bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 10:22   #1
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
AMD announces Thuban six-core CPUs

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...ix-core-cpus/1

AMD has announced the desktop equivalent to its recently released six-core Opteron server processors, due next year and dubbed Thuban.

Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 10:30   #2
[PUNK] crompers
Dremedial
 
[PUNK] crompers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of the Wall
Posts: 2,743
[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
i'd rather have a quad at a higher clock speed at the moment, more cores aren't really needed
__________________
| Main Rig | TJ07B-W | 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Sabertooth Z77 | 8GB Corsair Vengance | EVGA FTW 670 @ 1305Mhz | Samsung 830 128GB |1TB Samsung F3 | EK Supremacy CSQ | EK FC680 CSQ | Corsair HX650W | U2711 | Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless | Xonar Essence STX | Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250ohm |
| HTPC | Lian Li Q11-B | AMD A10 5800k | ASRock FM2A75M-ITX | 8GB XMS3 2000 | 1TB Seagate | SFX 350W |
[PUNK] crompers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 10:34   #3
Jack_Pepsi
Clan BeeR Founder
 
Jack_Pepsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In the sticks, UK
Posts: 646
Jack_Pepsi has yet to learn the way of the DremelJack_Pepsi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Unless you use a lot of multi-threaded applications - for regular users or gamers you're right, they're not specifically needed. I hope game devs pull their fingers out and start utilising more than two & a half threads - then our multi-cored CPUs will be worth it.

Hmmm... multi-threaded.
__________________
During the rectification of the Vuldronaii the Traveler came as a large, moving Torb. Then, during the third reconciliation of the last of the Meketrex supplicants they chose a new form for him—that of a giant Sloar. Many Shubs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of the Sloar that day, I can tell you.
Jack_Pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 11:10   #4
Evildead666
Supermodder
 
Evildead666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Paris
Posts: 340
Evildead666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
At least Socket AM2+ and AM3 are cheaper than LGA1366.....
__________________
Q9450@3.52GHz, 2x2048 Corsair XMS2 1066, Asus Maximus Formula X38, TR SI-128 SE cooling, Asus 5850, GTS8800-320Mb, SB Audigy 2ZS PCI, Intel Pro 1000 PCIe.
Evildead666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 11:12   #5
Paradigm Shifter
de nihilo nihil fit
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,638
Paradigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the DremelParadigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evildead666
At least Socket AM2+ and AM3 are cheaper than LGA1366.....
Quite. Unless AMD prices these astronomically high, for those running AM2+ in particular this could be a worthy upgrade without breaking the bank on a platform shift.
__________________
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz | 24GB Corsair 1600MHz | Gigabyte G1.Killer Guerilla | GTX680 Surround | 3TB | 5760x1200+1920x1080
Paradigm Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 11:16   #6
Dave Lister
Hypermodder
 
Dave Lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France / UK
Posts: 689
Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Think i'll wait for a few reviews before deciding if either are worth upgrading to.
__________________
Main Rig:Case: BitFenix Prodigy, Motherboard: MSI Z97I Gaming, CPU: Intel i7 4790K, RAM: 16Gb 2400Mhz Kingston HyperX Beast GPU: MSI GTX 970 Gaming, Primary HDD: 256Gb Samsung 850 Pro, Games Drive: 1Tb Toshiba SSHD, Cooler: Corsair H105, OS: Win 7 - 64
HTPC:Case: Gutted out VCR, Motherboard: Asus AT5IONT-I, CPU: Intel Atom D525 @ 1.94Ghz, RAM: 4Gb 1333Mhz Kingston GPU: Nvidia Ion 2, Primary HDD: Hitachi 500Gb, Optical Drive: NEC ND-6500A Laptop Drive, OS: Win 8.1 32
Dave Lister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 11:17   #7
Rkiver
Cybernetic Spine
 
Rkiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 930
Rkiver has yet to learn the way of the DremelRkiver has yet to learn the way of the DremelRkiver has yet to learn the way of the DremelRkiver has yet to learn the way of the DremelRkiver has yet to learn the way of the DremelRkiver has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks promising, especially for multithreaded applications, however the low clock speed doesn't speak well for mostly single threaded applications, or low-core (1-2) applications such as games.

As already mentioned, waiting on reviews.
__________________
Time for me to learn how to mod....
Rkiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 11:54   #8
Hustler
Hypermodder
 
Hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Dark Side
Posts: 617
Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Well as it stands today, i've found that 3 cores is the sweet spot for performance.....

When i run my Phenom 550 as a 3 core the performance jump is significant over 2 cores, but the jump from 3 to 4 cores only results in a much smaller gain, even in games like GTAIV and ARMAII, which supposedly need 4 cores.....im lucky if i see 3-5fps extra...

Until they properly utilise 4 cores, 6 will only be impressive in highly multithreaded synthetic benchmarks....

Still, im sure 6 cores and more will one day be needed...
Hustler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 18:26   #9
TSR2
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
TSR2 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is it single die or 2 3 core dies stuck together? It doesn't seem to have vast quantities of L2 though.
TSR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 18:41   #10
Combinho
Ten kinds of awesome
 
Combinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,171
Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Combinho is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Four cores is plenty for me for the neard future. That said, it would be nice for AMD to be able to put some competition in for the i7 (the real 1366 ones) at some point.
__________________
"[The World Wide Web is] the only thing I know of whose shortened form — www — takes three times longer to say than what it's short for." - Douglas Adams
Battlefield 3: Combinho Steam: Combinho
Combinho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 19:09   #11
Phil Rhodes
Hypernobber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,235
Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I'm still slightly unclear on exactly what I can and can't plug into my existing motherboard. It's about three years old and is currently populated with an Athlon X2 6000+. I suspect this means AM2, and that what I have is about as good as I can go, but it's actually quite difficult to figure out what I can and can't do.
Phil Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 22:11   #12
leexgx
CPC hang out zone (i Fix pcs i do )
 
leexgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 1,244
leexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
what motherboard is it (model number)
__________________
i7-920 (4Ghz) <> Titian ferna <> Rampage extreme III<> GTX480 <> 6gb 3x2gb OCZ Gold 1600 <> SSD M225 256gb / segate .11 1.5TB <> X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty <> TK 1000w Toughpower <win7 x64> GreenFrog Computers Warrington
leexgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2009, 23:07   #13
Star*Dagger
Pan-Galactic Revolutionary
 
Star*Dagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Earth, Sol System, Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 835
Star*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for presidentStar*Dagger should be considered for president
Phil, time for a new motherboard, they are cheap, dont be cheap yourself, 3 years is fine value out of a MB, let it go now.
Star*Dagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2009, 03:04   #14
xprodancer
life is like a box of chocolates
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: basildon
Posts: 85
xprodancer has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
would like bit-tech to do a review, when they can get there hands on one to see what it can do (O/C speeds, multitasking, gaming, video encoding......) so i shale wait like most people will do on this site to see if its worth the upgrade!
__________________
I Is InSaIn - ImMa GeT YaA - BoO

life is live a box of chocolates, theres always a S**T one in the box!
xprodancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2009, 10:46   #15
crazyceo
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 563
crazyceo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evildead666
At least Socket AM2+ and AM3 are cheaper than LGA1366.....
Yes but so is a KFC 12 piece bargain bucket but that doesn't make it better than LGA1366. I'm staggered at times with some posts on here.

This topic is really good news as the CPU manufacturers are still pushing their developemenst onto desktops. Since most OS being used today hardly even recognise Quad Core or fully utilise it. Six Core or more may not make a huge difference until the software takes into consideration the extra cores.

Isn't there something in Windows 7 about quad or higher cores being utilised better? I know the Server OS are getting to grips with it better now.
crazyceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2009, 12:01   #16
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,191
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Rhodes View Post
I'm still slightly unclear on exactly what I can and can't plug into my existing motherboard. It's about three years old and is currently populated with an Athlon X2 6000+. I suspect this means AM2, and that what I have is about as good as I can go, but it's actually quite difficult to figure out what I can and can't do.
If you have a 6000 in there, Its quite likely you can drop a Phenom in no bother thats what I did on my old board even though it said it was only compatible with upto 125w chips I dropped a 140w 9950 in and had no bother even though it didn't know what it was.

Every board is different though so best to look to the manufacturer or google you're board and see what people are running in there but even that doesn't necessarily help as my Asrock board has no support for quads CPU Support list let alone 140w varients, still I used it until I could get a replacement for my SLI board that had died.

Last edited by sandys; 23rd Sep 2009 at 12:10.
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2009, 01:51   #17
Phil Rhodes
Hypernobber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,235
Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
It's a Foxconn C51XEM2AA, I discover.

If anyone ever looks in this thread again.
Phil Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2009, 02:37   #18
TheMusician
Audio/Tech Enthusiast/Historian
 
TheMusician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, US
Posts: 573
TheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the DremelTheMusician has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm glad my new build features an AM3 motherboard. The Phenom II X2 545 I have right now is decent, but only barely competitive with the lower-end Core2Duos. Why did I pick it? It's cheap, it's brand new, and it's all I need for now.

When the time is right, I'll probably upgrade to one of these monsters.
__________________
DIY Desktop: Ph X4 960T (w/OCZ Vendetta), Gigabyte 785G, 8GB DDR2-1066, XFX HD4850, 64GB Crucial M4 + 640GB Cav Black, M-Audio 2496, W7 Pro x64
ASUS UL30VT-A1 Laptop: C2D SU7300, 6GB DDR3-1066, G210M, 500GB Sco Blue, W7 Pro x64
TheMusician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2009, 09:32   #19
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,191
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Rhodes View Post
It's a Foxconn C51XEM2AA, I discover.

If anyone ever looks in this thread again.
Seem to recall most 590 boards based on the reference design wouldn't work, something to do with bios chip size.

can't see anyone saying that they've done it.
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2009, 13:06   #20
Phil Rhodes
Hypernobber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,235
Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Mutter. What do I go to, then?

Intel Core series stuff seems expensive, but I use After Effects and Premiere a lot, and in contrast to games, they love multi cores.
Phil Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:32.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.