bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Nov 2008, 18:32   #1
Langer
Jesse Lang
 
Langer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,608
Langer has yet to learn the way of the DremelLanger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Laptop LCD display - suddenly, the colours are inverted?!?

Hey folks, I got a doosie of an issue here for you all.

I just arrived at my Father's house and he hands me a laptop that he claims is having an issue.

I boot it up and the display is set to 640x480, and the colours are still 32bit but they are inverted (ie: white is black, red is green, blue is orange, etc)

I played around a bit with the graphics settings but I couldn't find a quick fix for him.

I've not yet tired removing and reinstalling the graphics drivers as I want to be certain that I haven't missed a quick fix.

The laptop is a HP Pavillion dv6000

Quote:
Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile Report

Report Date: 11/11/2008
Report Time[hr:mm:ss]: 09:32:05
Driver Version: 7.14.10.1437
Operating System: Windows Vista (TM) Ultimate* , Service Pack 1 (6.0.6001)
Default Language: English
DirectX* Version: 10.0
Physical Memory: 1013 MB
Minimum Graphics Memory: 8 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 251 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 68 MB
Processor: Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel
Processor Speed: 1596 MHZ
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 27A2
Device Revision: 03

* Accelerator Information *
Accelerator in Use: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Video BIOS: 1284
Current Graphics Mode: 1280 by 800 True Color (60 Hz)

* Devices Connected to the Graphics Accelerator *
Active Notebook Displays: 1

* Notebook *
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Display Type: Digital
Gamma Value: 2.20
DDC2 Protocol: Supported
Maximum Image Size: Horizontal: Not Available
Vertical: Not Available
Monitor Supported Modes:
1280 by 800 (60 Hz)
Display Power Management Support:
Standby Mode: Not Supported
Suspend Mode: Not Supported
Active Off Mode: Not Supported

Father claims that the screen was fine when he shut it off, then he went to turn it on and fappo! inverted colours.

I tried connecting an external display and the colours are fine - leading me to believe that it's a hardware issue.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________
project:HELIOS -- project:PROMETHEUSCU
Langer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2008, 05:51   #2
Langer
Jesse Lang
 
Langer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,608
Langer has yet to learn the way of the DremelLanger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
New drivers don't help any.


Has no-one ever heard of such a case? (I'm looking at you Bindi )

I called HP on a whim, and the tech claimed to have never seen such a thing.
__________________
project:HELIOS -- project:PROMETHEUSCU
Langer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2008, 17:43   #3
identikit
Ultramodder
 
identikit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,320
identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.identikit is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Langer View Post
Has no-one ever heard of such a case?
Ctrl-Opt-Cmd-8 on a mac will invert the display colours, but I've never heard of it happening like this.
__________________
Lemonade Magazine | Folding @ Home | CPC & Bit-tech folding stats (team #35947)
identikit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2008, 18:06   #4
Xen0phobiak
SMEGHEADS!
 
Xen0phobiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 3,846
Xen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the DremelXen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the DremelXen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
We've had quite a few of that model in for repair at work with faulty panels.
__________________
In an emergency situation involving two or more officers of equal rank, seniority will be granted to whichever officer can program a vcr.

World of Tanks profile
Xen0phobiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2008, 06:14   #5
Langer
Jesse Lang
 
Langer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,608
Langer has yet to learn the way of the DremelLanger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I guess the Old Man is S.O.L.

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
project:HELIOS -- project:PROMETHEUSCU
Langer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2008, 07:02   #6
r4tch3t
hmmmm....
 
r4tch3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,151
r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Try pressing Alt + Shift + Print Screen
__________________
France just seems small, because it's so easy to conquer
r4tch3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2008, 08:20   #7
ModMinded
Are you throwing that away?
 
ModMinded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,380
ModMinded has yet to learn the way of the DremelModMinded has yet to learn the way of the DremelModMinded has yet to learn the way of the DremelModMinded has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
could it be that somehow accessibilty mode got turned on? are the font's large?
(left alt, left shift, and print screen is the shortcut toggle for high contrast)
Check the control panel, under accesibility, and display tab.

though it is odd that the external display works normally. maybe it is a hardware issue.
__________________
My First Mod Log (Nzxt Lexa) (Ongoing) - What was that about idle hands?
ModMinded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2008, 11:26   #8
r4tch3t
hmmmm....
 
r4tch3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,151
r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.r4tch3t is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
He has fixed it, check his project log, he had to resolder the plug.
__________________
France just seems small, because it's so easy to conquer
r4tch3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2011, 07:47   #9
Cosmot
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 74
Cosmot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I dont know that, I allso to say this.There are usually several connectors inside LCD displays. Some are zero insertion force, some are push fit, and some are just squeezed between components during manufacture. Problems like you describe are often caused by the connections you can't fix (the 3rd type.) You can try reseating all the removable connections, but if that doesn't work an expensive part - the LCD itself - probably needs replacing, which can cost more than a new laptop.
Cosmot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2011, 13:45   #10
Xen0phobiak
SMEGHEADS!
 
Xen0phobiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 3,846
Xen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the DremelXen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the DremelXen0phobiak has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Old thread alert, but a standard 15.6" LCD panel is around 100 on the highstreet.
__________________
In an emergency situation involving two or more officers of equal rank, seniority will be granted to whichever officer can program a vcr.

World of Tanks profile
Xen0phobiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.