bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Jun 2007, 05:05   #1
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
HIS has AGP Radeon HD 2600 XT

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2007/06...n_hd_2600_xt/1

COMPUTEX 2007: HIS is showing off what it claims to be the world's first DirectX 10 compliant AGP graphics card.

__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 05:07   #2
mattthegamer463
Mod Master
 
mattthegamer463's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,804
mattthegamer463 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I wouldn't be surprised if the AGP port has a stranglehold on the cards performance.
__________________
Latest Work: Boombox Build
Project PCB- Complete Digital Picture Frame 2.0- Complete
RumbleMouse - Complete Latest Project: TestPC- Complete
Lian-Li PC7: C2D E6600, XFX 8800GTS 640MB, Corsair 2GB PC6400, 320GB Seagate Barracuda, EVGA 680i SLi, OCZ 850W
mattthegamer463 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 05:47   #3
Gravemind123
avatar not found
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Elmhurst, IL, USA
Posts: 1,780
Gravemind123 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I doubt much bottlenecking will happen, Tom's Hardware ran an X1900XTX and an 8800GTS in x1, x4, x8 and x16 modes. The 8800 suffered a bit at x8, but the X1900XTX didn't lose much performance between x8 and x16(1 FPS in games and 18 3DMarks in 06). The HD 2600XT is probably gonna be closer to an x1900 in performance then an 8800, so hopefully that will hold true for the AGP versions. Since AGP was still out for 939 and 775 there are people with dual core CPUs and AGP motherboards, and if they don't want to get rid of their current mobo this would be useful. The bottleneck with most AGP systems would probably be the CPU in the older AGP systems(AthlonXP/lower clocked P4).
__________________
E4400 - Asus P5B-Plus - Antec NeoHE 500 - 4GB OCZ SLI XTC - EVGA 8800GT - 250GB WD + 320GB Seagate
Lian-Li PC-61 - Zalman Cooling - Creative GigaWorks T20 - AG Neovo M-17

Dell XPS M1330 - T8300 - 4GB Ram - 8400M GS - 250GB HDD
Gravemind123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 06:41   #4
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
I upgraded to a PCIe mobo for nothing. Darn.
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 06:55   #5
knuck
Hate your face
 
knuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,652
knuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youknuck - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
I only hope UT3 wont absolutely need a dual core cpu...... if so then this card would be perfect for my dothan @ 2.7ghz
knuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 08:45   #6
Hugo
Ultramodder
 
Hugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,384
Hugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wow, so we've now got the second generation of AGP and PCI's successor and still companies are clinging on....
__________________
thisishugo.com - I have opinions; you can read them.
Hugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 11:28   #7
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,152
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hey, you still see IDE, Floppy, Serial and PS/2 Ports on boards don't you
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 11:44   #8
DougEdey
I pwn all your storage
 
DougEdey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 13,933
DougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Now they just need Linux Drivers
__________________
Burnout: Paradise Stats!XBL: DougEdey Bindi
PSN ID: DougEdey
Twitter

DougEdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 13:45   #9
./^\.Ace./^\.
Supermodder
 
./^\.Ace./^\.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 250
./^\.Ace./^\. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It is the tech like this that is saving me from going out and getting a new mother board, processor and RAM for my PC I just need to save up enough cash for one of thies super AGP cards and i'm set so what if it isn't as powerful as the PCIe version, it is still better then the PCIe X1950 card
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 920 | RAM: 6GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR3 1866MHz | Mother Board: Asus P6T | GPU: Dual BFG GeForce GTX295 rev.B(Quad SLI) | PSU Antec TPQ-1000 | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | HDD: 500GB WD Caviar Black, 1TB WD Carviar Green & 45GB Corsair Accelerator | ODD: Pioneer DVR-216D | Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 | Monitor: LG W2343T 23" | OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit |
i7 Builds #1, #2, #3
./^\.Ace./^\. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 14:02   #10
SteveyG
Electromodder
 
SteveyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 3,048
SteveyG has yet to learn the way of the DremelSteveyG has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulatin
Hey, you still see IDE, Floppy, Serial and PS/2 Ports on boards don't you
Which is a good thing IMO.
SteveyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 14:27   #11
Hugo
Ultramodder
 
Hugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,384
Hugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the DremelHugo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by ./^\.Ace./^\.
it is still better then the PCIe X1950 card
It is also going to be über expensive compared to the PCI-E version
__________________
thisishugo.com - I have opinions; you can read them.
Hugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2007, 18:19   #12
./^\.Ace./^\.
Supermodder
 
./^\.Ace./^\.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 250
./^\.Ace./^\. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archangel
It is also going to be über expensive compared to the PCI-E version
But cheaper then replacing most of my PC
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 920 | RAM: 6GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR3 1866MHz | Mother Board: Asus P6T | GPU: Dual BFG GeForce GTX295 rev.B(Quad SLI) | PSU Antec TPQ-1000 | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | HDD: 500GB WD Caviar Black, 1TB WD Carviar Green & 45GB Corsair Accelerator | ODD: Pioneer DVR-216D | Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 | Monitor: LG W2343T 23" | OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit |
i7 Builds #1, #2, #3
./^\.Ace./^\. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2007, 17:02   #13
Rich_13
Hypermodder
 
Rich_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London
Posts: 730
Rich_13 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
there are a ot of people with aging machines out there that may not want to buy a whole new pc so this is a good thing and as much as I like moving on the the newest thing this does have a place.


there are agp slots of amd 939 boards that can take fast ddr and dual core procs so the rest of the system can keep up with the gfx cards instead of being limited by them too much. (although i know the bus might be a slight prob)
__________________
My blog / DSL guide: www.alpagot.co.uk
Rich_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2007, 22:10   #14
./^\.Ace./^\.
Supermodder
 
./^\.Ace./^\.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 250
./^\.Ace./^\. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sapphire is also making a Radeon HD 2600 XT, as well as a cheaper Radeon HD 2400XT and Pro. http://www.sapphiretech.com/ Take a look for your self, there are no pictures of the cards but you can still read up on them.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 920 | RAM: 6GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR3 1866MHz | Mother Board: Asus P6T | GPU: Dual BFG GeForce GTX295 rev.B(Quad SLI) | PSU Antec TPQ-1000 | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | HDD: 500GB WD Caviar Black, 1TB WD Carviar Green & 45GB Corsair Accelerator | ODD: Pioneer DVR-216D | Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 | Monitor: LG W2343T 23" | OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit |
i7 Builds #1, #2, #3
./^\.Ace./^\. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2007, 14:57   #15
tk421
Idiot.
 
tk421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ohio
Posts: 2,364
tk421 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeltk421 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
wow - and 2 years ago i thought my x850 pro would be the last round of upgrades for my aging system -

i even very nobly held off from buying a 1950 pro when the agp's came around last winter.

i am so very tempted to go for the instant gratification and get the 2600 ... but i dont know if i want to be saddled with my current (172w) display ... widescreen monitors have come leaps and bounds since i forked out 700$ (U.S.) for a first-gen 1280x768 panel ... but with a child and wife pc gaming (and the inherent "gotta have the new one!" syndrome) was bumped WAY down on my priority list ... pretty much at the bottom

there's always tax return time next spring ...
__________________
:gamebox: e7400@3.5 (333x10.5)|MSI Neo3f(p43)|2x2gb pc6400|HD4850 (512)|CM590|westie lcm-22w3|
:htpc: Dell 755 desktop|e7500(stock)|4gb ram|HD4350|500gb stripe+1tb storage|LG 37" 1080p lcd|
tk421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2007, 05:52   #16
Mandown
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mandown has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have been waiting for this for a while now, i plan on getting one of the HD 2600XT hopefully with GDDR4. The pricing for the AGP version is actually not going to be like they were with the X1K series were there was upwards of 50$ difference. They are supposed to very very close in price to the PCI-E versions, about a 20$ -30$ difference. But there is word going around that there will be a HD 2900 for AGP as well. I saw it somewhere on the internet and i think Powercolor was going to do it. I'm not 100% sure but i wouldn't doubt if they did have a 2900 for AGP.
Mandown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2007, 05:54   #17
Amon
inch-perfect
 
Amon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,467
Amon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I can't believe people are still tying some fictional heavenly performance advantage of PCIe over AGP, with respect to video cards (not the bus architecture). Yes, I'm still using an AGP system, and it appears that my very best video card is the worst of the entire bit-tech community.
Amon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2007, 19:15   #18
chrisb2e9
Dont do that...
 
chrisb2e9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,971
chrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulatin View Post
Hey, you still see IDE, Floppy, Serial and PS/2 Ports on boards don't you
the ps2 ports for a mouse give faster performance than a usb interface.
chrisb2e9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2007, 19:42   #19
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
PS2 mice are going, IDE is only at the grace of 3rd party chipsets and should disappear from some boards this time next year I recon. Serial and Parallel? Maybe some like MSI, but no one uses it. Floppy has only held around as long as it has thanks to XP.
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2007, 02:23   #20
Liete87
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Liete87 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Any news on the date for this card? Or is there any place to pre-order it.
Liete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:11.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.