1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a new camera, Advice please.

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Daza, 29 Sep 2007.

1. Daza

Daza MR D to you.

Right Ive asked this question on a few different forums and got a luke warm response to say the least.

Basically my art+design class includes photography as one of the techniques to pursue, and I quite like it tbh but my current camera is I think holding me back a tad as its a pretty basic model as you can see.

What I'm after is an entry level~intermediate DSLR, and yes I have no experience of DSLR's neither does anyone in my family so I'm aware theres going to be a bit of learning involved.

Ive set my budget at around the £450 mark although I will be flexible if needed, so far I'm quite taken by the Nikon D50 and D40x and I'm also looking at the cannon EOS 350D, and the EOS 400D which looks to be a little on the pricey side.

So does anyone have any recommendations or other on-line shops to look around apart from jessops, (I will be going to jessops in town on Monday after college to get a feel for some of the mentioned cameras to see if they fit.)

Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited: 29 Sep 2007
  2. alastor

alastor Minimodder

Read the reviews of the D40x, D50 and the Canons over at www.dpreview.com and then get down to a shop and get a feel for them and the menu systems; have a look at this thread, especially Brett's post (Da Dego).

3. atanum141

atanum141 I fapped to your post!

Fuji F30 or F31 for the cheesecake. or Canon D400.

4. Daza

Daza MR D to you.

Right, Ive had a look thought the reviews for the camera's and a few more, and I think my no.1 choice is the canon 400D as it seems to have the most feature's and I can get it for £425 with a 2gb card and bag.

And one else think this is an OK camera or should I be looking else where.

5. Nath

Nath Your appeal has already been filed.