1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: 2600 Update May 02 2008 Finished

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Trindee, 24 Jan 2008.

1. Trindee

Trindee What's a Dremel?

Hello every one.

I am kind of new to this message board and like what I have seen so far. I have been looking over and reading some of the post here and see that their is a lot if knowledge floating around this site. I have wanted to build a custom computer case or have one built for several years now. I just have never been motivated to do so. That is until I found this site. Now thanks to every one who reads and/or post here I am trying my hand at modding. This will be my very first mod. Oh yea I will not be working on this case alone it will be my and my brother working together to make this. This is mostly because he has all the tools to do the work with.

Here is my victim. Poor little bugger was so happy that I picked him over all the rest of his friends. That was until I told him what I had planed for him. It is just a plain case with a factory window. Please take a good look because the next time you see it, it will not look any thing like this.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Now that you have had a good look at my friend it is time to start on his new look. Lets start with a little disassembling.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Did I say a little disassembling? My bad I meant completely disassemble

I plan to make this case out of wood, Plexiglas and some of the old case parts. All the wood I am using that will be visible is called black walnut.

Here is a mock up of what it will look like when we are done.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

If you have not figured out what this is by now it is a resemblance of the old Atari 2600 case.

Here is the base plate that I am working with.
    [​IMG]

Here are a few shots of the sidepieces.
    [​IMG]