bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th May 2009, 20:14   #41
patchcable
Preparing to commence simulation
 
patchcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 43
patchcable has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I知 considering proposing this to my workplace but I feel they will be a little cautious due to bandwidth constraints. I wonder if there is some promotional material available that could persuade them.
__________________
"I was able to look out the window to see this incredible sight of the whole circle of the Earth. Oceans were crystal blue, the land was brown, and the clouds and the snow were pure white. And that jewel of Earth was just hung up in the blackness of space" Charlie Duke Apollo 16

patchcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 22:26   #42
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,888
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by patchcable View Post
I知 considering proposing this to my workplace but I feel they will be a little cautious due to bandwidth constraints. I wonder if there is some promotional material available that could persuade them.
Bandwidth use is minimal. It'll be the heat & fan noise that annoys people
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2009, 00:06   #43
patchcable
Preparing to commence simulation
 
patchcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 43
patchcable has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
And i guess its going to age the CPU's if they run at full load. We have about 50 odd machines in one room can you imagine how much hotter it is likely to get in there!
__________________
"I was able to look out the window to see this incredible sight of the whole circle of the Earth. Oceans were crystal blue, the land was brown, and the clouds and the snow were pure white. And that jewel of Earth was just hung up in the blackness of space" Charlie Duke Apollo 16

patchcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2009, 00:35   #44
Unicorn
Uniform November India
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,858
Unicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by patchcable View Post
And i guess its going to age the CPU's if they run at full load. We have about 50 odd machines in one room can you imagine how much hotter it is likely to get in there!
Does it really age the CPU's though? Any long term folders got any input on this? I really don't wanna kill my hardware
__________________

"For every stalwart bit-tech-worthy tech out there, another 2 cretinous arse-scratchers are out there pulling your patches and reconfiguring your ****." - Krikkit
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2009, 00:48   #45
patchcable
Preparing to commence simulation
 
patchcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 43
patchcable has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Its the heat that shortens the lifespan nothing else i suspect, if the temps don't increase much from the normal use then i doubt it will make much difference. My processor is overclocked as much as i can push her and running 100% load but iv managed the heat well. I doubt i could say the same for the machines at work, i think they would fry!
__________________
"I was able to look out the window to see this incredible sight of the whole circle of the Earth. Oceans were crystal blue, the land was brown, and the clouds and the snow were pure white. And that jewel of Earth was just hung up in the blackness of space" Charlie Duke Apollo 16

patchcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2009, 05:32   #46
boiled_elephant
I actually like Doom 3.
 
boiled_elephant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,616
boiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyanboiled_elephant is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Dang, I'm still folding for the old BiT team. I feel cheated by the move can't you merge stats from the old team, or redirect WUs done for it to the new one, or something? Because the old team still exists. If we're serious about the change it should either be a redirect or be deleted altogether.
__________________
In adolescence we were encouraged to pursue whatever we enjoyed most and were told that life would
reward our enthusiasm with stability and success. But the world respects economics, not hobbyism.
Occasionally, your hobby becomes your job, and you do it incessantly until all joy evaporates.
Normally, though, your hobbies are profitless and you spend your youth cramming them
into the pauses between 8-hour shifts of restless tedium, waiting for retirement.
boiled_elephant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jun 2009, 23:36   #47
Odinn
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 43
Odinn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just saying hello

Hi guys, Just joined the folding team. only using my ps3 at the moment but hoping to build a folding rig from old components!
Odinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jun 2009, 23:42   #48
coolamasta
Folding@Home CC Captain 2010/11/12
 
coolamasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sunny Brizzol!
Posts: 2,497
coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.
Welcome aboard mate what components you got to put towards good use then?
__________________
Folding statsFolding stats
My Main Rigs:~ H2O'd i7 3770K @ 4.5 - 16GB - H2O'd GTX 670 | Asus Z9PE-W8, EP-Xeon 2670 @ 3.2 - 16GB
| ~~~ My Current Dual EP-Xeon 2670 Project ~~~ | ~~~ My Mitsubishi Evo Track Car Project ~~~ |
coolamasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2009, 15:04   #49
Christopher N. Lew
Folding in memory of my father
 
Christopher N. Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,344
Christopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by boiled_elephant View Post
Dang, I'm still folding for the old BiT team. I feel cheated by the move can't you merge stats from the old team, or redirect WUs done for it to the new one, or something? Because the old team still exists. If we're serious about the change it should either be a redirect or be deleted altogether.
Once points have been awarded at Stanford then they are fixed to both the username and teamname. They cannot be transferred, even for global name changes. Stanford Policy.
__________________
Folding stats
Christopher N. Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2009, 13:46   #50
euroned
Modder
 
euroned's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 56
euroned has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just dl the cpu client after being a subscriber for few years, try and do some good with the spare cpu clocks!

Btw thanks for the guide to get started, very easy to follow!

Cheers

Ned
euroned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2009, 14:01   #51
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,888
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Welcome aboard matey
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jun 2009, 23:40   #52
Vince_Kinslow
Folding Millionaire
 
Vince_Kinslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 218
Vince_Kinslow has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by euroned View Post
Just dl the cpu client after being a subscriber for few years, try and do some good with the spare cpu clocks!

Btw thanks for the guide to get started, very easy to follow!

Cheers

Ned

Ditto welcome fellow Dinosaur (Avatar)
__________________
Folding Millionaire and Sleeping CPChimp until 2010
Vince_Kinslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jul 2009, 14:18   #53
MrWillyWonka
Chocolate computers galore!
Moderator
 
MrWillyWonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, Hants
Posts: 5,892
MrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Right, I can't seem to figure out how to get Folding Running properly on my computer as CPU usage seems to be zero. Do I need a client for each core or does the application take advantage of each core?

Will add another Q6600 @ 2.6Ghz, an Athlon 64 @ 2.8Ghz, and 4 Intel Xeon Quad (that is four lots of quads) @ 3.2Ghz and I suppose my graphics cards.
MrWillyWonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jul 2009, 14:53   #54
phoenicis
Retired Chimp
 
phoenicis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 490
phoenicis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWillyWonka View Post
Right, I can't seem to figure out how to get Folding Running properly on my computer as CPU usage seems to be zero. Do I need a client for each core or does the application take advantage of each core?

Will add another Q6600 @ 2.6Ghz, an Athlon 64 @ 2.8Ghz, and 4 Intel Xeon Quad (that is four lots of quads) @ 3.2Ghz and I suppose my graphics cards.
Not sure which client you've downloaded but the best output for CPU folding right now is running a Linux SMP client from within a virtual machine (assuming your existing host operating system is Windows).

The simplest way to do this is by using notfred's SMP utility. Instructions here.

Download the GPU console client for your graphics card, always ensuring that it is set to a higher priority than any CPU client using prifinitty 2. Guide here.

Any problems, then it's probably best to start a separate thread. Mods huh, always breaking forum protocol

You should get some serious points from the listed kit
__________________
Folding stats
phoenicis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jul 2009, 15:07   #55
MrWillyWonka
Chocolate computers galore!
Moderator
 
MrWillyWonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southampton, Hants
Posts: 5,892
MrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the DremelMrWillyWonka has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenicis View Post
Not sure which client you've downloaded but the best output for CPU folding right now is running a Linux SMP client from within a virtual machine (assuming your existing host operating system is Windows).

The simplest way to do this is by using notfred's SMP utility. Instructions here.

Download the GPU console client for your graphics card, always ensuring that it is set to a higher priority than any CPU client using prifinitty 2. Guide here.

Any problems, then it's probably best to start a separate thread. Mods huh, always breaking forum protocol

You should get some serious points from the listed kit
Bah, I just installed 4 consoles on this computer and got it running. Will try this method though. Can you run F@H without displaying the console?
MrWillyWonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jul 2009, 15:38   #56
phoenicis
Retired Chimp
 
phoenicis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 490
phoenicis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWillyWonka View Post
Bah, I just installed 4 consoles on this computer and got it running. Will try this method though. Can you run F@H without displaying the console?
The notfred approach will net several times the output of the standard uni-processor client. You'll be looking at 4-5K+ for a Q6600. You will need two instances of The VMware client per quad because each only uses 2 CPU cores. Not aware of any way to run these as a service rather than a console.

You can with the standard GPU and uni-proc clients though. Download the systray rather than the console versions.
__________________
Folding stats
phoenicis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2009, 17:09   #57
Burnout21
Is the daddy!
 
Burnout21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bindi's cupboard
Posts: 8,555
Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
just joined the good fight, only a opty 165 clocked at 2GHz for now , but it works dam it.
__________________
Project log Mocha70
Workstation: Q6600, DFI P45-T2RS Plus, 8GB Reaper HPC, Quadro FX3450, 60Gb Vertex 2
Game: i7 930, GA-X58-USB3, 12GB Kingston, GTX280, 1Tb Seagate, WC
Burnout21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2009, 13:55   #58
jaxson50
GPU Folding@home Team member
 
jaxson50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
jaxson50 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I joined a few weeks ago. I use the GPU client it seems to work well. My PC never shuts off though but its a good cause. I read the folding article and wanted to do my part.

Last time I checked I was 103,XXX slowly rising in the standings. Will get stats into sig someday. I help cause I figure one day I'll probably need it myself!
jaxson50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2009, 14:10   #59
JackOfAll
Hypermodder
 
JackOfAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 671
JackOfAll has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Welcome and thanks for joining us!
__________________
Folding on Linux: Fedora 10 & 11 x86_64 / nVidia 180.60 driver / CUDA 2.1

JackOfAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2009, 00:58   #60
MrJay
You are always where you want to be
 
MrJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,002
MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.MrJay is definitely a rep cheat.
I have added my new Phenom 955 to the cause!
__________________
Main Ace Ecco 250 - i5-3330 - Gigabyte H67MA-UD2H-B3 - 8GB G-Skill Ripjaws 1333mhz - XFX R9 270 2GB - 250GB SanDisk Extreme SSD - 1TB WD Green -

HTPC Silverstone Milo - A4 -5300 APU Undervolted - Biostar HI-FI A85SC - 4GB Corsair Ram Overclocked to 1600mhz - 64GB Toshiba X-Gale SSD
MrJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
howto

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:24.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.