bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Recreation > Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Jul 2009, 23:12   #1
Isitari
Multimodder
 
Isitari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Your nearest black hole
Posts: 130
Isitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Installing mods for oblivion (using steam)

Hi guys,
I've been playing Oblivion lately and heard about all the mods available. So I attempted to install them. This didn't go to well, I followed all of the instructions in the mods read me file, attempted to use a mod manager (OBBM) and neither of these worked. Could this be down to me using a steam installation?

Could somebody possibly give me an exact list of instructions with how to install a certain mod, then I can see if its working.

Many thanks,

Isitari
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz, Amanda TEC, 4GB RAM @ 900MHz, EVGA GTX260 (216), Asus P5Q PRO, 2 x 32GB OCZ Vertex SSDs (RAID 0) 500GB Samsung, 500GB WD, 700W OCZ GameXstream, Antec 900
Isitari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jul 2009, 23:28   #2
cyrilthefish
Ultramodder
 
cyrilthefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,364
cyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysiscyrilthefish can run Crysis
Haven't actually played Oblivion for ages, but installing mods is the same as in fallout 3, so here goes.

Probably whats happening is the mods are trying to install to the default location the retail copy of the game would install to:
C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Data\
(or C:\Program Files (x86)\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Data\ in 64bit windows)

steam installs to a different place, unless you've changed it when installing steam:
C:\Program Files\steam\steamapps\common\Oblivion\Data\
(or C:\Program Files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\Oblivion\Data\ in 64bit windows)

That'd be the most likely problem i reckon
cyrilthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2009, 02:16   #3
Isitari
Multimodder
 
Isitari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Your nearest black hole
Posts: 130
Isitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitIsitari is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Thanks for that Cyrilthefish but I have been installing them in the correct place .

Any other ideas?

Thanks,

Isitari.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz, Amanda TEC, 4GB RAM @ 900MHz, EVGA GTX260 (216), Asus P5Q PRO, 2 x 32GB OCZ Vertex SSDs (RAID 0) 500GB Samsung, 500GB WD, 700W OCZ GameXstream, Antec 900
Isitari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2009, 02:32   #4
wafflesomd
I *am* a Dremel
 
wafflesomd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,721
wafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysiswafflesomd can run Crysis
Make sure to get the snail racing mod.
wafflesomd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2009, 04:03   #5
Elton
Proud Model M User
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8,499
Elton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming Saiyan
First of all you have to install everything in your data folder.

Then use Oblivion mod manager and enable the mods(click on the unchecked square to make it checked, so it's activated).

If your game crashes mess with the load order until it gets right.
__________________
There's good ideas and then there's terribly great ideas.
Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2009, 10:20   #6
Aterius Gmork
/r/pcmasterrace
 
Aterius Gmork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,512
Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=900993

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...on+Mod+Manager

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...on+Mod+Manager

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...on+Mod+Manager

Hope those will help. As it seems the Elder Scrolls games themselves work on steam, but the exe files have been changed a bit to remove the DRM. Unfortunately this means most external tools won't work properly (yet). I had the same problem with some of the tools when I used a No-CD fix. Try the other mod managers mentioned in the threads.

I wouldn't worry, Valve is working on getting everything to work right, they already fixed most issues with Morrowind.

Oh, and try to use only one mod as a start, and then enable them one by one, maybe it's not steam, but some incompatibility between two mods that's causing your trouble. There are thousands of mods out there, but not all of them work together.

Last edited by Aterius Gmork; 20th Jul 2009 at 10:27.
Aterius Gmork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:58.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.