bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Feb 2011, 09:49   #41
G0UDG
helping others costs nothing
 
G0UDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kidsgrove,Stoke On Trent
Posts: 1,217
G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.
wierd I completed 3 units in gpu2 and my first big adv last night on my 980x and 2 x 8800 gtx xxx gpu's but my 24hr average says only 82 points im using smp.exe for the cpu and have entered my passcode for the bonus points,can anyone help Im not sure if ive configured it right as Im an idiot when it comes to tech things in pc's lol
__________________
Hard to explain to someone who has no clue. Or doesn't believe you. It's a daily struggle being in pain or feeling sick on the inside while you look fine on the outside. Please put this as your signature for at least 1 hour if you or someone you know has an invisible illness (Pancreatitis, Crohn's, PTSD, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, Diabetes, LUPUS, Fibromyalgia, MS,Lupus, ME, Arthritis, Cancer, Heart Disease, Epilepsy, Autism,M.D. Evan Syndrome etc.) " Never judge what you don't understand.
G0UDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 10:53   #42
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,869
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by G0UDG View Post
wierd I completed 3 units in gpu2 and my first big adv last night on my 980x and 2 x 8800 gtx xxx gpu's but my 24hr average says only 82 points im using smp.exe for the cpu and have entered my passcode for the bonus points,can anyone help Im not sure if ive configured it right as Im an idiot when it comes to tech things in pc's lol
Have you done 10 SMP2 units with your passkey yet?
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 10:58   #43
G0UDG
helping others costs nothing
 
G0UDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kidsgrove,Stoke On Trent
Posts: 1,217
G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.
not yet m8 on the second one now its at 60% Im guessing from that my points dont register until ive done 10 units then
__________________
Hard to explain to someone who has no clue. Or doesn't believe you. It's a daily struggle being in pain or feeling sick on the inside while you look fine on the outside. Please put this as your signature for at least 1 hour if you or someone you know has an invisible illness (Pancreatitis, Crohn's, PTSD, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, Diabetes, LUPUS, Fibromyalgia, MS,Lupus, ME, Arthritis, Cancer, Heart Disease, Epilepsy, Autism,M.D. Evan Syndrome etc.) " Never judge what you don't understand.
G0UDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 11:07   #44
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,869
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by G0UDG View Post
not yet m8 on the second one now its at 60% Im guessing from that my points dont register until ive done 10 units then
Until you have 10 Passkey'd SMP's under your belt you only get base points for units (which aren't much)
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 11:12   #45
G0UDG
helping others costs nothing
 
G0UDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kidsgrove,Stoke On Trent
Posts: 1,217
G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.
Ah roger that ill bear that in mind tnx saspro
__________________
Hard to explain to someone who has no clue. Or doesn't believe you. It's a daily struggle being in pain or feeling sick on the inside while you look fine on the outside. Please put this as your signature for at least 1 hour if you or someone you know has an invisible illness (Pancreatitis, Crohn's, PTSD, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, Diabetes, LUPUS, Fibromyalgia, MS,Lupus, ME, Arthritis, Cancer, Heart Disease, Epilepsy, Autism,M.D. Evan Syndrome etc.) " Never judge what you don't understand.
G0UDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 16:54   #46
davebodger
My Dremel's bigger than your Dremel
 
davebodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
davebodger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
high single unit points

Hi all, recently I've seen some people rocketing up the points ladder with single work units returning 80,000+ points each, overtaking me like I'm standing still.
Does anyone know how this is done?

Are they just using overclocked hex-core cpus, or some special GPU?
Is Linux that much more efficient?
Or do I need to buy a mainframe now just to keep up??

I'm running an overclocked i-7 920 @ 3.9GHz under Windows Vista and only get around 6,500 points per (921 point) SMP unit.

Dave.
davebodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 16:59   #47
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebodger View Post
Hi all, recently I've seen some people rocketing up the points ladder with single work units returning 80,000+ points each, overtaking me like I'm standing still.
Does anyone know how this is done?

Are they just using overclocked hex-core cpus, or some special GPU?
Is Linux that much more efficient?
Or do I need to buy a mainframe now just to keep up??

I'm running an overclocked i-7 920 @ 3.9GHz under Windows Vista and only get around 6,500 points per (921 point) SMP unit.

Dave.
They are running a special type of work unit, called BigADV. These are huge work units that only overclocked (3.8GHz+) i7s can complete in time. They take like 2 days of solid folding to complete. You get big credits for these work units, and many of our top folders crunch BigADVs with i7 quads or hexacores.
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 17:00   #48
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&u=539714

Example of a bigadv folder.
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 17:39   #49
davebodger
My Dremel's bigger than your Dremel
 
davebodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
davebodger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4ZeD View Post
They are running a special type of work unit, called BigADV. These are huge work units that only overclocked (3.8GHz+) i7s can complete in time. They take like 2 days of solid folding to complete. You get big credits for these work units, and many of our top folders crunch BigADVs with i7 quads or hexacores.
Thanks for that, but these guys seem to get them continuously.
I too process BigADV units but only get 10,500 points for them (the 1395 point units) and I receive a mix of units. I did not think it was possible to set up the client to only receive BigADV units. Is it?

Dave.
davebodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 18:27   #50
StreetSam
Supermodder
 
StreetSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 250
StreetSam has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebodger View Post
These guys seem to get them continuously.I too process BigADV units but only get 10,500 points for them (the 1395 point units) and I receive a mix of units. I did not think it was possible to set up the client to only receive BigADV units. Is it?
Dave.
Yes you add the -bigadv flag. The 1395pt WU you refer to is not a BigAdv WU.
__________________
Folding stats
Current Folding@Home stats
StreetSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 21:13   #51
davebodger
My Dremel's bigger than your Dremel
 
davebodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
davebodger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetSam View Post
Yes you add the -bigadv flag. The 1395pt WU you refer to is not a BigAdv WU.
Thanks very much StreetSam.

I've added that flag now.

The biggest units I had before were the 6040 ones.

I had (obviously erroniously) thought that setting "big" in advmethods in the config was the same thing.

Dave.
davebodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2011, 22:09   #52
MrGumby
CPC 464 User
 
MrGumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 1,137
MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MrGumby is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Ph4ZeD thats me ya linked . Ive now got my 2600k @ 4.2 24/7 with a couple of hours gaming each night. Just dropped my graphics card down to slot three in my mobo and temps have dropped nicely with it.
Also should be swopping out my hd6970 for a 560 SOC next week so hopefully there will be a little bump in ppd.
__________________
Folding stats
MrGumby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2011, 09:53   #53
G0UDG
helping others costs nothing
 
G0UDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kidsgrove,Stoke On Trent
Posts: 1,217
G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.G0UDG is definitely a rep cheat.
Are units with 500,000 steps big adv and also where in SMP.EME do I type -bigadv Im an idiot when it comes to setting up folding clients as saspro will tell you Ive asked on here as I dont want to become a pain in the preverbial to saspro by constantly pestering him for help,Btw many thanks for you help so far saspro matey very much appreciated your a star and a gentleman. As I have disabilities my short term memory stinks causing me to forget many things so please be patient with me tnx all

for info I am running SMP.EXE (not sure if its configured correctly as im getting low points even with passcode and over 10 bigadvs done)my pc is rampage 3 ex motherboard,Intel 980x cpu @ 4.2 ghz and 6 gig corsair dominator gt 2000 mhz CMT6GX3M3A2000C8 ram,with 2 x samsung f3 in raid 0 config im waiting for crucial to release the replacements for thier c300 series ssd's, windows 7 ultimate 64 bit operating system
__________________
Hard to explain to someone who has no clue. Or doesn't believe you. It's a daily struggle being in pain or feeling sick on the inside while you look fine on the outside. Please put this as your signature for at least 1 hour if you or someone you know has an invisible illness (Pancreatitis, Crohn's, PTSD, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, Diabetes, LUPUS, Fibromyalgia, MS,Lupus, ME, Arthritis, Cancer, Heart Disease, Epilepsy, Autism,M.D. Evan Syndrome etc.) " Never judge what you don't understand.

Last edited by G0UDG; 10th Mar 2011 at 10:24.
G0UDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2011, 13:03   #54
narwen
narwen
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 387
narwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
-smp -bigadv -verbosity 9 after the .exe
__________________
CPU 2600K | MB ASUS P67PRO | MEM 16MB | GC 570 | WIN 7
narwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 02:25   #55
discovertrance.com
What's a Dremel?
 
discovertrance.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 6
discovertrance.com has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Blades

We are very new to this, the systems we own are more bandwidth intense than anything else which means the cpus tend to sit on 0% usage. So just threw 6 of our uk blade servers on to this folding project hoping stanford can do something good with it.

So any ideas what the best setup is for this, I think we are dontating 112 xeon class cores total.

all advice welcome.
discovertrance.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 13:58   #56
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Welcome to the forum and team discovertrance.com, if you do join our folding team you'll be making a fantastic contribution to medical science

As you've already got the servers up and running doing a day job, the best setup depends on what OS you're running. Also how much RAM does each server in the cluster have?
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2011, 14:28   #57
Tangster
Butt-kicking for goodness!
 
Tangster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 2,942
Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.
Another load of blade servers! CPC&Bit-tech know how to get to them. Great radio station as well.
__________________
Uni Box:i7 2700K@5.3GHz|EK Supreme LT+Coolstream XT 360|16GB HyperX DDR3@1866MHz|EVGA GTX780 ti+EK FC780ti|MSI P67A-GD55||M5 512|BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 750W|U3011|Raven RV-02E|KBT Pure+Perixx MX2000 + Intuos 4M
Audio: PC->TosLink->TEAC UD-H01->Schiit Asgard-> Fostex TH600|InEar LivePro 3|Truth B2030A Monitors
BT Feedback
Tangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2011, 00:52   #58
Leroyingo
Multimodder
 
Leroyingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 178
Leroyingo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
How much of a difference in points does running the -bigadv on an i7-920 @ 3.8 (or anything someone can compare) as opposed to running standard projects.
Leroyingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2011, 14:36   #59
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroyingo View Post
How much of a difference in points does running the -bigadv on an i7-920 @ 3.8 (or anything someone can compare) as opposed to running standard projects.
It's been years since I've run the standard SMP CPU client, so I honestly can't remember. You're probably looking at least a 2-3x points increase though.
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2011, 17:39   #60
holzj17
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Uni. Sussex!!!
Posts: 205
holzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysisholzj17 can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroyingo View Post
How much of a difference in points does running the -bigadv on an i7-920 @ 3.8 (or anything someone can compare) as opposed to running standard projects.
standard projects will net you around 8k max with bonus points. bigadv at 3.8 roughly 60k+ running 24/7
__________________
Folding stats

Quote:
Originally Posted by mvagusta View Post
A new girl is like a new motor. They need to be lubed up, slowly cranked over just a tad, more lube, more cranking and lube, and then you can fire her up, listen to her purr for a bit... and once she's warmed up you can start to make her roar
holzj17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:43.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.