bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 12:58   #1
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
So, I built my new gaming machine last night

http://www.bit-tech.net/blog/2009/02...pc-last-night/

__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 14:01   #2
Psytek
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 159
Psytek has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I agree that W7 seems a lot better than Vista. I've been getting better performance in most games I play.
Psytek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 14:45   #3
Xtrafresh
It never hurts to help
 
Xtrafresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Martin, Dutch Antilles
Posts: 2,990
Xtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run Crysis
I did almost the same thing Tim

The last month i've added some stuff to my PC, but it seems my budget is slightly lower. My endresult is very similar though:
2TB harddisks, W7, 1GB GPU an overclocked quadcore

So far, i've had two issues with W7:
1) installing the OS, it was unable to create a system partition. It was the first time i ever used a RAID array, so i thought that i had a driverproblem, but it turned out you need to install W7 on the volume that's listed first in BIOS. For some reason, my 1GB pendrive (used for RAID drivers) was occupying that spot
2) unable to install certain programs, such as skype and daemon tools.

I'm also very impressed with it though.

Great build Tim, and fun to read what kind of setup you are running. I'm glad it's not an i7 965/24GB RAM/2x GTX295/1600W/12TB RAID5/Watercooled/uberuber-rig

Have fun with it!

PS: shame on you for not overclocking a QX!
__________________
Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that.
- George Carlin
Xtrafresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 15:40   #4
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psytek View Post
I agree that W7 seems a lot better than Vista. I've been getting better performance in most games I play.
I had a quick game of HL2DM at lunch time today and it seems good so far. I'm not expecting it to be faster on my own machine - what are you running out of interest?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtrafresh View Post
Great build Tim, and fun to read what kind of setup you are running. I'm glad it's not an i7 965/24GB RAM/2x GTX295/1600W/12TB RAID5/Watercooled/uberuber-rig

Have fun with it!
Haha, I might end up upgrading the graphics again soon as I'm still on the verge of buying an NEC MultiSync LCD3090WQXi. I need someone to tell me it's a really bad idea... but nobody seems to be able to convince me that it is.

Quote:
PS: shame on you for not overclocking a QX!
I wasn't, but I am now - I didn't see a need, plus the power bill increase wasn't worth it because it disabled EIST.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 15:49   #5
Krikkit
Super Moderator
Moderator
 
Krikkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lincs, UK
Posts: 23,117
Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.
Wow, that's a serious Steam games list. It doesn't help that Steam is a hungry momma though! I've not got that many games installed, yet my Steam folder runs to 25GB without breaking a sweat. Ridiculous that it can't have a decent number of common data repositories tbh.
__________________
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, The Zlad!, The Wut?!, The Kempness
Krikkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 16:08   #6
Gremlin
Multimodder
 
Gremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 238
Gremlin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Nice upgrade there tim

I'm also currently using Win 7 (X64 naturally ) as my main OS even though im tri booting Vista & XP and i find that my games are running much smoother compared to Vista (even with it heavily tweaked)
Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 16:21   #7
kenco_uk
I unsuccessfully then tried again
 
kenco_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 9,695
kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.
Very strange concerning the P5B. I had one with 4 x 1GB modules in last year and it ran fine - I reckon you're right in thinking the slot was dead.
__________________
formaggio g‚teau
kenco_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 16:56   #8
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
sweet rig.. 16q is pretty nice- try guildwars on that card you can get 16q+4x aa application enhanced.. even old games like the witcher 16q override 16x af is good to go =] haven't been gaming here lately- stuff to do but mirrors edge is on the list
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 17:13   #9
Xtrafresh
It never hurts to help
 
Xtrafresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Martin, Dutch Antilles
Posts: 2,990
Xtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim S View Post
Haha, I might end up upgrading the graphics again soon as I'm still on the verge of buying an NEC MultiSync LCD3090WQXi. I need someone to tell me it's a really bad idea... but nobody seems to be able to convince me that it is.
It's not... it's a really GOOD idea. I put my spending on the PC on hold for now to be able to save up for one... either that or go for 3x 24", which is actually cheaper

A GTX280 should be able to handle 2560x1600, shouldn't it? I think the horsepower race has given us some rediculously overpowered cards lately, even at that resolution. I mean, do you need 16xAF + 32xFSAA + 8 instances of Folding@Home in the background?
__________________
Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that.
- George Carlin
Xtrafresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 18:25   #10
Jamie
ex-Bit-Tech code junkie
 
Jamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 8,179
Jamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the DremelJamie has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So when are you going to build me a gaming system Tim?


HUH?
__________________
Jamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 18:59   #11
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,031
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
nice system, your p182 needs a little polishing

so your system is now: q6700 at 3.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, gtx280 BFG OC1 and 2TB of storage?
my system is surprising similar :P q6600 at 3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, gtx260+ OC2 and 1.07GB of storage.

are game reviews going to be using that system? it's a very rounded system and a very good representation of current mainstream.
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 19:32   #12
DougEdey
I pwn all your storage
 
DougEdey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 13,933
DougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the DremelDougEdey has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
So when are you going to build me a gaming system Tim?


HUH?
When you actually game probably, macboi
__________________
Burnout: Paradise Stats!XBL: DougEdey Bindi
PSN ID: DougEdey
Twitter

DougEdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 19:50   #13
MrWillyWonka
Chocolate computers galore!
Moderator
 
MrWillyWonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, Hants
Posts: 5,892
MrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
One question, why the 1TB drive as a boot drive? I always try to keep from using my boot drive for storage to keep boot times low.

I also have P182 as a server, the shiny special edition
MrWillyWonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 21:50   #14
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWillyWonka
One question, why the 1TB drive as a boot drive? I always try to keep from using my boot drive for storage to keep boot times low.

I also have P182 as a server, the shiny special edition
It's the fastest of the drives I've got in my system now and most of my storage is on the two 500GBs at the moment. I'll probably get all of my photos and such copied onto the 1TB, but aside from programmes, that's about it.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2009, 23:26   #15
alastor
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
alastor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clevedon, UK
Posts: 3,607
alastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysisalastor can run Crysis
Nice rig, now get back to 360 gaming

What weather gadget is that by the way?
__________________
Main Rig: C2D E6850 (3.0GHz) : Asus P5E (X38) : 4GB XMS2 PC6400 : HD4870 512MB : Enermax 620W : 2 x Samsung F1 1TB : Antec P182
My Flickr : My XBOX
alastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2009, 03:14   #16
perplekks45
LIKE AN ANIMAL!
 
perplekks45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Offenbach, Germany
Posts: 4,644
perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Nice rig you built there. Pretty solid work, nothing fancy... me likey. And I told you you'd like Win7.

Sorry for the hijack but Xtra: You can get the Skype 4 Beta. Runs perfectly fine on both my computers.
__________________
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.
ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn
Iš! Iš! Cthulhu fhtagn!
perplekks45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2009, 14:06   #17
rembo666
Minimodder
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Korea
Posts: 37
rembo666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I agree. I think Windows 7 is basically a polished version of Vista--it's what Vista should have been in the first place. I run it as my main OS at home and I'm not planning on switching back.
rembo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2009, 14:46   #18
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alastor View Post
Nice rig, now get back to 360 gaming

What weather gadget is that by the way?
Quite ironic you say that, I get my 360 back this weekend.

The weather gadget is just the enlarged version of the standard Win7 weather gadget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by perplekks45 View Post
Nice rig you built there. Pretty solid work, nothing fancy... me likey. And I told you you'd like Win7.
Yep, Win7 is great... tonight I'll be playing Mirror's Edge til either I drop or the system does!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rembo666 View Post
I agree. I think Windows 7 is basically a polished version of Vista--it's what Vista should have been in the first place. I run it as my main OS at home and I'm not planning on switching back.
Yeah, Win7 is a polished version of Vista in many respects... but I think it's much more than that. Most of the design choices were right this time, whereas a lot of Vista's weren't. Moving back to something lightweight when it needs to be is refreshing to say the least.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2009, 22:03   #19
perplekks45
LIKE AN ANIMAL!
 
perplekks45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Offenbach, Germany
Posts: 4,644
perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.perplekks45 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I thought about picking up ME for my 360 from game.co.uk, preowned for less than 15£.
__________________
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.
ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn
Iš! Iš! Cthulhu fhtagn!
perplekks45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2009, 22:40   #20
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
I played the first few chapters tonight and I'm loving it so far. It's hard to explain why... it's just something completely different and I like what I'm seeing/playing.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:36.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.