RSS



Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th Feb 2007, 12:40   #1
Tim S
Pewlius Caesar
bit-tech Staff
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ascot, Berks
Posts: 18,021
Tim S is a glorious beacon of lightTim S is a glorious beacon of lightTim S is a glorious beacon of lightTim S is a glorious beacon of lightTim S is a glorious beacon of light
Google accused of helping pirates

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2007/02...lping_pirates/

Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2007, 13:06   #2
mikeuk2004
What you Looking at Fool!
 
mikeuk2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 3,047
mikeuk2004 will become famous soon enough
Googles having a rough time now.
__________________
-|- Xfire - Mikeuk2005 -|- Xbox Live - Mike UK 2006 -|- Playstation Network - Mikeuk2004 -|-
mikeuk2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2007, 13:46   #3
Flibblebot
Free from artificial flavourings
 
Flibblebot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Right here, right now
Posts: 2,227
Flibblebot has a spectacular aura aboutFlibblebot has a spectacular aura aboutFlibblebot has a spectacular aura about
When you are as high profile as Google, and have fingers in as many pies as Google does, it's inevitable that they become a target.
__________________
My uber-system: 66Mhz 486DX2, 8Mb RAM, 20Mb hard drive, 256 colour VGA adaptor (goes all the way up to 800x600!), keyboard AND serial mouse
Flibblebot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2007, 14:44   #4
ola_k
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
ola_k is on a distinguished road
Google is also helping "typo-squatters"

I have now closed my adword account. I found several domains with fake names parked on a domain www.ndparking.com. The "ads by google" mark was not shown, and I asked google if they were google ads. The answer was that they should investigate this. I will not give an example here, that will only help the pirates. This is several days ago now, so I guess google is happy with the situation. The google adword code is visible in the source code so it is no doubt that they are google ads.

Be aware, your money may end up in the pockets of pirates. May be this is why google will not tell you were your ads are shown?

Ola K from Norway.

Last edited by ola_k; 15th Feb 2007 at 15:01.
ola_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2007, 18:02   #5
randosome
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 226
randosome is on a distinguished road
meh - they will just get funding somewhere else, it always happens

Also, Google cant really police every site, and i think it would cost them so much money to audit every site that signs up for Google ads it wouldn't be worth it

Just because Google ads are on a site, doesn't mean they support them
randosome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:16.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.