bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 8th Sep 2007, 05:38   #1
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Adding dual LAN to old Alienware

View the updated project log on my personal site, XodusTech.com

Hi all!

Been a while since I have done any note worthy mods and here is one fresh off the press, err... soldering iron.

This is the first phase to a much more in depth and useful network apliance for me, but first things first. Lets introduce why any of this matters... I am utilizing an Alienware area 51m 766 series laptop, painted conspiracy blue. It features in Intel Pentium 4 3.0ghz northwood processor, 512mb PC3200 DDR, 40gb 7200rpm hdd. The rest is useless or broken. That includes the graphics card, which is all but shot on this particular machine. It can be run in software rendering mode w/o drivers but the drivers cannot be installed. Alienware refuses to provide a replacement graphics card, they often go for 300+ on ebay which is just unacceptable to me. So there is the reasoning on using an Alienware in a project like this.

The aim is to create a network appliance of sorts, looking into running it as a router and firewall. But the Alienware has only 1 NIC which is a huge problem. So the goal was to add one. Using a PCMCIA one was not an option because the PCMCIA socket on the Alienware proves to be iffy at best and not reliable, further more having all the cords in the back of the laptop is a huge plus for this project.

SO here were go....!


Pictures:

First up is my secondary NIC of choice. An Intel PRO/100 with a modem as well, the modem wont be used. This is a good choice because the Alienware has a free mini-pci socket intended for a wireless card, which we will utilize for the secondary NIC. Notice the weird ribbon it comes with, that has to be replaced.


First things first, I had to pin-out the connector on the card itself to determine which pins were used for Ethernet lines and led control... etc. I then removed the black plastic header used to mate with the white connector on the card itself, its good to reuse the parts that worked.


Upon further examination I found out that with a little dremeling I could open it up a little and solder some wires to those pins, excellent luck so far.


Once I had the connector pin-out I decided to solder up the Ethernet lines, oddly enough the connector took advantage of the blue pair, though normal 100mbit connections to not use this pair I soldered it up anyway. You only get one good chance to do this kind of mod so I decided why not. On a side node this was some really difficult soldering. Even project iPod HDD adapter was not quite this tricky. Either that or I am out of practice.


I then soldered on the Ethernet jack I desoldered from the original setup, again its good to reuse the original parts.


It was the moment of truth as the laptop powered back on, would my hacked up connections work? What a relief when everything works without a hitch, again great luck so far. Obligatory bit-tech home page as well.

Intermission.......



Glad you stuck with me here. Back on with the mod. While disassembling the Alienware I located an ancient communications device. Googling revealed it was a modem, at one time in history used to connect to the internet, though I couldn't get any cables I owned to fit the jack on the back. So it was useless to me. First I had to remove the old RJ-11 jack from the back of the Alienware, turns out it was molded to the RJ-45 jack. So some dremeling was in order.


Once I had the RJ-11 jack dremeled off and desoldered I went ahead and removed the support componets for the modem, they would be useless and got in the way of the new RJ-45 jack.


After half an hour of dremeling on both the original RJ-45 and the new one I finally got it glued in place. Here I am just waiting for the glue to dry.


I then cut the new wires to length and routed them along the motherboard so the metal plates would fit back over it. Routed them through some holes near the s-video jack and soldered them to the new RJ-45 jack on the bottom. I booted up the laptop just to make sure all the connections were sound, again everything is perfect.


I then had to cut a little extra room on the back to allow for the bigger RJ-45 jack and cable to plug in, no issues here just dremel, file, sand a little and presto


Another action shot of the new jack all soldered in place


Just putting the whole thing back together, and finally putting the mini-pci cover back in place.


Finally the action shots of both RJ-45 jacks on the back of the laptop. Thats right both fully functional. The onboard is a 1000mbit and the new one is 100mbit. Perfect for what I needed.



Thanks for taking a look. Hope it inspires someone to go nuts with some otherwise spare junk they have laying around. In the end this project took about 6 hours to complete. Well worth every second. Leave a comment!

Last edited by Warrior_Rocker; 20th May 2012 at 18:04.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2007, 06:57   #2
zachjowi
Supermodder
 
zachjowi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 542
zachjowi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
looks good but what is the purpose of dual LAN? twice the speed?
zachjowi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2007, 13:48   #3
identikit
Ultramodder
 
identikit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,320
identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zachjowi View Post
looks good but what is the purpose of dual LAN? twice the speed?
It's not twice the speed (the new jack is 100mbit versus gigE) but it adds more connectivity for firewall purposes.

Awesome mod, great work.
__________________
Lemonade Magazine | Folding @ Home | CPC & Bit-tech folding stats (team #35947)
identikit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2007, 07:02   #4
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi all,

The project is for the most part completed now as I have the Alienware all setup and running as my router and firewall. It has been online and functional for about 36 hours now with no interruption in service or issue so I can somewhat safely say that this project ends in completion.

The software package I chose for this comes in the form of a custom Linux distribution called Clark Connect. It comes in different levels one of which being the community edition. It is a completely free version of Clark Connect and installs in under 30 minutes for most cases. Clark Connect immediately detected both the on board and secondary Ethernet interfaces on my Alienware and immediately knew which one was for the internal network and which was for external. If you are afraid of not having the right drivers I would look no further. It also comes with a very powerful and intuitive web interface so there is hardly any need to ever touch a Linux console. Though I would recommend becoming familiar with it because one should never stop learning something new.

Here are some action shots of my Alienware all setup with my core network equipment, don't laugh though I hardly have the most impressive setup.

Pictures:

Pictures both with and without flash so you can see the laptop's display.

The network topology in this case is quite simple it basically is:
WORLD <--> Clark Connect Router <---> Network Switch <---> CLIENTS

The little white box is my LaFonera router that I flashed to use the custom DD-WRT firmware, it is setup as an access point only so that my Clark Connect router can be the only DHCP server. The Larger blue box under my Alienware is my Sun Cobalt RaQ3i (flashed with RaQ550), it is a small network appliance currently setup to serve music to other computers in the house. The rest should be fairly self explanatory.

I even made a custom MOTD for the shell login which adds a little personal flare to the project.


Thanks for taking a look. Leave a comment!
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2007, 19:51   #5
AFX
"Bling" Silver Mountain 2
 
AFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 295
AFX has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
woot your on hackaday.com!
__________________
P5B Deluxe|q8300|HR-01 Plus|2GB OCZ+2GB Corsair|ATI HD4850 512MB|Antec Trio 650W|Audigy 2 Platinum ZS|WD250|WIN7+WINXPFTW
Flickr
AFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2007, 20:08   #6
yakyb
i hate the person above me
 
yakyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,056
yakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysis
what would you say the main advantages were of clarc connect over a standard DD-WRT based router seeing as the power requirements are going to be a fair amount higher
im tempted to turn my old P3 into something similar but dont really feal the need to bother at the moment. is there anything in particular that swayed you

oh and way to go on the mod i love that Stuff
__________________
Mumblings of a prospective indie Game Developer Blog
My Games Website
yakyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2007, 20:18   #7
h_2_o
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 171
h_2_o has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
how do you like the raq550 os? i have a few of the raq4's and was considering flashing them up but have not made my mind up yet to use the 550 or some other route.

btw nice mod
h_2_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2007, 01:15   #8
Mino
Ganzerli Mino
 
Mino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rapallo GE Italy
Posts: 540
Mino has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I love the raq look, maybe one day I'll buy one :-)
BTW, good mod , and being spotted by hackaday is the best compliments!
__________________
ItaliaModding.it Staff - Italia Modding Club Member
My project ::: Project AralT3 - Project UltraViolet - Impossible Modding
Mino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2007, 04:56   #9
jakenbake
full duplex
 
jakenbake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 495
jakenbake has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
congrats on the hack-a-day front page
__________________
1 + 1 = 10
jakenbake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2007, 06:11   #10
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi all,

First I would like to thank everyone for the kind comments. It makes everything worth while. Hopefully I have inspired someone to go nuts with their soldering iron.

A big thanks goes out to hackaday as always. Huge fan of the site and the projects they feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyb View Post
what would you say the main advantages were of clarc connect over a standard DD-WRT based router seeing as the power requirements are going to be a fair amount higher
im tempted to turn my old P3 into something similar but dont really feal the need to bother at the moment. is there anything in particular that swayed you

oh and way to go on the mod i love that Stuff
The main advantages I have noticed so far is just the extra speed and stability I am seeing from Clark Connect over a regular router flashed to the DD-WRT firmware. Everyones experience on that will differ but from what I have noticed when running Wireless wide open and you have lots of ethernet traffic the router tends to slow down a bit. I haven't had this problem yet with Clark Connect. Also a great advantage I have here is that the onboard NIC on my Alienware that I am using on the internal network is gigabit I plan on upgrading to a better switch soon to gain even more performance out of my network.

Another great advantage is the active filtering, firewall, and intrusion prevention built into Clark Connect. I just checked and so far it has blocked about 20 intrusion attempts that probably would have made it right past my Linksys. Clark Connect also has optional built in web services. You could also run a website or host some local pages for your intranet. Since its a full copy of Linux your possiblities are endless.

Can't argue with the power requirements though, my old Linksys generally consumed about 10~15 watt max, while the Alienware powersupply is rated at about 140 watt max. Haven't measured how much it consumes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by h_2_o View Post
how do you like the raq550 os? i have a few of the raq4's and was considering flashing them up but have not made my mind up yet to use the 550 or some other route.

btw nice mod
Personally I though I would get more out of the raq550 os, the problem is that it is just so outdated no matter how you slice it. I ended up trashing most of the original config and installed newer versions of apache, php, and mysql. I hardly use the web interface at all. It is a bit easier to just interact with it via shell. You could also look into running some good management software like Webmin or DirectAdmin. I have another cool project lined up for my cobalt down the road.


As always I encourage everyone to think out of the box and the wallet a little bit. Check out my sig for other projects I've done in the past.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2007, 09:15   #11
Cupboard
I'm not a modder.
 
Cupboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bury St Edmunds/Durham Uni
Posts: 2,148
Cupboard has yet to learn the way of the DremelCupboard has yet to learn the way of the DremelCupboard has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I suppose it being a laptop mean you don't need a ups for it? which would reduce the strain on one that you might have had powering everything else. Although this is rather if you don't have a ups as everything else will die with a power out.
__________________
i7 920, 5870, 6GB Corsair all in an Intel DX58SO; 60GB Vertex, 1.5TB F2; Fractal Design R2
ThinkPad Edge 13.
Cupboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2007, 13:51   #12
Starbuck3733T
Look out sugar, here it comes
 
Starbuck3733T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hyde Park
Posts: 920
Starbuck3733T has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Very clever and a nice clean job. Time for some m0n0wall or pfSense!
__________________
Starbuck's Goliath
Wizard Designs Forum's #1 Semiretired Admin - Muh Flickr! - Muh Blog
P5N32E-SLI Plus, E6750, 8800GTX, 2GB, 2.6TB, 2407FPW = Left Brain
D80, SB600, 50mm f/1.4, 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6, 10-20mm f/4-5.6, assorted filters, POS $40 tripod = Right Brain
Starbuck3733T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2007, 00:48   #13
DeLorean5000
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 539
DeLorean5000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cupboard View Post
I suppose it being a laptop mean you don't need a ups for it? which would reduce the strain on one that you might have had powering everything else. Although this is rather if you don't have a ups as everything else will die with a power out.
the battery is shot. doh!
DeLorean5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2007, 01:52   #14
Warrior_Rocker
Holder of the sacred iron
 
Warrior_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 938
Warrior_Rocker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The battery is only mostly shot. It can power the whole unit for about 30 minutes if the lid is closed which is about as long as the UPS could keep it alive anyway.
Warrior_Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2007, 02:57   #15
C-Sniper
Stop Trolling this space Ądmins!
 
C-Sniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 3,022
C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.C-Sniper is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
hey this might come in handy someday. my NIC just died on my motherboard so i might try some of this.
TLH cheesecake!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tibby
Also it [sex] can be boring if the situation is like "Throwing a Sausage Down A Hallway"
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehippoz View Post
hmm you seem to know a lot about guys.. I was wondering- if I put a piece of plywood down my pants, would that be enough to protect me from rear attacks.. like in a circus bathroom or high scale restaurant
C-Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:09.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.