bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Apr 2009, 03:49   #21
The_Beast
I like wood ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,379
The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Never mind my questions, last night I downloaded and installed the GPU folding program too

I'm just doing my part
__________________
- i7 3770k - MSI Z77A-GD65 - EVGA GTX 570 - 8Gb G.Skill Sniper (1.25v) - Fractal R3 Black - Corsair H50 - Corsair 750HX - Samsung 830 128Gb SSD - 6 Samsung F4EG 2TB - 2 WD Black 1TB - 2 WD Black 750GB - Dell UltraSharp U2410 - WASD V1 Custom - IBM Model M SSK - KBC Poker (Ergo-Clears) - Logitech Mx518 & G500 - Audio Technica AD700 - Logitech Z4 - Windows 7 Pro -
The_Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 09:58   #22
Hiren
mind control
 
Hiren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The 2nd Floor
Posts: 6,126
Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.Hiren is definitely a rep cheat.
Just switched my work machine over to the new team joint team. Not much but should help.
__________________
Twitter | Last.fm | DeviantArt | Flickr
Hiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 12:52   #23
dark_avenger
Raspberry Pi owner
 
dark_avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,069
dark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysisdark_avenger can run Crysis
bit anoying about the team change but ah well.
changed my gpu and 3 cpu's over now.
dark_avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 14:41   #24
leexgx
CPC hang out zone (i Fix pcs i do )
 
leexgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 1,239
leexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim S View Post
The bit-tech folding team was never really pushed officially, but we're going to be spending a lot of time pushing the combined team. Right now it's only really being pushed in the forum, but with a front page facelift planned for later this year, it'll be something we'll actively push on the site as well.

I'll see if we can do anything in the interim though to raise awareness outside of the forums (it needs to be something on every page, really speaking, as bit-tech is quite a hungry beast when it comes to content - there's a lot being published every week).
sig for folding TAG needs to work in all parts of the forum or have to resort to haveing no sig but pasting are own sigs into an norm post, like some do (and i after this)



but remove the sig from bottem keep basic text (as it does not work in other threads i not need to remove the folding img tag from my sig) but its best if its fixed sooner then later or we be seeing folding sigs later on, this is all helping for cure for stuff so should work on all parts of the fourm (did on the custom pc fourms)
__________________
i7-920 (4Ghz) <> Titian ferna <> Rampage extreme III<> GTX480 <> 6gb 3x2gb OCZ Gold 1600 <> SSD M225 256gb / segate .11 1.5TB <> X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty <> TK 1000w Toughpower <win7 x64> GreenFrog Computers Warrington

Last edited by leexgx; 27th Apr 2009 at 14:51.
leexgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 15:01   #25
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by leexgx View Post
sig for folding TAG needs to work in all parts of the forum or have to resort to haveing no sig but pasting are own sigs into an norm post, like some do (and i after this)



but remove the sig from bottem keep basic text (as it does not work in other threads i not need to remove the folding img tag from my sig) but its best if its fixed sooner then later or we be seeing folding sigs later on, this is all helping for cure for stuff so should work on all parts of the fourm (did on the custom pc fourms)
The forum-wide 'no images in signatures' rule has been on bit-tech's forum since Day One back in March 2001 and we are not about to change that. We have made an exception for this part of the forum, but we are unlikely to roll it out across the rest of the forum.

This is because (a) signature images clutter the forum and disrupt the browsing experience, (b) they slow down page loads - you can often sit waiting for a dead image to load from a server that no longer exists and there's nothing more annoying than that, and (c) I don't want to deal with the uproar from the rest of the community.

This is a rule voted for by the community many years ago and it's one of the longest-standing rules on our forums, so it's not about to change. Sorry.

If you paste the image into posts in other forums, it's liable to be removed by a moderator because it's actually against the rules. You've been around since 2006 so you should know that.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 15:52   #26
JackOfAll
Hypermodder
 
JackOfAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 671
JackOfAll has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim S View Post
This is because .... (b) they slow down page loads - you can often sit waiting for a dead image to load from a server that no longer exists and there's nothing more annoying than that
Great! Does that mean you'll be removing all the links to ad.uk.doubleclick.net? That seems to slow down the page loads? (Tongue firmly in cheek.)
__________________
Folding on Linux: Fedora 10 & 11 x86_64 / nVidia 180.60 driver / CUDA 2.1

JackOfAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 16:04   #27
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackOfAll View Post
Great! Does that mean you'll be removing all the links to ad.uk.doubleclick.net? That seems to slow down the page loads? (Tongue firmly in cheek.)
If it didn't impact the editorial budgets, I'd love to run the site ad free.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 16:12   #28
JackOfAll
Hypermodder
 
JackOfAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 671
JackOfAll has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim S View Post
If it didn't impact the editorial budgets, I'd love to run the site ad free.
I'll take that as a 'no' then. Chuckle. A bit more variety would be nice. I'm bored with the O2 ads. They're not very entertaining.
__________________
Folding on Linux: Fedora 10 & 11 x86_64 / nVidia 180.60 driver / CUDA 2.1

JackOfAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2009, 21:28   #29
thefriscokid
why s**t so crazy?
 
thefriscokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 889
thefriscokid has yet to learn the way of the Dremelthefriscokid has yet to learn the way of the Dremelthefriscokid has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
added my ps3 (its only really used for watching bds and dvds)
__________________
i5 2500K | 8 GB Corsair Vengence | MSI GTX560TI | Asus P8P67 Pro B3 | Crucial M4 64 GB SSD | 2x Samsung F3 1TB | Antec TP 750W | Lian Li A05 | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Logitech Z-5500 5.1 THX | Filco Ninja TKL | Razer DeathAdder | Dell U2410M | Senn PC360
battlelog: thefriscokid - bf3s - xbox live: JAS82
thefriscokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 20:01   #30
Djayness
phwupupupup
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,000
Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.
Awesome, got my main comp and the mineral oil comp folding 24/7 now (the 4870x2 has something to do for once....)

Using the same username for different computers accumulates your score higher im guessing?
Djayness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 20:33   #31
ArthurBuse
CustomBitChimps member
 
ArthurBuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 255
ArthurBuse has yet to learn the way of the DremelArthurBuse has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djayness View Post
Awesome, got my main comp and the mineral oil comp folding 24/7 now (the 4870x2 has something to do for once....)

Using the same username for different computers accumulates your score higher im guessing?
Yes, using the same username for different computers scores faster.

Er, mineral oil computer? I am guessing you cool it with mineral oil.
Is the oil in pipes and radiators, or is the whole thing in a fish tank
full of oil? (Yes, it is in a tank, I just noticed the link in your sig.
I will read the posts now).

There was a crazy Denmark guy once tried to water-proof an old PC with
varnish then put it in a fish tank of water. It booted, but there was no
video output. Aqua Computer
Choose Aqua Computer from the menu on the left.

Last edited by ArthurBuse; 5th May 2009 at 20:36. Reason: noticed the link
ArthurBuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 20:41   #32
Djayness
phwupupupup
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,000
Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.Djayness is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurBuse View Post
Yes, using the same username for different computers scores faster.

Er, mineral oil computer? I am guessing you cool it with mineral oil.
Is the oil in pipes and radiators, or is the whole thing in a fish tank
full of oil? (Yes, it is in a tank, I just noticed the link in your sig.
I will read the posts now).

There was a crazy Denmark guy once tried to water-proof an old PC with
varnish then put it in a fish tank of water. It booted, but there was no
video output. Aqua Computer
Choose Aqua Computer from the menu on the left.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PHKLkNLlXs
Thats the computer, our demo build! It will be running FAH 24/7 ^^
Djayness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2009, 12:26   #33
Pike
Uncle Arthur...
 
Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: t'North
Posts: 17
Pike has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
OK, joined.
Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2009, 15:37   #34
Votick
My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
 
Votick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 1,853
Votick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Well I joined the team a while back but wasn't serious about folding but I have taken an interest in it again now.

Running the:
GPU Client on a 8600gt
GPU Client on a 9600gt
CPU Client on AMD Athlon x2 2.2Ghz

And my friend is letting me use his PS3 too
Votick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2009, 16:01   #35
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,875
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
A big Welcome Aboard to all the new faces in the team, don't forget the Chimps Challenge
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 03:17   #36
woodshop
UnSeenly
 
woodshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Depths Of Hades
Posts: 1,408
woodshop has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
There, Turned on the PS3
__________________
Folding stats
woodshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2009, 23:43   #37
patchcable
Preparing to commence simulation
 
patchcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 43
patchcable has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i tried to install the GPU client for my 7800gt! i guess its too old to add a few ppd to my CPU?
patchcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 00:57   #38
Unicorn
Uniform November India
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,773
Unicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by patchcable View Post
i tried to install the GPU client for my 7800gt! i guess its too old to add a few ppd to my CPU?
Yep unfortunately the GPU2 client is only compatible with Nvidia GPU's that support CUDA, which is the Geforce 8 series and later.

Seriously, how chuffed are Nvidia that the F@H project exists?!
__________________

"For every stalwart bit-tech-worthy tech out there, another 2 cretinous arse-scratchers are out there pulling your patches and reconfiguring your ****." - Krikkit
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 11:01   #39
patchcable
Preparing to commence simulation
 
patchcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 43
patchcable has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yea well played by Nvidia!

I haven't upgraded my PC since i spent a fortune on it about 4 years ago but its definitely due an upgrade. I think I will pick up the CPU, memory and motherboard from the May premium player list and save up for a pair of watercooled GTX 295's.

Its a pain in the butt though because I spent a lot of time water cooling every component on my rig making it really difficult to upgrade any single component. At least I haven't had to open it up and it's cool and quiet and heavily overclocked.
patchcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 12:24   #40
makkone-
Gentlemen.
 
makkone-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 19
makkone- has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Count me in!

EDIT: Installed on my work computer, gonna get some folding action to my gaming rig and to my server aswell
__________________
PC: E5200 | Abit IP35-E | PNY 8800GT+Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 |Mushkin XP2-6400 2x2Gb | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | Razer DeathAdder | Apple alu-keyboard

Macbook Pro | Dell Optiplex GX270 as server.

Last edited by makkone-; 28th May 2009 at 12:31.
makkone- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
howto

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:06.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.