bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd Nov 2009, 11:51   #1
Crazy Buddhist
Likes modding doesn't like bullies
 
Crazy Buddhist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK - London
Posts: 105
Crazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the DremelCrazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the DremelCrazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Win 7 0x80070570 install error EASY FIX

If you just want the solution page down .. it's in this blue

New shiny windows 7 disk arrives. ...... doesn't want to install ...

keep getting error message 0x80070570 when Windows 7 is expanding files:

Quote:
Windows cannot install required files error 0x80070570
The file may be corrupt or missing.. Make sure all files required for installation are available and restart installation.
Spend an hour googling .. people suggest RAM problems .. I know my RAM is good but spend an hour or two running MEMTEST ...

Then I see a lot of people reduced to trying to install from a USB key .... great .... borrow my neighbours 4GB Cruzer, follow instructions, ... and bork it in the process of not installing the OS.

So eventually I call Microsoft and speak to a very nice lady in India who runs me through a dozen or so workarounds for this .. I'm pressing control +F keys left, right and centre, taking out RAM sticks, disabling EVERYTHING in BIOS.

Always the same thing:

Quote:
Windows cannot install required files error 0x80070570
The file may be corrupt or missing.. Make sure all files required for installation are available and restart installation.
So after maybe two hours on the phone with her she decided to report the issue to the second line team. I'm told they will call me back today as they don't work weekends (all this took place Friday up til now).

EASY SOLUTION:

I don't wait weekends for answers (nor do I usually need to call tech support). One thing we had noticed is that the repair console refused to lauch because it said there was an install in progress. But the support didn't pick up on this and it wasn't until Saturday morning I tried what turned out to be the easiest solution ever.

When you see the error "0x80070570 can't access files" on install click --> OK ---> you will be returned to the "Install Now" startup screen and - WITHOUT REBOOTING - just re-start the install.

Second time round it went smooth as clockwork and installed fine.

I have not tried to reproduce this error as I just want a working system :P

Be interested to know if this easy solution works for anyone else. I informed Microsoft of it when their engineer called today and they are going to look into it. They are aware of the install issue but never heard of this fix before.

Crazy B
__________________
Life can be brutal - we have a choice.
Fractal Design R4, i5 2500K (Sandy Bridge), Gigabyte Z68AP-D3, OCZ ZS650W PSU, Sapphire HD5670 1GB,
16GB Corsair DDR3 1600 XMS3, OCZ Vertex 4 128GB - System, 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Data
Crazy Buddhist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2009, 18:51   #2
cmiles69
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
cmiles69 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
error message 0x80070570

hi..

tried the solution u placed, got the same issue.. trying it again.. but seems like the same error is coming up.. any other suggestionss..
cmiles69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2009, 19:49   #3
Crazy Buddhist
Likes modding doesn't like bullies
 
Crazy Buddhist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK - London
Posts: 105
Crazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the DremelCrazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the DremelCrazy Buddhist has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmiles69 View Post
hi..

tried the solution u placed, got the same issue.. trying it again.. but seems like the same error is coming up.. any other suggestionss..
Yup ..

My instructions were off. You cancel the install which returns you to the "install now" screen with NO REBOOT then just click install again ...

If that doesn't work then look here: http://www.sevenforums.com/installat...-problems.html

If the disk is sticking at 62% then a fix has been released (in link above).

Also some people have found resetting the CMOS simply clears the problem.

You might even have a bum disk.

Crazy B
__________________
Life can be brutal - we have a choice.
Fractal Design R4, i5 2500K (Sandy Bridge), Gigabyte Z68AP-D3, OCZ ZS650W PSU, Sapphire HD5670 1GB,
16GB Corsair DDR3 1600 XMS3, OCZ Vertex 4 128GB - System, 1TB Seagate Barracuda - Data
Crazy Buddhist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2010, 06:02   #4
hiinhoc
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
hiinhoc has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi, i have the same problem with installing window 7 on my new pc (custom build) i have try to do everything above but still can't fix the problem. So, if the file is corrupt. How come with the same disc i can install it on my different computer but not to the one i'm just build? Thanks
hiinhoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2010, 09:32   #5
badders
Neuken in de Keuken
 
badders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 2,546
badders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for president
Have you tried a different DVD drive in your PC?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver51 View Post
John Hanlon standing on an oil pipeline during a blizzard, punching an angry polar bear in the balls. I heard he really did that once.
badders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2010, 14:55   #6
speedman1
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
speedman1 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
crazy B you are right, actually i am supporting the suggestion you gave about windows 7 installation error. i faced the same problem and did the same thing that you have suggested here to do.
speedman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 01:38   #7
poosplat
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
poosplat has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I was replacing Fedora with Windows 7.
After hours of unrelated problems with my bios, I finally got it to boot from the installation disk.
I repeatedly got the same error as Crazy B.
I spent DAYS searching Google and trying EVERYTHING before I found his post. Worked first time.

Thanks
poosplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2011, 17:32   #8
PHJ1542011
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
PHJ1542011 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I get this error when trying to do a backup on Windows 7, reason is because the file or directory is corrupted & unreadable. I downloaded a program, Paretologic PC Health Advisor, but following the system scan, it says that I have to register & pay to fix all the problems it found, is there a freeware alternative which can do exactly the same as this program does?
PHJ1542011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2011, 02:35   #9
thesavo
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
thesavo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hello all. I see this is still an active thread. Some of you are getting the error 0x80070570 .

Quote:
Windows cannot install required files error 0x80070570
The file may be corrupt or missing.. Make sure all files required for installation are available and restart installation.
I have a wim from a Syspreped Vista SP1. It came from the recovery partition of a Toshiba laptop. I used CTRL +Shift + F3 to get out of OOBE to install SP2 and updates.

I was able to take the original vista sp1 wim, and place it on a Vista SP0 install disc from a Dell Vista 32bit Business cira 2006 Disc . I had the change the FLAGS option in IMAGEX, to fool the installer. I set the flag to "Business" like the DELL wim used. The recovery wim was then tested in Oracle VM. IT work great. The trouble i am running into is SP1 wim works, but the SP2 wim, which i 'captured' 3 or 4 times results in that hex error.

What am I doing wrong? how can SP1 work ok, but SP2 falls on its face @ "Expanding files"?
thesavo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2011, 22:00   #10
BrianTm
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
BrianTm has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just fixed this if anyone is getting this error, follow the solution mentioned here.
BrianTm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Aug 2011, 09:29   #11
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,216
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by poosplat View Post
I was replacing Fedora with Windows 7.
After hours of unrelated problems with my bios, I finally got it to boot from the installation disk.
I repeatedly got the same error as Crazy B.
I spent DAYS searching Google and trying EVERYTHING before I found his post. Worked first time.

Thanks
lol, this reads like a dodgy tv ad
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2011, 10:29   #12
thewelshbrummie
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, UK
Posts: 228
thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.thewelshbrummie is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy Buddhist View Post
Also some people have found resetting the CMOS simply clears the problem
This problem has been bugging me all week with my parent's computer. Having tried different DVDs/optical drives/HDDs, I found this yesterday. Windows installed perfectly 1st time this morning after removing the CMOS battery overnight. Certainly worth a try as changing DVDs/HDDs made no difference (neither did installing from a flash drive).

Should have learned from work - we see the same sort of thing with TVs, unplugging and allowing all electricity to drain from the system works 50+% of the time...
__________________
Gaming Rig - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, Antec 1200 v3, 4670K @4.2GHz, 4x4GB Corsair DDR3, Asus Z87-DELUXE/Dual, Samsung 840 Evo 1TB, 3x 4TB Seagate HDDs in a storage space, Asus nVidia 660Ti, Seasonic 660W, Dell U2410. HTPC - Antec Fusion Black, Intel Core i3 3220T, 4x2GB OCZ DDR3, Gigabyte H77M-D3H, OCZ Agility3 120GB SSD, Drobo S with 5x4TB HDDs, Blackgold 3620, Seasonic X Fanless 400W. Hybrid - Sony VAIO Flip 13, Core i5 4200U, 128GB SSD, 8GB RAM. Tablet - Toshiba Encore 8"
thewelshbrummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2011, 17:22   #13
cashare
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
cashare has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Windows Win 7 0x80070570 install error EASY FIX

Originally Posted by poosplat View Post
I was replacing Fedora with Windows 7.
After hours of unrelated problems with my bios, I finally got it to boot from the installation disk.
I repeatedly got the same error as Crazy B.
I spent DAYS searching Google and trying EVERYTHING before I found his post. Worked first time.

Thanks
cashare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2011, 01:53   #14
AntiquaeCivis
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
AntiquaeCivis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks you!

I have spent two days trying to get windows 7 to install on a clean drive and this is the only trick that worked. Thank you so much for sharing it!
AntiquaeCivis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2011, 08:20   #15
this-IT-guy
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
this-IT-guy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I found a solution

I recently had this problem. Found out that it had to do with the jumper settings. My CD-ROM had the jumper set to master and my hard drive was set as slave (no jumpers). All i did was set both jumpers on the drives as cable select.


**NOTE**I received this error having a setup of 1 CD-ROM attach to 1 Hard Disk and initially having only a jumper set as master on the CD-ROM and having no jumper's on the hard disk (making it a slave).


The Solution to the problem:

1. Take out both drives

2. Remove the jumpers, and place both of drive's jumper settings to CS (cable select)

3.Reinsert and boot up

4.Install windows

5. It might fail half way or at some point and will reproduce the same error message but DON'T restart, just go back through the installation process again.

6. Wait and hope it installs the second time


If anyone is still having problems, let me know

***I'm 100% sure that the jumpers were to blame because I actually try to go back to my initial setup and it failed.
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Dec 2011, 12:58   #16
tashfan
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
tashfan has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thank u Crazy B..... It worked 4 me...... Thanx alot....
tashfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2011, 12:23   #17
ryanstevens11
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
ryanstevens11 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy Buddhist View Post
Yup ..

My instructions were off. You cancel the install which returns you to the "install now" screen with NO REBOOT then just click install again ...

Crazy B
When I get the error message I get no option to "cancel", only the "ok" button. I tried it both booting from USB & DVD with the same results. My memory & HDD test passed and my CMOS is cleared. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
ryanstevens11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2012, 20:47   #18
tlkchp
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
tlkchp has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy Buddhist View Post
If you just want the solution page down .. it's in this blue

New shiny windows 7 disk arrives. ...... doesn't want to install ...

keep getting error message 0x80070570 when Windows 7 is expanding files:

Spend an hour googling .. people suggest RAM problems .. I know my RAM is good but spend an hour or two running MEMTEST ...

Then I see a lot of people reduced to trying to install from a USB key .... great .... borrow my neighbours 4GB Cruzer, follow instructions, ... and bork it in the process of not installing the OS.

So eventually I call Microsoft and speak to a very nice lady in India who runs me through a dozen or so workarounds for this .. I'm pressing control +F keys left, right and centre, taking out RAM sticks, disabling EVERYTHING in BIOS.

Always the same thing:

So after maybe two hours on the phone with her she decided to report the issue to the second line team. I'm told they will call me back today as they don't work weekends (all this took place Friday up til now).

EASY SOLUTION:

I don't wait weekends for answers (nor do I usually need to call tech support). One thing we had noticed is that the repair console refused to lauch because it said there was an install in progress. But the support didn't pick up on this and it wasn't until Saturday morning I tried what turned out to be the easiest solution ever.

When you see the error "0x80070570 can't access files" on install click --> OK ---> you will be returned to the "Install Now" startup screen and - WITHOUT REBOOTING - just re-start the install.

Second time round it went smooth as clockwork and installed fine.

I have not tried to reproduce this error as I just want a working system :P

Be interested to know if this easy solution works for anyone else. I informed Microsoft of it when their engineer called today and they are going to look into it. They are aware of the install issue but never heard of this fix before.

Crazy B
Can't Freakin Believe the Easy Fix Worked!!!
tlkchp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2012, 20:38   #19
Strwbry
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Strwbry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi

This does not seem to be working for me.
Quite annoying actually. Got some more tips?

Realize this thread is a bit old, but all the google references about this error gets pointed in here.

Thanks
Strwbry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2012, 20:54   #20
Strwbry
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Strwbry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This did not fix it for me :/
Strwbry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
0x80070570, easy fix, install error, windows 7

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.