bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Apr 2009, 12:39   #1
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
Virgin's broadband claims "misleading"

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...s-misleading/1


The Advertisings Standards Authority has upheld a complaint regarding an advert by Virgin Media which compared its fibre optic broadband speeds to ADSL


Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:04   #2
proxess
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Zeist, Netherlands
Posts: 975
proxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for president
The virgin logo looks like Pringles. Everything Virgin sounds dodgy to me. I mean everything.
__________________
Laptop: i7 4800MQ 2.7GHz (~3.7GHz); 2x 4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600MHz; Nvidia 780M 4GB; Crucial M4 256GB SSD; Ubuntu 14.04 x64 and Windows 8.1 x64.
Ubuntu #8076 / Linux #429448
proxess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:06   #3
oasked
Stuck in the Mud
 
oasked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,783
oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.oasked is definitely a rep cheat.
Nice to see Virgin getting put in their place. Their adverts are misleading and I've had nothing but bad experiences with them - not a good ISP at all.
__________________
Intel Xeon X5650 @ Stock | 6GB Corsair DDR3 | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 | WD6401 AALS
Zotac GeForce 560Ti | Lian-Li PC65 | Corsair CX600M | Dell 2408WFP
oasked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:07   #4
TomH
Bwahahahahaha
 
TomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 751
TomH has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just another greedy ISP... Move along, nothing to see here.
__________________
Blog: full of inspirational geekism. Maybe.
StaffsLUG: Linux users group, Staffordshire.
TomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:10   #5
flibblesan
Destroyer
 
flibblesan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,402
flibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
I've been with Virgin since it was NYNEX back in the day. Never had a problem.
flibblesan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:19   #6
DriftCarl
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 531
DriftCarl has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
its true that 8meg from BT wasnt the best although i personally did get very close to the cap.
I changed to BE broadband yesterday on their adsl2 network and i have got a nice connection of 23 meg down 2.5 meg up.
The connection speed is great and it is better than what virgin could offer me if they could get me a connection. They dont connect flats so i cant go on cable anyway. Doesnt stop them ending me 2 or 3 leaflets a week though.

So Virgin should really start to advertise based on current connections, based on ADSL2, which so far offers a faster speed than that 20 meg fixed speed that they talk about and that is fact(in my case)

Comparing the new cable to ADSL is like comparing a Honda civic type-r with a standard bottom of the line honda, where really they should be comparing a type-r with a subaru impreza turbo.
Currently they are not really doign a fair comparison.
Compare cable to ADSL2 and you have a whole different situation
DriftCarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:22   #7
¦Cold¦
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
¦Cold¦ has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This is nothing compared to their overzealous traffic shaping policies.
¦Cold¦ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:24   #8
fodder
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 156
fodder has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Been with them since Telewest, only ever had problems since virgin took over. First they refused to replace the broken modem, even when they admitted they owned it and was their problem (all in one sentence!). A quick call to UK customer service to dump them fixed that. Then they introduced throttling (25% of normal speed) after you used a couple of gig of data during large chunks of the day. Stuffed me on a busy workday as I adjust/fix/assess files for graphic repro companies. You can do that amount of data on a 10mbs line in a very very short time. Oh, and forget contributing to the open source community by hosting Linus images for torrents, unless you throttle your upload to dial up speeds.

The only reason I stay with them is that 10mbs is 10mbs, going to a BT/Copper based alternative would cost me a lot more to get the same speed less reliably. BE or ADSL24 are always on the back burner though.
fodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:26   #9
Buzzons
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,744
Buzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitBuzzons is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Every single add that they've run in the last 2 years has had complaints made about it for being false. It's nice to see at least one of them getting banned. Also - people should stop calling the virgin fibre service "fibre to the home". it's not.
Buzzons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 13:32   #10
alick
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
alick has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
if isp's could support the bandwidth they ecsept money for there wouldn't be Fair Use Policy
alick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 14:11   #11
Hustler
Hypermodder
 
Hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Dark Side
Posts: 621
Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Cable Internet is a complete postcode lottery, if you happen to be in a lightly subscribed area where the UBR's (Routers) arent overloaded with subscribers, you are laughing, and should get the full speed most of the time.

More likely though, is that you will live in an area that has overloaded UBR's, in which case the service can be just plain terrible...and all of a sudden, 'old fashioned' copper wire networks seem like travelling by bullet train compared to what peak time usage is like on a crappy UBR fibre network.

Of course, theres no way to tell which side of the UBR fence you sit, until you have signed the fixed term contract...

I know this from experience...
Hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 14:12   #12
B1GBUD
A Paragon of Virtue.... Apparently
 
B1GBUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Guildford
Posts: 2,255
B1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftCarl
They dont connect flats so i cant go on cable anyway.
I've been a 20Mb Virgin customer for about a year and before that I was with NTL for several years, dial up then Cable. In both cases I was living in a second floor flat. I've not had a single problem with them (apart from the occaisional V+ box rebooting but that's a different matter).

I can't speak for your situation, just wanted to give my 2 pence.
__________________
Teh unofficial Bit-Tech proof reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teelzebub View Post
( Kid you dont want either only bud is any good lol )
B1GBUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 15:34   #13
theevilelephant
Ultramodder
 
theevilelephant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aberystwyth
Posts: 1,334
theevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysistheevilelephant can run Crysis
My parents have been with virgin for about 8 years and are lucky enough to be in a cable area. They get 10Mb all day everday with no problems.

I on the other hand have to make do with their pathetic adsl service. Their service cuts out randomly and most annoyingly they seem to consider "peak" time as something absurd like 10am-2am, so i am being continually throttled even when I havent downloaded ANYTHING.

The best example of their service was a few weeks ago when they inexplicably capped our internet at 5kb/s yes thats right, 5! An hour on the phone to "customer support" ended in them denying anything was wrong and telling me to reboot the router 4 times in a row to magically fix it.... When this failed to fix the problem (what a shocker!) the customer service person actually said "i don't know what the problem is, or how to fix it"... right.... thanks. 2 weeks later the internet magically went back to normal... yay
__________________
Core i5 2500K || GA-Z68XP-UD3P || 8Gb 1600 LP Corsair Vengeance || Nvidia 570 GTX || Crucial M4 256Gb
theevilelephant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 15:50   #14
Dreaming
Supermodder
 
Dreaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The University of York
Posts: 589
Dreaming has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftCarl View Post
its true that 8meg from BT wasnt the best although i personally did get very close to the cap.
I changed to BE broadband yesterday on their adsl2 network and i have got a nice connection of 23 meg down 2.5 meg up.
The connection speed is great and it is better than what virgin could offer me if they could get me a connection. They dont connect flats so i cant go on cable anyway. Doesnt stop them ending me 2 or 3 leaflets a week though.

So Virgin should really start to advertise based on current connections, based on ADSL2, which so far offers a faster speed than that 20 meg fixed speed that they talk about and that is fact(in my case)

Comparing the new cable to ADSL is like comparing a Honda civic type-r with a standard bottom of the line honda, where really they should be comparing a type-r with a subaru impreza turbo.
Currently they are not really doign a fair comparison.
Compare cable to ADSL2 and you have a whole different situation
Cable could go much faster than ADSL but virgin see no financial incentive, I think they have the capacity for bandwidths up to about 200MB/s if they pulled their finger out. It suits them to keep the market like it is currently though, as in 3/4 years time their 200mb service will cost £50 a month rather than if they released it now they would have to bring the price down in that time.
__________________
Dreaming

C2D E6300 @ 2.8 | | Abit IP35 Pro | | 4GB Corsair XMS2 800 | | BFG 9800GT OC 1GB | | Antec NeoHE 550 | | Lian Li PC A05B (with top blowhole mod) | | LG 32LH4000 + Samsung 226BW 22"
Dreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 16:23   #15
Venares
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Venares has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have 10mb Virgin and always get the 10mb they provide and seldom have any problems.
Unfortunatly it would be nice if I could ACTUALY utilise that 10mb line for more than 15 minutes before my connection gets throttled back to the stone age.
Its akin to handing someone the keys to a Ferrari and then telling them they cant drive it faster than 5mph, its bloody stupid.
Venares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 17:38   #16
Skiddywinks
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Caerwys, North Wales
Posts: 914
Skiddywinks has yet to learn the way of the DremelSkiddywinks has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This broadband is all very confusing. Next year, me and 3 mates are moving in together for our second years of Uni, and we live in a fibre optic enabled area. At first I was looking at Virgin's 50MB/s service, but if they can not assure me I will always get that speed, I don't see the point paying for it.

What would you guys reccomend? Anyone with any experience in shopping for the fastest reliable connection out there? We are all pretty heavy users, and the bill will be split 4 ways, so it doesn't really matter if it costs alot.
Skiddywinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 17:43   #17
M4RTIN
Ultramodder
 
M4RTIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,259
M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddywinks View Post
What would you guys reccomend? Anyone with any experience in shopping for the fastest reliable connection out there? We are all pretty heavy users, and the bill will be split 4 ways, so it doesn't really matter if it costs alot.
i'd recommend *be, thats who i use. near enough their 24mb promise (around 20-22) and its only 25 quid
M4RTIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 17:56   #18
Cobalt
Supermodder
 
Cobalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 309
Cobalt has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
BE are pretty much the best ISP in the UK. I do have a problem with latency at the moment but thats because of a with the house, not the connection. The modem they give you is crap though. Ours kept overheating.
Cobalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 18:10   #19
reflux
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
reflux has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I've been impressed with Virgin the past year. The throttling annoys me, but the 99% uptime just about makes up for it.

Far better than BT, who I had last year, or Sky, who my mate uses.
reflux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2009, 18:20   #20
cpemma
Ecky thump
 
cpemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: S.Yorkshire, OK
Posts: 12,329
cpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4RTIN View Post
i'd recommend *be, thats who i use. near enough their 24mb promise (around 20-22) and its only 25 quid
Your statement is as misleading as anything Virgin put out. With any copper system you'll get fairly close to the maximum only if you live on top of the exchange and have good wiring in between. There are plenty of people on the Be* forum getting very much less than 20Mbps on a LLU plan, distance is everything.

I'm on O2, advertised as "up to 20Mbps", only a few hundred yards from the exchange but I've never seen better than 18Mbps. Not that I'm grumbling.

__________________
Nobody's perfect.
But being a Yorkshireman is as close as you can get.

Last edited by cpemma; 10th Apr 2009 at 18:51.
cpemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.