bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Oct 2009, 10:55   #1
Sifter3000
I used to be somebody
Moderator
 
Sifter3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The South Sea Bubble
Posts: 1,766
Sifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Android 2.0 'Eclair' SDK released

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...sdk-released/1

__________________
The Rt Hon Alex Watson.
Dennis Publishing Emerging Platforms, bit and CPC alumni.

My weblog is The Wired Jester.
Photos on Flickr.
Sifter3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 11:00   #2
Radical_Monkey
Dremel > Lightsabre
 
Radical_Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Radical_Monkey has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Been waiting for this release for aaaages! Donut is all well and good but this is where the party starts, makes me glad to own an HTC Hero
__________________
================================================== ======
If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?
================================================== ======
Radical_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 12:03   #3
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,154
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
Interested in and android phone, just waiting for a nice one running snapdragon.
sandys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 12:21   #4
lewchenko
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 365
lewchenko has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Compare and contrast....

If you own an iPhone, and Apple releases a new version of OS... you will be able to upgrade easily.

As the owner of an HTC Hero on Orange in the UK... my device is still on OS version 1.5. The 1.6 update hasnt even been released to us yet officially, let alone the 2.0 update of Android.

Whilst the OS is good, it would seem vendors are falling over themselves to release new hardware with updated OS's rather than cater for their existing customer base. And as for Orange.... well they just dont care.

And only google can get away with releasing an OS for a phone where even bluetooth doesnt work properly.

Next phone is an iPhone... which is what I should have got this time instead of the HTC Hero.
lewchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 12:29   #5
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,154
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
The problem is not so much with HTC as it is with Orange, once you buy a branded variant you are at the will of the brand, if you had a straight HTC phone you could of updated no problem.

I had similar issues with my n95 on three, Nokia did a new update but there wasn't a Three flavour for a long, long time.
sandys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 14:08   #6
TWeaK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you've got insurance from a separate company to your network provider, there's a simple solution to the above problems: dunk your phone in the washing up bowl and make a claim. Did I say 'dunk it into a washing up bowl'? I meant 'accidentally drop it in a puddle'. Chances are your excess will be about 25, but when you get the replacement phone you'll get one that's not tied to any network. That way you can update the firmware yourself, but you might not even have to since they'll probably send you a phone with the latest firmware anyway.

For the record, I have never made a fraudulent claim. My 3 claims over the last few years were when my phone got wet while in a jacket pocket on a motorbike in the rain, the next one got stolen then my girlfriend put it in the washing machine inside my jeans pocket. I might have a 4th claim soon - my N97 didn't like being dropped and now the touch-screen is useless - but I'm holding off since I've yet to experience all the other woes that N97 owners have suffered, and I don't want the replacement phone to come with those problems. I'm kicking myself that I don't have an Android phone now, and that I signed a 2 year contract!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 14:13   #7
NuTech
Mod Master
 
NuTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,222
NuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewchenko View Post
Compare and contrast....

If you own an iPhone, and Apple releases a new version of OS... you will be able to upgrade easily.

As the owner of an HTC Hero on Orange in the UK... my device is still on OS version 1.5. The 1.6 update hasnt even been released to us yet officially, let alone the 2.0 update of Android.

Whilst the OS is good, it would seem vendors are falling over themselves to release new hardware with updated OS's rather than cater for their existing customer base. And as for Orange.... well they just dont care.

And only google can get away with releasing an OS for a phone where even bluetooth doesnt work properly.

Next phone is an iPhone... which is what I should have got this time instead of the HTC Hero.
That's a problem with your network. I'm on T-mobile and get Android system updates the second they're available.
__________________
NuTech
NuTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 14:17   #8
samkiller42
For i AM Cheesecake!!
 
samkiller42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portchester
Posts: 5,851
samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuTech View Post
That's a problem with your network. I'm on T-mobile and get Android system updates the second they're available.
Thats because Orange slightly alter the system, which is why the Hero's Firmware was about a week after the HTC launch. Besides, this is only regarding the SDK of 2.0, it's not something your going to install unless your a developer.

Sam

Edit: @TWeak, a replacement phone wont be shipped with the new firmware or system update, that part is something you do yourself.
__________________

The Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, SB i3 2350m, 8GB DDR3, 256GB 830 SSD, Intel 6235 Wifi N/BT 4.0, Dell 5550 3G/GPS
The Server: Phenom 2 x6, 8GB DDR3, 3TB Seagate, 2TB WD Green, 2*1TB Samsung F1
samkiller42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 14:39   #9
Shepps
Slacking off since 1986..
 
Shepps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: f'boro
Posts: 1,492
Shepps has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Devices such as the Motorola Droid will have built in turn by turn sat nav built in (from google). That + all the other features of 2.0 makes android look a bit more of a competitor!

Link

edit: Depending on the bootloader cant you flash with stock android firmware? I've only had experience using the dev phone so not sure..
Shepps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 14:44   #10
FredsFriend
Supermodder
 
FredsFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Peadobrough
Posts: 486
FredsFriend has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuTech View Post
That's a problem with your network. I'm on T-mobile and get Android system updates the second they're available.
That's not strictly true is it, T-mobile were the last to provide the HTC update for the Hero (T-mobile G2) that fixed the lag issues by quite a long way.

http://support.t-mobile.co.uk/discus...c5d&filter=ALL

My previous phone, an N95, went well over a year without an firmware upgrade from T-mobile despite from memory around 7 or 8 updates being release in that time.

T-Mobile are terrible at firmware updates.

p.s.
On second thoughts do you have a G1? In which case you probably get your updates over the air. It's Google that provide those not T-mobile
__________________
BOO

Last edited by FredsFriend; 28th Oct 2009 at 14:47. Reason: adding second thought
FredsFriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 16:02   #11
jake9891
Loves Internet Shopping
 
jake9891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 136
jake9891 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Absolutely love my G1 and I am really happy to hear that they are still working on improving things. 'Donut' brought some new stuff and new look of some things, which made using my phone even better. I think I will never get bored of it G1 Rulezz!
__________________
Storage Box <-- My first modding project
jake9891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 16:12   #12
lewchenko
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 365
lewchenko has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Well I went to HTC's website and found the following :

http://www.htc.com/uk/SupportViewNew...75&news_id=261

Its a ROM upgrade for HTC Orange users. Note that its still based on firmware version 1.5, but it takes the software ROM versoin to 2.73 (up from 1.76 which it was at).

The update wipes your contacts + other settings and requires a PC to connect to in order to perform it. .. But you will immediately notice how snappy the device is once you have updated it.

Still no 1.6 update though !

And I phoned Orange... who were absolutely clueless. The just referred me to HTC , then carried on washing their hands in soapy water.
lewchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 20:01   #13
antiHero
ReliXmas time!
 
antiHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 2,037
antiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the DremelantiHero has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewchenko
Compare and contrast....

If you own an iPhone, and Apple releases a new version of OS... you will be able to upgrade easily.

As the owner of an HTC Hero on Orange in the UK... my device is still on OS version 1.5. The 1.6 update hasnt even been released to us yet officially, let alone the 2.0 update of Android.

Whilst the OS is good, it would seem vendors are falling over themselves to release new hardware with updated OS's rather than cater for their existing customer base. And as for Orange.... well they just dont care.

And only google can get away with releasing an OS for a phone where even bluetooth doesnt work properly.

Next phone is an iPhone... which is what I should have got this time instead of the HTC Hero.
Thing is that HTC will NOT release an update for 1.6 and go straight to 2.0. They sad that the update cycle between those 2 is to short in there opinion to make it worth while. Newer models will ship with 1.6 but not the dream nor hero.

As for the bluetooth i had no problems what so ever so far apart for some file transfer stuff but it was a quick fix with wifi & ftp
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mankz View Post
If Bindi leaves i'm going to cry and poop myself.
antiHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Oct 2009, 20:40   #14
TheUn4seen
Modder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
TheUn4seen has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Who the hell waits for the operator to push updates? Donut-based ROMs were available before the official update release, not to mention that custom ROMs for Andriod devices are light years ahead of official ones, they are are a breeze to install (two commands, one button operation), don't void the warranty and, since Google clarified certain licensing issues, are completely legal.
TheUn4seen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Oct 2009, 09:41   #15
fodder
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 152
fodder has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The best bit about Android updates? - No iTunes or third party app required :-)

Either wait for the automatic download or go manual.

Yes, T-Mobile are pants at firmware updates, when I had a WM device I had to wait nearly a year for the X.5 update to fix a lot of bugs, even then I had to go ferreting around the website for it, no info or notice of it's release. Unfortunately it really messed up Hotmail connectivity so went Gmail and Android.
fodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Oct 2009, 12:16   #16
NuTech
Mod Master
 
NuTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,222
NuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredsFriend View Post
That's not strictly true is it, T-mobile were the last to provide the HTC update for the Hero (T-mobile G2) that fixed the lag issues by quite a long way.

http://support.t-mobile.co.uk/discus...c5d&filter=ALL

My previous phone, an N95, went well over a year without an firmware upgrade from T-mobile despite from memory around 7 or 8 updates being release in that time.

T-Mobile are terrible at firmware updates.

p.s.
On second thoughts do you have a G1? In which case you probably get your updates over the air. It's Google that provide those not T-mobile
Yes, I'm using a G1. I assumed the update method would be the same for all Android based phones from T-mobile.

Is T-mobile screwing with G2 (Hero) owners?
__________________
NuTech
NuTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Nov 2009, 13:51   #17
cybergenics
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melchester
Posts: 613
cybergenics has yet to learn the way of the Dremelcybergenics has yet to learn the way of the Dremelcybergenics has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandys
The problem is not so much with HTC as it is with Orange, once you buy a branded variant you are at the will of the brand, if you had a straight HTC phone you could of updated no problem.

I had similar issues with my n95 on three, Nokia did a new update but there wasn't a Three flavour for a long, long time.
Not at all. There is no 1.6 Donut available for any Hero (officially anyway) so no networks, or HTC have been offering it for this model.

http://www.androidguys.com/2009/10/2...ng-1-6-update/

As it says (or anywhere if you google it) the Hero will be 1.5 and jump to 2.0
cybergenics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:38.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.