bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th May 2007, 10:46   #1
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Halo 2 Vista delayed due to nudity?

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2007/05...ue_to_nudity/1

Halo 2 Vista, which PC owners have been waiting for for over three years now, has been delayed again due to nudity accidentally appearing.

__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 10:51   #2
DougEdey
I pwn all your storage
 
DougEdey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 13,933
DougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I want the game now...
__________________
Burnout: Paradise Stats!XBL: DougEdey Bindi
PSN ID: DougEdey
Twitter

DougEdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 11:41   #3
yakyb
i hate the person above me
 
yakyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,056
yakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysis
very funny anyone have a screen?
__________________
Mumblings of a prospective indie Game Developer Blog
My Games Website
yakyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 12:05   #4
ralph.pickering
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 346
ralph.pickering has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
America is so f***ed up. Seriously.

I'm happy for little Johnny to play games containing mindless (but entertaining) violence, but god forbid he should see a virtual breast.

Maybe if they were less uptight about sex they'd be less inclined to go shooting up schools and colleges?
ralph.pickering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 12:15   #5
Kaboom22
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Portsmouth (ish)
Posts: 210
Kaboom22 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Great picture
Kaboom22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 13:41   #6
perplekks45
LIKE AN ANIMAL!
 
perplekks45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Offenbach, Germany
Posts: 4,676
perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaboom22
Great picture
Looks like gay porn though.

The good-ol'-nudity problem, eh? Childish and stupid...
__________________
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.
ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn
Iš! Iš! Cthulhu fhtagn!
perplekks45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 13:44   #7
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
Quote:
The Vista version of Halo 2 has been the victim of reoccurring delays in the past due to problems with some of the new technologies being included in the updated, DX10 version of the console best-seller.
That's crap, I have Halo2 Vista, there's a few higher res textures, but that's it. They don't even support widescreen formats, so instead of 1440x900 res I'm stuck at 1024x768 -.-
And it's definitely not DX10, it only uses DX9

Wish I could return the game, was such a waste of money. Bleh.
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 13:56   #8
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Bindi assures me that it's definitely DX10, a vista ONLY release. How did you get it anyway, it's not released yet.
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 13:58   #9
DrFreeze
Minimodder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
DrFreeze has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkLord7854
That's crap, I have Halo2 Vista, there's a few higher res textures, but that's it. They don't even support widescreen formats, so instead of 1440x900 res I'm stuck at 1024x768 -.-
And it's definitely not DX10, it only uses DX9

Wish I could return the game, was such a waste of money. Bleh.
not to ruin your hissy fit, but how would it run Dx10 on dx9 hardware? upgrade your 7900GS to a GF8 series card and we'll talk again
DrFreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:22   #10
Zurechial
Elitist
 
Zurechial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,038
Zurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run Crysis
Quote:
The delay has pushed the game's release back from this week until the 8th of June, so mark that date in your calendar if for some reason you actually want to play this graphically updated version of a mediocre, two and a half year old console port.


Master Chief got pwned by Joe.
__________________
Main: CM Cosmos II <-> i7 4770k <-> EVGA GTX 780Ti SC <-> Sabertooth Z87 <-> 16GB DDR3 <-> Samsung 840 Pro <-> Crucial M4 <-> Dell U2410 <-> HP ZR24w
Laptop: Core i7 2670QM<-> GTX 570M <-> 8GB DDR3 <-> Crucial M4 <-> XMG P511
Zurechial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:25   #11
mikeuk2004
What you Looking at Fool!
 
mikeuk2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 3,291
mikeuk2004 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeuk2004 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
wheres Jack when you need him??? He aint hiding is he??? becuase its MS lol
__________________
-|-Xfire -Mikeuk2005-|-Xbox Live -Lt Phoenix KIA-|-
mikeuk2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:36   #12
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The odd thing is I really liked Halo 2 coop on the Xbox. It was fun, but the singleplayer was pretty dull for a lone player and the multiplayer was something I could never get the hang of.

Coop always makes any game better though, so by that notion Left4Dead will be the most awesome game ever made since Serious Sam coop.
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:43   #13
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
Co-op is in Halo2Vista
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:44   #14
woof82
Mod Master
 
woof82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oxford
Posts: 2,222
woof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyanwoof82 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph.pickering
America is so f***ed up. Seriously.

I'm happy for little Johnny to play games containing mindless (but entertaining) violence, but god forbid he should see a virtual breast.

Maybe if they were less uptight about sex they'd be less inclined to go shooting up schools and colleges?

Interesting point.

See, now I'm just curious as to what the actaul content was.

I've also noticed that the way that some news articles have been written made it sound like hot coffee was MS's fault.
__________________
!
woof82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 14:58   #15
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFreeze
not to ruin your hissy fit, but how would it run Dx10 on dx9 hardware? upgrade your 7900GS to a GF8 series card and we'll talk again
http://www.pcgamersblog.com/50226711...directx_10.php

http://videogames.netscape.com/story...rt-directx-10/

http://www.gamespot.com/features/6169711/index.html


Sorry to say, but, Halo2 does not support DX10. Of course, if you have a GF8 series it'll run "better" but that's it.
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 15:52   #16
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkLord7854
Co-op is in Halo2Vista
True, but so did Halo 2 on xbox. Why pay £30 to microsoft to get a console port thats two and a half years old that they've only bothered with to showcase their new tech anyway? I used to have the game for Xbox and played coop to death on that with Bauul until my brother sold it.

Halo 2 Vista? Don't see the point in buying it. Nowadays you can get an Xbox really cheap from gamestation anyway so why not get it and the original halo 2 to play it as it was meant to be played and only spend about £20 more.

Ugh. I need to stop this ranting.
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 17:06   #17
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
I remember playing the original Halo on PC, a stupidly system hungry game that just didn't work as well on the PC as the console. I'd imagine Halo 2 would be similar. Personally, I think it would make sense if Microsoft released it as a budget title, like £5 or something. I mean, they're not going to set the world on fire with a console port of a game everyone who has wanted to play it already has. However, if they made it beautiful and DX10 only, it would lend encouragement to people to upgrade, which can only help Microsoft. It seems odd they honestly think people would pay full price for a game like this.

Not that it's a bad game, as Joe points out the co-op was great fun, if only because you couldn't really die, and saying "yeah I'll cover you!" before gutting your teammate in the back with the sword thing was great fun too (sorry Joe). But it's not worth another £30 for basically the same thing again. Hmm, though of course with all future releases what the publishers have played for it remains to be seen.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 18:03   #18
pendragon
I pickle they
 
pendragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Massachusetts,usa
Posts: 717
pendragon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by CardJoe
True, but so did Halo 2 on xbox. Why pay £30 to microsoft to get a console port thats two and a half years old that they've only bothered with to showcase their new tech anyway? I used to have the game for Xbox and played coop to death on that with Bauul until my brother sold it.

Halo 2 Vista? Don't see the point in buying it. Nowadays you can get an Xbox really cheap from gamestation anyway so why not get it and the original halo 2 to play it as it was meant to be played and only spend about £20 more.

Ugh. I need to stop this ranting.
do you think maybe some people like playing FPS's with a mouse instead of an effing gamepad? maybe? ...I do.
pendragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 18:41   #19
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
True, but do those people like playing old console ports with a mouse or would they prefer to save their monies up for Crysis, which will cost the same? Maybe?...I do
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2007, 19:25   #20
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
I returned mine to Wal-Mart
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:17.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.