought it would be neat to put on the front of a computer with the ps1 lcd mod done to it. Could use it the computer esientially without anything but power connected to it.


Anyone got any great modding ideas to do with a touchpad?


Edit:
My iron is the radioshack butane one, Not sure if thats the one you had, but I have had a pretty good experience with it. I just bought a new tip, as the old one just couldnt cut it any more. Also I love the ability to adjust the intensity on the fly, as well it heats up in no time flat. Portable and no cords to fool with as well. Great for on the job repairs, I do a good bit of that, so its great to throw in my little toolbox. Kinda like my own macgyvers kit.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:09   #7
r4tch3t
hmmmm....
 
r4tch3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,149
r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Putting in the front of a computer with a PS1 screen is a great idea.
Love your mini mods
__________________
France just seems small, because it's so easy to conquer
r4tch3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:32   #8
CollinstheClown
-Xbox Pwner-
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Norwood, PA in the USA
Posts: 167
CollinstheClown has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah the Radioshack butane, for me, if it lights its only like a lighter flame. It's full of butane, but it just won't come out. I think it's just a clog, but I wanna empty it before I mess with it... As you should know, the butane is VERY cold.

I like r4tch3t's idea, mount it with a PS1 screen and maybe a nano ITX board in a little case. Kind like one of those "Ultra Mobile PCs".




-CollinstheClown
CollinstheClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:35   #9
r4tch3t
hmmmm....
 
r4tch3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,149
r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Wasn't actually my idea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrior_Rocker
Or I thought it would be neat to put on the front of a computer with the ps1 lcd mod done to it. Could use it the computer esientially without anything but power connected to it.
Commented that this Idea was great.
__________________
France just seems small, because it's so easy to conquer
r4tch3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:37   #10
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The one thing I have noticed on my iron is that over the time I have owned it is that you have to slide the adjust more to get the butane to come out, I am sure there is some sort of little internal adjustment, Maybe this is similar to your issue where the soldering tip is just not getting enough butane to do anything with?

An easy way to drain it is just to turn it on and leave it in a well ventilated spot outside, it will evaporate into the atmospehere and should not be a problem at all, then get a pipe cleaner in there and show it you mean buisness!.

*back on topic*
I had thought about something like that, I have a Shuttle SV24 mainboard which is very close to mini-itx it is just a little longer. I am having the capacitor problem with it, I replaced a few a year or so back and fixed the board, but a few more went bad and I tried to replace them and it wont post. I need replacement caps to get that to work again. Couple that with a pico psu or the likes and it can quickly become a real neat 12v based computer, the board is fairly low power, and offers firewire and tv outs.

If I can get the old shuttle board to work I will look into something like that, good idea.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:50   #11
CollinstheClown
-Xbox Pwner-
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Norwood, PA in the USA
Posts: 167
CollinstheClown has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Well, I just tinkered with it... (I have the torch tip on, lost my solder tip)

Clicky.


Oh, sorry... did see that.
It would make a really freaking cool mod! You should look into fixing that board.




-CollinstheClown
CollinstheClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:52   #12
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That is nuts, I am not sure how to even get mine to do something like that. Any possiblity its the wrong kind of fuel in your iron? looks more like the fluid from a ligher than butane?
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2006, 02:59   #13
CollinstheClown
-Xbox Pwner-
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Norwood, PA in the USA
Posts: 167
CollinstheClown has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah its the right fuel...


It's broke, that's why your iron won't do it. I'm going to buy a new one. I liked it alot when it worked. Also, from what I can see you can get pretty precise with it.




-CollinstheClown
CollinstheClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Oct 2006, 04:35   #14
bubsterboo
Hypermodder
 
bubsterboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 800
bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.bubsterboo is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I love buttane soldering irons! Got one of these not that long ago.
http://www.leevalley.com/gifts/page....&cat=4,54&ap=7
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT P35-T2R - Q6600 @ 3.4ghz - 8GB OCZ Platinum - evga 9800gx2 - 2x500gb seagate, 1x250gb hitachi, 1x320gb seagate, 1x1tb samsung - Benq FP241W
bubsterboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Oct 2006, 13:01   #15
antiHero
ReliXmas time!
 
antiHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 2,037
antiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
First off nice job. One question. In the pdf on page 28 is shown to use 2 10k resistors. Did you use them or are they on the touchpad? I got one from an old compaq laptop and would like to try that too.
Thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mankz View Post
If Bindi leaves i'm going to cry and poop myself.
antiHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Oct 2006, 14:06   #16
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wow good find. I had scrolled through the pdf so fast just to find if it had the pinouts of my touchpad I missed that entirely. No I did not use the 10K resistors at all to interface with my touchpad. I am not sure the laptop I had ripped it out of did either. Looks like for some reason it is to pull up the signals a little bit but I certainly had no issues with getting mine to work. I just plugged it right into my IBM Thinkpad and it worked like a charm. Though I am sure if yours did not work with straightup ps/2 you could add the resistors and see. In that configuration I just do not see how not having the resistors could damage anything.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Oct 2006, 08:58   #17
antiHero
ReliXmas time!
 
antiHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 2,037
antiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Where did you find the pinout for your touchpad? Mine uses the 8 pin connector but i cant figure out which pin is 1 and which is 8. The damn colorcode looks like a rainbow!

No. TM41PUK134-2

Thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mankz View Post
If Bindi leaves i'm going to cry and poop myself.
antiHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Oct 2006, 17:33   #18
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Okay so if yours has the 8 pin connector IIRC the pinouts for that are:
+5v / Data / Clock / Right / Left / Ground / nc / nc

The way I figured out which pin was witch on mine was to figure that all the empty space on the back of the panel is the ground as well as the interference shield. So I broke out my trusty multimeter and set it for resistance touching one lead to a spot I scratched away the solder shield on to bare the copper and I tested each pin until my volt meter regsitered 0 indicating it was a loop with no resistance.

Though one of the other really good indicators for mine was that the ground pin was connected directly to the large green areas for the ground. Also the +5v input had a thicker trace coming off of it than the other pins and had a resistor inline with it most likely to step the voltage down a bit for the touch pad.

Hope that helps. I wish I had some high res pictures of mine so I could better explain what I mean. But maybe you will get the idea.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2006, 07:21   #19
antiHero
ReliXmas time!
 
antiHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 2,037
antiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah that help a bit. I had a closer look on the second pcb where the buttons are and found the trayces from the touchpad to the second pcb are numbered.
So the colorcode is:
1 - Black
2 - Brown
3 - Red
4 - Orange
5 - Yellow
6 - Green
7 - Blue
8 - Purple
Now i have to find my soldering iron and on with the fun!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mankz View Post
If Bindi leaves i'm going to cry and poop myself.
antiHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2006, 08:43   #20
ahmad-al3omar
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
ahmad-al3omar has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
how can i make a serial interfacing with this touchpad

dear
i need your help to know how to interface this touchpad with serial adapter
thanx alot
ahmad-al3omar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:47.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.