bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Mar 2008, 04:35   #1
mushi_999
Multimodder
 
mushi_999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here and there
Posts: 197
mushi_999 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Surround Sound Speakers and Back of computer jacks

This has been bugging me for 2 years now but i never really thought of asking on forums. Everyone i know who owns these speakers only uses the subwoffer and 2 speakers because they dont know how to hook them up. I figured you need a sound card to use them all.

What exactly do you need in order to hook all 6 speakers up

These are the speakers
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...FC5059B844F6A#





And this is what the back of my computer has. Am able to hook them up?
ANd what exactly are the other colors for?
mushi_999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 04:50   #2
radodrill
Resident EI
 
radodrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Almost Heaven (WV)
Posts: 870
radodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysis
The integrated sound card would have the appropriate connectors surround speakers

the audio connectors are for:
Green - Front Out
Pink - Mic In
Blue - Line In
Gray - Side Out (not needed for 5.1)
Black - Rear Out
Orange - Center/Sub Out
radodrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 05:42   #3
chrisb2e9
Dont do that...
 
chrisb2e9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,963
chrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysischrisb2e9 can run Crysis
a cheap card like the soundblaster audigy has all the plugs you need. i have the same speakers and an audigy card. Good speakers, but I think that I would rather have an expensive 3.1, or even just a 2.1 setup over these. I dont notice the far right and left speakers when I play games. or music. they do have the "matrix mode" where the channels just get split or however its done but I discovered that in some games, like supreme commander, it actually takes away some sounds.
anyway, yeah, cheap soundcard like an audigy which i think you can get for about 30 CDN will do the trick if your onboard sound doesn't have all the plugs you need.
chrisb2e9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 06:00   #4
Brett89
Ultramodder
 
Brett89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 1,249
Brett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run CrysisBrett89 can run Crysis
I had those speakers, it should take up the black, green and yellow plugs, set your onboard sound to 5.1, or if you only have a stereo setup hooked up, use the "surround" button on it.l The plugs on the back are colour coded so it should be straight forward. You've got everything you need to use those in surround with you. So you should be able to get it to work. When I bought those, it came with a 3 plug 1/8 in plug, with green, yellow and black on both ends, and it was male on both ends.
__________________
C2Q Q9550 @3.6 Asus P5Q Pro Turbo, 8GB Corsair, Xonar D2, 500 and 160 GB Seagate, eVGA 8800 GTX and an Antec P182.

Dell M4600 i7-2860QM, 32GB DDR3, Quadro 1000M, 256GB SSD, 1920x1080
Dell Mini 9, 1.6GHz Atom, 2GB DDR2 @533, 32GB SSD, OSX 10.6.7 Laser cut Apple logo
Brett89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 12:47   #5
mushi_999
Multimodder
 
mushi_999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here and there
Posts: 197
mushi_999 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I am thinking of getting those speakers, because right now i am using my reciever. But i don't know how to hook it up to Surround Sound

Right now the way i have it is im using a y-cord and it hooks up to the back of my computer into the green jack and the other side hooks up to the left red and white jacks




Is there any way of hooking up my surround sound reciever to surround sound computer?
I noticed that there is a green blue red jacks at the back of my reciever
mushi_999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 13:28   #6
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The red blue and green plugs are not for sound ON YOUR RECEIVER.. these are videos output (it says "Component Out").
The Component system is similar then the usual yellow plug, but each primary colors are somewhat separated, so it give you a better image output, however these configuration (in terms of image quality is under DVI and HDMI and Display Port)

I see there is no "Component In" nor a "Video In" (the yellow plug), I am guessing your receiver can also play DVD's, correct?
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 13:37   #7
mushi_999
Multimodder
 
mushi_999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here and there
Posts: 197
mushi_999 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ah you're right. I found a picture of the back. Yea its a 5 disc dvd, But i usually use it as my computer speakers.
mushi_999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 16:22   #8
Dizman
Multimodder
 
Dizman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 218
Dizman has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
To connect a computer to that surround sound system with 5.1 working, you need a digital optical connector on the computer. Your motherboard might have a breakout card for this, but I don't think many do. You could get something like this, but then you're starting to spend a lot of money. There aren't too many sound cards out there with an optical (SPDIF) connector on them, and those that do have it aren't cheap.

Basically your surround sound system only has a digital input for a 5.1 input. Your computer, to the best of my knowledge, only has analog outputs for a 5.1 output. You will need to either buy a soundcard with digital outputs, or a new surround sound system with analog inputs.
Dizman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2008, 16:45   #9
radodrill
Resident EI
 
radodrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Almost Heaven (WV)
Posts: 870
radodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysisradodrill can run Crysis
To output the PC surround over a home theater system, you need to have one of 3 things; discrete analog surround input on the receiver, coaxial SP/DIF Digital connectors on the PC and receiver, or optical SP/DIF Digital connectors on the PC and receiver. Newer receivers will have optical and/or coaxial SP/DIF inputs and generally analog surround input as well; Most PCs with integrated analog surround will also have integrated coaxial SP/DIF and sometimes even the optical SP/DIF
radodrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:37.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.