bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st Dec 2008, 10:24   #1
culley
Hypermodder
 
culley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 777
culley has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Emulator detected! Please deactivate virtual drive and emulation software.

I can't play games!

As yo can read from the title, everytime i put in a game disc that i actually own its says this and the only way i've figured out how to play my games is by using a no-cd crack .

It's happened with C&C:TW now its happening with EE:3!

I did installed Football manager which has securom on it do you think thats borked my system.
__________________
[Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte P67A-UD4 | Corsair XMS3 4GB | 1GB Sapphire HD 6850 | 3TB HDD | Hiper 540W PSU]
[Ubuntu Home File Server]
[CompTIA A+ Certified][Cisco CCNA Certified]
culley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Dec 2008, 10:52   #2
mm vr
The cheesecake is a lie
 
mm vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,968
mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
So you don't have any virtual disc software installed? Like Daemon Tools, Alcohol 120%, MagicDisc etc...

Do you possibly have any SCSI devices? Some borky copy protection might think they are virtual discs.

Other than that, you can only blame SecuROM then.
mm vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Dec 2008, 12:14   #3
culley
Hypermodder
 
culley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 777
culley has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I dont have any emulation software! This is down to securom those a-hole's.
__________________
[Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte P67A-UD4 | Corsair XMS3 4GB | 1GB Sapphire HD 6850 | 3TB HDD | Hiper 540W PSU]
[Ubuntu Home File Server]
[CompTIA A+ Certified][Cisco CCNA Certified]
culley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Dec 2008, 20:23   #4
IvanIvanovich
будет глотать вашу душу.
 
IvanIvanovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,632
IvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming Saiyan
try getting the 64bit securerom files from securerom. it may be failing because the securerom included on the games loaded the 32bit securerom drivers only, which fail on a x64 system. without the drivers loading it will fail because it can't do a media check.
IvanIvanovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 12:29   #5
nukeman8
Hypermodder
 
nukeman8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK - Lincolnshire
Posts: 863
nukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i had this once, i did have demon tools running but even after i uninstalled it, it didnt work.
Contacted EA who recommended a format (Nothing to harsh) to fix it
nukeman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 13:52   #6
mm vr
The cheesecake is a lie
 
mm vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,968
mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
WHAT?! So you'll have to format your computer to run SecuROM protected games?

Haha, not for me! Even less reasons to buy games anymore!
mm vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 14:01   #7
nukeman8
Hypermodder
 
nukeman8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK - Lincolnshire
Posts: 863
nukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
nah only happened with that 1 game, probably a bad lot of securom.

I didnt format it at the time, just played the game when i got round to formatting it next
nukeman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 14:19   #8
Matticus
...
 
Matticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,265
Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.
Its great how this would never happen if you had pirated the game.

Your best bet is just to use a no-cd and enjoy not having to bother with putting the disk in every time.
__________________
::i5 - 750::P55M-UD2::8GB Corsair::5850::CM Silent Pro Gold::F3 1TB::OCZ Vertex 2E::
::giffgaff::
Matticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 14:43   #9
nukeman8
Hypermodder
 
nukeman8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK - Lincolnshire
Posts: 863
nukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
to use a no-cd you would of have to pirated the game, something i wont do.
nukeman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 15:18   #10
13eightyfour
Formerly Titanium Angel
 
13eightyfour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: lincolnshire, uk
Posts: 3,046
13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.13eightyfour is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeman8 View Post
to use a no-cd you would of have to pirated the game, something i wont do.
Ive done it with a few of my games GTR, dreamfall and another. I dont see it as piracy at all seeing as i bought a proper version from a proper shop, Its not my fault that the publishers couldnt release a game that a paying customer can play.
13eightyfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 15:18   #11
Kúsař
regular bit-tech reader
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brnicko, CZ
Posts: 317
Kúsař has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Check here what copy protection your game is using:
http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/gamedb.php

Securom7 and safedisc4 can prevent you from running game when you have a virtual drive manager installed on your PC. But I also noticed that certain versions of securom doesn't prevent you from running game as long as you keep original disc in DVD drive.
If you have Daemon tools or Alcohol 120% installed on your PC then download program called YASU(Yet Another Securom Utility, but watch out from where you download it, check daemon tools forum) - it hides these programs and it might help you(but it won't work if you're using pirated disc image to run the game - you need original disc).
Running Sysinternal tools(ie registry monitor) will cause Securom7 to always prevent game exe from running. Reboot should help...

I'm not sure about Securom DRM crap. I never bought game which is infected by it.

Last edited by Kúsař; 22nd Dec 2008 at 15:26.
Kúsař is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 15:40   #12
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 1,532
wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.
Ah the joys of modern PC gaming /sarcasm.

If they want people to pirate games out of convenience even if they are willing to pay for them they are going the right way about it.
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 15:52   #13
Matticus
...
 
Matticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,265
Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeman8 View Post
to use a no-cd you would of have to pirated the game, something i wont do.
You don't have to pirate a game to use a no cd. You can download a no-cd crack from several websites without having to pirate a game. I doubt I would be allowed to say which one I use, so I won't.

I use no-cds because I don't want to keep getting the disk out of the box. This is due to laziness and because I don't want my disks to get scratched.
__________________
::i5 - 750::P55M-UD2::8GB Corsair::5850::CM Silent Pro Gold::F3 1TB::OCZ Vertex 2E::
::giffgaff::
Matticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 16:56   #14
nukeman8
Hypermodder
 
nukeman8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK - Lincolnshire
Posts: 863
nukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelnukeman8 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
sorry i put it across wrong, i use no-cds as in demon tools i load a cd image but with the securom problem that didnt work, modifying the exe works but then blocks internet play
nukeman8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Dec 2008, 20:19   #15
culley
Hypermodder
 
culley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 777
culley has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
But the thing that annoys me is that i unistalled the game that installed securom on my machine and it still keeps on doing it. I still don't know how to remove the securom files atm.
__________________
[Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte P67A-UD4 | Corsair XMS3 4GB | 1GB Sapphire HD 6850 | 3TB HDD | Hiper 540W PSU]
[Ubuntu Home File Server]
[CompTIA A+ Certified][Cisco CCNA Certified]
culley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2008, 06:31   #16
Kúsař
regular bit-tech reader
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brnicko, CZ
Posts: 317
Kúsař has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by culley View Post
But the thing that annoys me is that i unistalled the game that installed securom on my machine and it still keeps on doing it. I still don't know how to remove the securom files atm.
Securom is part of game exe file usually. When you run that exe - first thing it starts is securom - it checks for virtual drive manager, check disc etc... If everything is ok then securom starts game itself. It's not some sort of background process which is running all the time.
Only Starforce is resident evil. It's running as "service". For example if you try to run Alcohol software to create image of disc it'll mess with your drive...
Kúsař is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2008, 11:01   #17
mm vr
The cheesecake is a lie
 
mm vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,968
mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kúsař View Post
It's not some sort of background process which is running all the time.
Only Starforce is resident evil. It's running as "service". For example if you try to run Alcohol software to create image of disc it'll mess with your drive...
Nope, all newer copy protections run as services.

SF just installs ring 0 drivers, that's nothing unusual, even virus scanners and Daemon Tools do that).

SecuROM and SafeDisc add services and DLL files.

Actually I think even the newest SecuROM and SafeDisc versions add drivers to your system.

You can check all drivers by going to device manager and then Show > Show hidden devices.

Now when we're talking about bad experiences with copy protections...

Once when I installed TrackMania (Original), which has StarForce, I got a BSOD on reboot.

Once we installed Worms 4: Mayhem, which also has StarForce, on my friend's computer, it asked for a reboot and on startup we got an error about incompatible drivers. Well the game still didn't run, and in the end we ended up using a no-cd. And this was on 32-bit Vista.
mm vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2008, 12:33   #18
yakyb
i hate the person above me
 
yakyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,056
yakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysis
this pisses me off so much back in the days of doom3 they had this where you couldnt play if deamon tools was installed, the fact that i used it to mount legit images doesnt matter i had to remove it i get around this nowadays by using network shares of a mount contained on a server allowing the image to be used on all my home pcs but it is still just plain wrong
__________________
Mumblings of a prospective indie Game Developer Blog
My Games Website
yakyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2009, 06:51   #19
boiled_elephant
I actually like Doom 3.
 
boiled_elephant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,563
boiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeman8 View Post
to use a no-cd you would of have to pirated the game, something i wont do.
As pointed out twice above, this is baloney. I fix most of my games to run without CDs after buying them. If that's a breach of copyright, sue me. If it offends your morals...what planet are you on?

I'd remove secuROM for every title just out of good practise if I could - it's such a godawful piece of crap, I've never had it let me play a game without a hitch. It just hates my DVD drive. Apparently there's no Safedisc Unwrapper equivalent for SecuROM and it's essentially tied to the game (source), so I'd just use a fix of some description. The developers already have your money for the game, don't feel guilty about wanting to play it for Christ's sake!
__________________
In adolescence we were encouraged to pursue whatever we enjoyed most and were told that life would
reward our enthusiasm with stability and success. But the world respects economics, not hobbyism.
Occasionally, your hobby becomes your job, and you do it incessantly until all joy evaporates.
Normally, though, your hobbies are profitless and you spend your youth cramming them
into the pauses between 8-hour shifts of restless tedium, waiting for retirement.
boiled_elephant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:40.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.