bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Mar 2009, 15:02   #1
DorkSterr
Hakuna Matata
 
DorkSterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 627
DorkSterr has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
10/mbps Internet fast?

Hello guys I just subscribed to a 10/mbps Internet and I was just wondering if this looks right to you.

I download a lot of stuff using torrents (I admit it i know ) I noticed my downloads were going much faster then before, but I am not happy with it still it seems a little slow for 10mbps, I am only getting a speed downloads of 830/kbps-1mbps downloads does this seem correct? I thought 10mbps internet means 10mbps downloads also? whats the deal?
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.0MHz 1.4250V | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2038MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS EAH6970 925MHz/1385MHz |RAID 0* 120GBX2 OCZ Vertex 3 (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Corsair Obsidian 800D
DorkSterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 15:56   #2
Shuriken
same christmas AV for a whole year
 
Shuriken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Woolacombe, Devon
Posts: 1,312
Shuriken has yet to learn the way of the DremelShuriken has yet to learn the way of the DremelShuriken has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Where are you getting those download ratings? if its from your torrent client then chances are they are in megabytes and kilobytes per second, where as your ISP connection speed will be 10 megabits per second.

10 megabits per second is roughly 1.2 megabytes per second, so your down stream speed sounds pretty much spot on wish my net was that quick...
Shuriken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 17:27   #3
Firehed
Why not? I own a domain to match.
 
Firehed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: An hour north of Boston
Posts: 12,574
Firehed has yet to learn the way of the DremelFirehed has yet to learn the way of the DremelFirehed has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
10Mbps = 1.25MBps. If you're seeing download speeds around a megabyte per second, then everything's fine. If it's a megabit per second, something is up.

Try speedtest.net - that measures in megabits, just like ISPs.
__________________
hire me @ eric-stern.com - web developer and php ninja
pics @ my smugmug :: Twitter @firehed :: blog @ firehed.net
40D|580EXII|285HV|AB800|70-200f/4LIS|17-50f/2.8|150f/2.8Macro|50f/1.8
MacPro @ 8x2.8GHz, 10GB FBDDR2, 3TB HD :: MBP @ 2x2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, 320GB HD
Firehed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 19:22   #4
DorkSterr
Hakuna Matata
 
DorkSterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 627
DorkSterr has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firehed View Post
10Mbps = 1.25MBps. If you're seeing download speeds around a megabyte per second, then everything's fine. If it's a megabit per second, something is up.

Try speedtest.net - that measures in megabits, just like ISPs.
So speedtest.net measures megabits right? My download results are 5300megabits and up load is like 750 does this make sense?

EDIT:
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.0MHz 1.4250V | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2038MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS EAH6970 925MHz/1385MHz |RAID 0* 120GBX2 OCZ Vertex 3 (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Corsair Obsidian 800D
DorkSterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 19:31   #5
IanJackson
Photographer & Modder
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 368
IanJackson has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I WIN!!



o sorry and to answer your question no your results are not 5300 and 750 megabits. that from speedtest says your getting like .7 megabytes for upload and like 6.5 for download
IanJackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 19:40   #6
DorkSterr
Hakuna Matata
 
DorkSterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 627
DorkSterr has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So is my results correct for 10mbps ISP?
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.0MHz 1.4250V | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2038MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS EAH6970 925MHz/1385MHz |RAID 0* 120GBX2 OCZ Vertex 3 (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Corsair Obsidian 800D
DorkSterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 19:49   #7
MrWillyWonka
Chocolate computers galore!
Moderator
 
MrWillyWonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, Hants
Posts: 5,892
MrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DorkSterr View Post
So is my results correct for 10mbps ISP?
I find speedtest crap. Other than that your speeds seem pretty much what it should be.
MrWillyWonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 19:51   #8
yodasarmpit
***********
 
yodasarmpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Lothian , Scotland
Posts: 10,570
yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.yodasarmpit is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DorkSterr View Post
So is my results correct for 10mbps ISP?
If your 10mbs line were to be 100% efficient you would get a speed of 10,240kbs
No line is 100% efficient due to overheads at the exchange, the quality of your internal wiring and increased noise the further you are away from the exchange.
You are getting a speed of 6,449kbs, roughly 63% of the max stated speed, this is somewhat normal for your service (depending upon the factors mentioned).
__________________
The Rt. Hon. Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson - "Ping Pong is coming home"
yodasarmpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.