bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th May 2009, 12:28   #1
Sifter3000
I used to be somebody
Moderator
 
Sifter3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The South Sea Bubble
Posts: 1,766
Sifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can I Go Solo With Windows 7?

http://www.bit-tech.net/blog/2009/05...ith-windows-7/

__________________
The Rt Hon Alex Watson.
Dennis Publishing Emerging Platforms, bit and CPC alumni.

My weblog is The Wired Jester.
Photos on Flickr.
Sifter3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 12:57   #2
Paradigm Shifter
de nihilo nihil fit
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,638
Paradigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the DremelParadigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Nah, that can't be it, it's too simple! With nothing else left to try I gave it a whirl, and blow me it worked. For some reason the RC1 ISO seems to be very picky.
That's the first thing I check with any burned disc. It's the most basic issue there is, and 99.9% of the time, it solves the problem. In fact, I've had it happen so many times with linux or Windows betas that I rarely burn ISOs faster than 2x. Sure, it takes a while but it's better than getting issues like you experienced.

I've not tried Firewire with Windows 7 yet, though. Will give it a try and see what happens.
__________________
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz | 24GB Corsair 1600MHz | Gigabyte G1.Killer Guerilla | GTX680 Surround | 3TB | 5760x1200+1920x1080
Paradigm Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 13:34   #3
Hamish
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 3,649
Hamish has yet to learn the way of the DremelHamish has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
installing off a usb thumb stick is definately the way to do it imo
dvd sucks :\
Hamish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 13:45   #4
DragunovHUN
Go ahead, spell my name wrong.
 
DragunovHUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,925
DragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming SaiyanDragunovHUN is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamish
installing off a usb thumb stick is definately the way to do it imo
dvd sucks :\
I just mounted the image using Daemon. That's about as easy as it gets. Well, assuming you have an OS already installed somewhere.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 | Intel i7 920 @4ghz | 6x2gb 1600Mhz Corsair Dominator | 560Ti Hawk | Corsair RM750 | Lian Li PC-A77FB | 2x BenQ GL2460 | Logitech Illuminated | Logitech G500s

gog.com - Classic videogames, Windows 7 compatible, no DRM, bundled extras, outstanding service. Check it out, get hooked, spread the word!
DragunovHUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 14:05   #5
mclean007
Officious Bystander
 
mclean007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nodnol
Posts: 2,008
mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Yup - the way forward is always to make an MD5 hash of the downloaded ISO (do a web search for the hash and hopefully it will match with those posted by others for the same file!) then burn the disc at its slowest, rip it to an ISO and hash it again. If the hash is the same (you'd be surprised how often this isn't the case...), you can pretty much guarantee you have a good disc.
__________________
mclean007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 14:12   #6
Aracos
Elite
 
Aracos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,337
Aracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run Crysis
What's the moral of the story? BURN OPERATING SYSTEM DISCS AND CRUCIAL DATA AT MINIMUM SPEED! God I don't know why people don't do it, my LG burner burns at 16x CD speed and only takes 5 minutes to burn and DVD's at 4x take about 10-15 minutes, that's not a long length of time. Anyway I'm interested in Winblows 7 for my games but tbh I won't use it till I get a DirectX11 card in about 2 years because I'd rather use 4770's in triple crossfire :P and Vista can go to hell, I couldn't care less about DirectX10 and nothing could get me to use vista in a lifetime so XP and Linux for me ^_^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubisoft CEO
Our clear goal today is to come more regularly with our top brands
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro | openSUSE
Aracos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 15:48   #7
Skiddywinks
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Caerwys, North Wales
Posts: 908
Skiddywinks has yet to learn the way of the DremelSkiddywinks has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I wouldn't be so quick to blame the ISO itself when it comes to your primary installation problems. That kind of thing happens regardless of the file. Like everyone else has more or less said, just burn anything important as slow as you are willing.

As for Firewire, Photoshop and F@H though, I have no idea. Although I am unsure as to why you would be using firewire in the first place, the Photoshop and F@H issues seem to be rather big for someone with your interests.

Luckily, I installed 7 almost as it was released to public, and I have loved it so far. The new "superbar" is much better (after getting used to it), and everything just seems much more tuned. Clearly MS decided to actually listen to the customers.

All I really do is play games, browse the web and play music, and I have not had a single problem. I hope for your sake that the solutions to yours are quick and simple.
Skiddywinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 15:51   #8
ch424
Design Warrior
 
ch424's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 3,092
ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.ch424 is definitely a rep cheat.
Also, buying cheap CD-Rs is a bit of a false economy...
ch424 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 16:46   #9
phuzz
This is a title
 
phuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,447
phuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for presidentphuzz should be considered for president
What was different in the Vista interface compared to XP? The first thing I do on an install is stop the themes service and then even vista looks like win95, or as near as damnit...
I assume Win7 is the same, not had the chance to test yet. anyway, it's still M$, I'll upgrade when SP1 comes out.
phuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 18:33   #10
haddow64
Multimodder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
haddow64 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ive been using it for the last few weeks, and I have to say I'm impressed, I had forgotten that Microsoft can actually make good software. The only thing worrying me now is the price, really hope they don't overprice it and allow it to flop like Vista.
haddow64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 18:47   #11
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
I came across another thread with a much more logical solution - download the file again and burn at the slowest speed possible. Nah, that can't be it, it's too simple! With nothing else left to try I gave it a whirl, and blow me it worked.
lol yeah that's why I burn with nero.. check verify the disc and it will go back over the data afterwards and give you a thumbs up or down

glad to hear you like windows 7.. apple will change your mind before the year is up
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 18:57   #12
dullonien
Master of the unfinished.
 
dullonien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Posts: 1,226
dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Never had a problem burning an OS disc at maximum speed, must have been lucky.

I've been running Windows 7 for a while, currently running a vlited version of RC1 and haven't come across many problems. Photoshop CS4 is running perfectly for me, and all my programs install and run great. The only small glitch comes from having the taskbar at the top of my screen, it seems to have an extra half the taskbar width of 'aero' blurred effect below the taskbar again. It's a bit odd, as the beta copy of 7 handled the taskbar fine at the top of the screen.

I think Windows 7 should change peoples mind about windows aero, as people really have nothing to complain about. Unlike Vista, 7 is less recource hungly and feels snapier to use than any version of windows before. I still can't understand how people can still prefer the ugly out-dated look of windows 95/98/2000. I spend most of my time on a pc, in work and in my spare time, so I want something nice to look at.

Microsoft have come through well with Windows 7. Just a pitty Vista wasn't like this! Even the UAC works as it should!
__________________
Main SilverStone FT03B | 2500K@4.0GHz | Corsair H70 | Maximus IV Gene-Z | 16GB DDR3 | Zotac GTX 470 | Corsair AX750 | 2 x HP ZR24w's | Server Antec 300 | Q6600 | Corsair H50 | EVGA 680i Sli | 8GB DDR2 | Sapphire HD4870 | Corsair HX520 | HighPoint RocketRAID 2680SGL | Renderer Lian-Li V300 | E6600 | Titan Fenrir | Abit Fatal1ty F-190HD | 4GB DDR2 | HIS X1950XT | Storage 12.5TB of Seagate HDD's |
dullonien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 19:28   #13
UncertainGod
Ultramodder
 
UncertainGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,422
UncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That's odd, I have no issues with having the taskbar at the top.
__________________
Twitter Blippr Last.fm Steam Google Profile

PSN ID: Sp4rkR4t
UncertainGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 20:59   #14
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 1,974
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dullonien
Never had a problem burning an OS disc at maximum speed, must have been lucky.
Me too, never ever had an issue burning at 16x and it was the fact the install worked but just asked me for some random driver that totally threw me that it could be anything to do with a dodgy burn! Nothing appeared not to work if you see what I mean. Still, lesson learned.

@ Skiddywinks - I'm using FireWire with an external Maxtor backup drive as I've found it outperforms USB2.
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES! | Mod of the Month March 2014 is here! Vote now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 21:52   #15
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
still test driving sp2 here on vista.. seems better than ever =] I might have to skip win 7 just because of the money end of things right now.. I wish I had a firewire backup- only one rig has firewire though

I bet there was dust on that disc- I has a horsehair brush to dust them off before they go in
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 22:43   #16
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
This blog post seems to affirm my intentions of doing an XP 32bit/Win7 64bit dual boot setup. Most likely XP won't see much usage, but it's nice to have in case it's needed and with hard drives being so cheap these days I can hardly find an argument against doing that dual boot setup.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 23:42   #17
Dreaming
Supermodder
 
Dreaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The University of York
Posts: 589
Dreaming has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Have to say if you didn't like Vista I'm surprised you like 7, they're effectively the same (with a few tweaks!). Also, IIRC isn't Vista faster at network traffic than XP, especially if it's Vista-Vista or Server 2008 machines?

Also from a pure theoretical perspective, I think Vista's approach to use unused resources to accelerate the GUI or prefetch progarms was the right idea, but potentially implemented poorly due to the negative feedback it received (though I never had any bad experiences).

On windows 7 now and it just feels the same as vista really, its a bit more swish but no significant differences in speed that I can notice?
__________________
Dreaming

C2D E6300 @ 2.8 | | Abit IP35 Pro | | 4GB Corsair XMS2 800 | | BFG 9800GT OC 1GB | | Antec NeoHE 550 | | Lian Li PC A05B (with top blowhole mod) | | LG 32LH4000 + Samsung 226BW 22"
Dreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 23:47   #18
kenco_uk
I unsuccessfully then tried again
 
kenco_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 9,696
kenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehippoz View Post
lol yeah that's why I burn with nero.. check verify the disc and it will go back over the data afterwards and give you a thumbs up or down
That's what I do, too. Not had a problem yet.
__________________
formaggio g‚teau
kenco_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 00:11   #19
Paradigm Shifter
de nihilo nihil fit
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,638
Paradigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the DremelParadigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreaming View Post
Also from a pure theoretical perspective, I think Vista's approach to use unused resources to accelerate the GUI or prefetch progarms was the right idea, but potentially implemented poorly due to the negative feedback it received (though I never had any bad experiences).
Superfetch was a great idea implemented poorly, agreed. Its real problem (or at least what irritated me about it the most) was the fact that it was a bit overzealous... as soon as Windows was loaded, it'd start thrashing my HDD to load stuff into RAM. In Windows 7, it seems a little more sedate... I don't get the mad flurry of disk activity I do in Vista.
__________________
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz | 24GB Corsair 1600MHz | Gigabyte G1.Killer Guerilla | GTX680 Surround | 3TB | 5760x1200+1920x1080
Paradigm Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 12:24   #20
BLC
Something witty goes here
 
BLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,340
BLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming SaiyanBLC is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combatus
@ Skiddywinks - I'm using FireWire with an external Maxtor backup drive as I've found it outperforms USB2.
In the real world, you rarely notice the difference. However FireWire does have advantages over USB2 - the first and most important is that your PC (and it's OS resources) controls the data transfer for USB2, but FireWire devices control the data transfer themselves. Subsequently, FireWire can achieve sustained high-speed transfers, whereas transfer speeds over USB2 will peak & trough (which you'd probably notice with a backup drive). As I mentioned this isn't a problem for most people, but it's critical in some applications; you try getting 24 simultaneous channels of 96kHz 24-bit audio over USB2 .

Back to the point, what impresses me most with Win7 is how much quicker it feels than Vista, even on slower hardware.
__________________
Asus Z87-K | Core i5 4670K | MSI GTX760 "TwinFrozr OC Edition" | 8GB Corsair Venegance 1600MHz
-------------------------------------------
Look ma, I do YouTube!
BLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.