bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 12:05   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
GTA IV PC exclusively on Games for Windows

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2008/09...-for-windows/1

Microsoft has announced that Grand Theft Auto IV will be coming to the PC exclusively under the Games for Window banner.

__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 12:29   #2
p3n
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 778
p3n has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
"The Live service is a natural fit for the platform and we strongly believe it will help in building a strong online community around GTA IV PC.

Its BAD like the 360 MP then?
p3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 12:49   #3
cjoyce1980
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
cjoyce1980 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i've never had a problem with 360 MP
cjoyce1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 13:26   #4
roshan
Modder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
roshan has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
GTA 4 was rated exteamly high.What i heard from xbox 360 gamers that game is not so fun as San Andrias.They say game is a bit empty and had frame rate issues on console.Correct me if am wronge.Because i am planing to by the pc version.
roshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 13:38   #5
ssj12
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 652
ssj12 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
well im not getting this now
ssj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 13:49   #6
nukeman8
Hypermodder
 
nukeman8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK - Lincolnshire
Posts: 863
nukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i got it for xbox and plays fine, its true it hasnt got the fun facter like san andreas have, i mean its fun but on san andreas i could spend a whole night on there, gta 4 two hours tops.
nukeman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 14:04   #7
Mentai
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 758
Mentai has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That's a lost sale for them. GoW for PC was complete and utter shite, partially because of being tied so closely to games for windows live. I want steam as an option =/
Mentai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 14:08   #8
Golygus
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 678
Golygus has yet to learn the way of the DremelGolygus has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
However you can just pop and buy the game from a shop, or perhaps pre-order it from play.com for 24.99

I'll stick to physical media I can sell on when I'm done thanks (my only gripe with steam and so forth).
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.8GHz | Akasa Nero S | 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 | Gigabyte GA-x58A-UD3R r2 | Gigabyte GTX770 OC 2GB | SB X-Fi Extreme Gamer | OCZ 120GB RevoDrive, 2 x 1TB WD 1002FAEX | 2 x Samsung SH-S223B DVD+RW | Corsair HX620W PSU | Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Canon EOS 7D | Canon EFS 17-55 f2.8 IS USM | Canon EF 70-200 f2.8 L IS USM | 2 x Canon Speedlight 550EX
Golygus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 14:35   #9
Mo_
Did this world come by chance?
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bedford
Posts: 75
Mo_ has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
err idiots, they would have made a killing on steam too. boll*cks
Mo_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 14:46   #10
chiper136
Multimodder
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: You Kay
Posts: 98
chiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelchiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelchiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelchiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelchiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelchiper136 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by roshan View Post
GTA 4 was rated exteamly high.What i heard from xbox 360 gamers that game is not so fun as San Andrias.They say game is a bit empty and had frame rate issues on console.Correct me if am wronge.Because i am planing to by the pc version.
I much prefer GTA4 to San Andrias because of its more basing in reality and its far superior story line. San Andrias was just a little immature in its humour for me. Also I have not had a single issue with GTA4 on or off line on my 360.
chiper136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 16:16   #11
roshan
Modder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
roshan has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Some say's 4th game of any series is the best in fun factor. (A funny Theory).Devil may cry 4, Call of duty 4, quake 4, Resident Evil 4.So as GTA 4. So I’ll stick to that. I know GTA 4 is a better and mega game. But I was comparing that with San andreas Ok?
roshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 17:12   #12
freedom810
Supermodder
 
freedom810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 593
freedom810 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelfreedom810 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Perhaps the time has come for valve to start buying exclusives?
freedom810 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 17:46   #13
supaste
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 84
supaste has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedom810 View Post
Perhaps the time has come for valve to start buying exclusives?
I second that opinion though i don't want valve to turn into something it isn't.
supaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2008, 23:56   #14
impar
2n-1
 
impar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,816
impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Greetings!



Anyone else geting increasing frustrated with gaming in general?
Not with the games itselves but with the restrictions/impositions/limitations/etc that come with the games?

This is now the fourth game in 2008 I am not buying and would have bought.
__________________
"Dispatch War Rocket Ajax to bring back his body!"
impar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2008, 02:53   #15
speedfreek
Ultramodder
 
speedfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin (us)
Posts: 1,453
speedfreek has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Eh, I already have it for PS3 and have no interest in using anything other than plain old windows or steam to play my games with. I only wish that this would be released on steam so I could play with my friends easily enough. If there was one thing that they really could have improved upon by moving this to steam it would be the multiplayer. I know 2 people with PS3s and most of my friends have steam, I was hoping to have one more multiplayer game. Oh well back to TF2.
__________________
Q6600 | HD5870xxxUBERversion | 6gb of RAM | Several TBs of hdd
now my server|Athlon 64 3700(2.64ghz)|7800gs|2gb XMS 2-3-3-6|2tb+ total HD space... In raid|I have a problem.
Laptop: HP EliteBook, its fast!
speedfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2008, 04:18   #16
spectre456
Ultramodder
 
spectre456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Lucia
Posts: 1,009
spectre456 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelspectre456 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelspectre456 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelspectre456 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelspectre456 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by impar
Greetings!



Anyone else geting increasing frustrated with gaming in general?
Not with the games itselves but with the restrictions/impositions/limitations/etc that come with the games?

This is now the fourth game in 2008 I am not buying and would have bought.
were the other 3 EA games?
__________________
mobo: Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P Cpu: AMD Phenom 2 X4 945 @ 3.00ghz Gpu: EVGA GTS 450 RAM: OCZ Reapers DDR2 4GB storage: Hitachi Deskstar 320Gb 7200rpm 32Mb cache Case: NZXT Apollo black OS: Windows 7 ultimate x64 keyboard: MS KB mouse: Cooler Master Storm Inferno mousemat: OCZ mouse mat headset: Creative SoundBlaster Arena headset speakers: None
spectre456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2008, 09:51   #17
Paradigm Shifter
de nihilo nihil fit
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,638
Paradigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the DremelParadigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by impar View Post
Greetings!



Anyone else geting increasing frustrated with gaming in general?
Not with the games itselves but with the restrictions/impositions/limitations/etc that come with the games?

This is now the fourth game in 2008 I am not buying and would have bought.
Pretty much.

Not sure what to do about Red Alert 3 - I don't want to support the Spore-style DRM, but equally I'd rather like to play RA3. I already own GTA4 on the PS3, though, and while it's fun in short bursts, I find the only GTA game I can actually go back to and play in fair sized bursts is Vice City.
Paradigm Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2008, 09:54   #18
impar
2n-1
 
impar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,816
impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Greetings!
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre456 View Post
were the other 3 EA games?
Yep.
Mass Effect, Spore and Warhead.
Warhead might pick it up eventually.

On a brighter note, I was told that the Live service has undergone a redesign, so I will wait and see.

PS:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm Shifter View Post
Not sure what to do about Red Alert 3 - I don't want to support the Spore-style DRM, but equally I'd rather like to play RA3.
I can avoid C&C easily.
On RTS my concern now is with Starcraft2. Lets see what Blizzard imposes as DRM.
__________________
"Dispatch War Rocket Ajax to bring back his body!"
impar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2008, 09:54   #19
confusis
Kiwi-modder
 
confusis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,406
confusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysis
anyone know the system requirements? have to make sure my slug of a pc is good enough for it in time
confusis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2008, 15:30   #20
Lepermessiah
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 566
Lepermessiah has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by roshan
GTA 4 was rated exteamly high.What i heard from xbox 360 gamers that game is not so fun as San Andrias.They say game is a bit empty and had frame rate issues on console.Correct me if am wronge.Because i am planing to by the pc version.
I think most of us are on to the little game these sites and playing with these reviews, game reviews are the most corrupt in the industry, no other industry reviews it products that they directly benefit financially from, it si no coincedence the bigger the hype the bigger the score seems to get, is MGS4 and GTA 4 really worth a 10/10? Most GAT fans thought San Andreas was the best GTA, not 4.
Lepermessiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:36.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.