bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:29   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
South Yorkshire gets 25Mb/s fibre

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...25mb-s-fibre/1

A £90 million investment scheme is set to see homes and businesses across South Yorkshire offered 25Mb/s broadband connections by the end of 2012.

__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:36   #2
barndoor101
Bring back the demote thread!
 
barndoor101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Clitheroe, Lancs
Posts: 1,694
barndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysis
I suppose they had to find a way to unclog the backlog of sheep porn downloads.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz // 12Gb Crucial Ballistix 1600Mhz // Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X (x2) // 3x Samsung 2333SW // Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB & F1 1TB // 160gb Intel G2 SSD // Asus Xonar DG
Asus P6T SE // Antec EarthWatts 750W Modular // CM HAF922 // Corsair H100 // Logitech G11 & G5
Dell Studio 1737 // ASUS Transformer Prime
barndoor101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:36   #3
Hardware150
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NE England
Posts: 179
Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Hardware150 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
pft the north, south yourkshire is south of me D:

Quote:
Originally Posted by barndoor101 View Post
I suppose they had to find a way to unclog the backlog of sheep porn downloads.

Think you're thinking of Wales there
Hardware150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:47   #4
impar
2n-1
 
impar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,840
impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Greetings!

Am curious...
What is the best service available to UK consumers, bandwidth-wise?
__________________
"Dispatch War Rocket Ajax to bring back his body!"
impar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:54   #5
Venares
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Venares has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
50 Mbit Down / 1.5Mbit Up
Pretty pathetic compared to the rest of the world tbh.
Venares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 10:58   #6
andrew8200m
All of the hilarious
 
andrew8200m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: in a hole XD
Posts: 1,853
andrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyan
On business line here, get 60mbit up, 60mbit down. Nothing wrong with that

andy
andrew8200m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 11:01   #7
dolphin-promotions
Modder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 65
dolphin-promotions has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
@andrew8200m who do you get that off? And for how much per month?
dolphin-promotions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 11:07   #8
andrew8200m
All of the hilarious
 
andrew8200m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: in a hole XD
Posts: 1,853
andrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyanandrew8200m is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Not a clue who it's off in allhonesty, it's provided to us by the company so that we can use vmware to run server 2003 and then access the exact same server over at hq in real time. Not a clue who any of it works, I just do it and it runs. Never been one for networking.

Andy
andrew8200m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 11:25   #9
Baz
I work for Corsair
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,796
Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Lease lines like your 60mbit down/60mbit up cost serious cash per month - many hundreds of pounds, if not thousands.

Good to see BB infrastructure improvements like these. Even with the rollout of BT's 21stC network the UK is embarrassingly behind the global leaders in internet speeds. I wish we could rip out the ageing copper network and get fibre to cabinet everywhere but the investment required would be frightening.

It's disgraceful that Virgin Media offers such a shoddy upload speed on its network though. I suppose it's designed for consumers, not producers but if you want to use online storage for example it's crap.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 11:27   #10
Psytek
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 159
Psytek has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
In my mind, until I see 100up/100down, I will consider britain to be lagging behind other developed nations.
Sadly The USA will be the dealbreaker in all of this. As long as they don't have next generation broadband, applications won't be developed to take advantage of the speeds, and everything will stagnate until they catch up, which will probably be around the time the UK catches up, which is to say, if it happened tomorrow, it would already be late.
Psytek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 11:44   #11
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,528
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Even if they do have to pay, its about time some sort of upgrade was made. Was it one this site or the news they where saying about using the old analogue transmitters to get broadband to all? Wonder how fast and how much it will cost
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 12:05   #12
Artanix
puts the king in Lurking.
 
Artanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 135
Artanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitArtanix is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
lol if thales are doing it, then i wouldn't get your hopes up. They recently lost all their contract's with our company for generally being crap and really slow to fix stuff. Could be amusing
__________________
If common sense is so common,
Why is it so rare?
Artanix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 12:26   #13
jase4772
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Doncaster, S.Yorks
Posts: 34
jase4772 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It's one thing to say these places are getting this, what they don't mention yet is whats areas. I live in Doncaster but no where near the town center and you just know that it's only a radius of 1-2 miles from there that will get it. With any luck they'll target areas that are not able to get cable broadband so more people have access to faster speeds.
jase4772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 13:04   #14
mclean007
Officious Bystander
 
mclean007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nodnol
Posts: 2,008
mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venares
50 Mbit Down / 1.5Mbit Up
Pretty pathetic compared to the rest of the world tbh.
Except the USA, where they would give their left arm for speeds like that, and most European countries, where that is competitive, and South America, and most of Asia (excluding S. Korea and Japan), and Australasia. 50 meg down is perfectly adequate for pretty much any legitimate domestic use, up to and including streaming multiple 1080p HD streams, and 1.5 meg up is more than enough for most.

Our infrastructure isn't perfect by any means, but it is improving and we are keeping pace with most of the world. Yes there are the high profile fibre rollouts in S. Korea, Japan, Sweden and very limited city centre areas in France, but these are the exception, not the rule. Those places have a big advantage over the UK in that they aren't trying to upgrade a triumph of Victorian engineering to cope with uses for which it simply wasn't designed - while those countries were still mucking about with telegrams and carrier pigeons the UK had a fairly sophisticated (by early 20th Century engineering standards) and wide reaching public telephone network. As I'm sure many of us on bit-tech know all too well, one drawback of being an early adopter is you can get left with a big investment in obsolete kit, and that is where the UK is now.

BT is doing its bit, rolling out fibre to the cabinet at least, which should give wide access to 40 mb/s services. Virgin is already offering 50 mb/s in cabled areas. Fibre to the home is a bit of a pipedream at the moment, but to be honest if you need more than 40/50 meg you aren't within the normal envelope of domestic use and it is reasonable to expect you to pay for a business oriented solution.
__________________
mclean007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 13:21   #15
m0rt
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
m0rt has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Guess I'll be lucky living in Sweden. I have 100/100mbit fiber för 100skr a month, that is 8.88gbp with today's exchange rate. And I've had that for 5 years soon. Even had 2 100/100mbit lines for a while =D
m0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 13:30   #16
mclean007
Officious Bystander
 
mclean007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nodnol
Posts: 2,008
mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0rt
Guess I'll be lucky living in Sweden. I have 100/100mbit fiber för 100skr a month, that is 8.88gbp with today's exchange rate. And I've had that for 5 years soon. Even had 2 100/100mbit lines for a while =D
Go on, rub it in, you smug Swede.
__________________
mclean007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 14:03   #17
TomH
Bwahahahahaha
 
TomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 751
TomH has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz
Lease lines like your 60mbit down/60mbit up cost serious cash per month - many hundreds of pounds, if not thousands.
About £500/month for a leased 100Mbit Ethernet connection from Manchester to London. And then, it's only dark fibre from the office to data centre - still have to provide your own transit to the Internet when it gets there.

But for that money you do get some epic monitoring. Turn it off, within 5 minutes there's a personal e-mail, in another 5 there's a phone call. If only BT/VM cared quite so much...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclean007
Our infrastructure isn't perfect by any means, but it is improving and we are keeping pace with most of the world. Yes there are the high profile fibre rollouts in S. Korea, Japan, Sweden and very limited city centre areas in France, but these are the exception, not the rule. Those places have a big advantage over the UK in that they aren't trying to upgrade a triumph of Victorian engineering to cope with uses for which it simply wasn't designed - while those countries were still mucking about with telegrams and carrier pigeons the UK had a fairly sophisticated (by early 20th Century engineering standards) and wide reaching public telephone network. As I'm sure many of us on bit-tech know all too well, one drawback of being an early adopter is you can get left with a big investment in obsolete kit, and that is where the UK is now.

BT is doing its bit, rolling out fibre to the cabinet at least, which should give wide access to 40 mb/s services. Virgin is already offering 50 mb/s in cabled areas. Fibre to the home is a bit of a pipedream at the moment, but to be honest if you need more than 40/50 meg you aren't within the normal envelope of domestic use and it is reasonable to expect you to pay for a business oriented solution.
Quote for truth. The amount of times I've had to explain to people what the "broadband tax" (uninformed, idiotic, daily-heil nomenclature that it is) was really for, has been ridiculous.

Virgin Media's service, whilst advertising nice-looking numbers, is incredibly over-sold and doesn't represent the same quality of service that you could obtain by paying the same amount of money to a service-orientated (as opposed to sales-orientated) ISP for an ADSL2+ service.

In reality though, unless I'm downloading ISO-sized files, I really don't notice a huge amount of difference between a symmetric 100Mbit connection and my 6Mbit/500Kbit ADSL at home, and there's even less difference when compared to the 11Mbit/1.5Mbit BeThere connection that I used to enjoy.
__________________
Blog: full of inspirational geekism. Maybe.
StaffsLUG: Linux users group, Staffordshire.
TomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 14:43   #18
logan'srun
following the footsteps of giants
 
logan'srun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 552
logan'srun has yet to learn the way of the Dremellogan'srun has yet to learn the way of the Dremellogan'srun has yet to learn the way of the Dremellogan'srun has yet to learn the way of the Dremellogan'srun has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0rt
Guess I'll be lucky living in Sweden. I have 100/100mbit fiber för 100skr a month, that is 8.88gbp with today's exchange rate. And I've had that for 5 years soon. Even had 2 100/100mbit lines for a while =D
+1 god I miss my 100/100 line when was I was living downtown.

Now its 24/4 (upspeed may vary) and I can't convince my wife to let me pull in 100/100 for our house (would be the only one in the neighborhood) since the cost for the work is close to 40,000sek. now if I can convince my neighbors that it's necessary then we can all split that cost. . . .
logan'srun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 14:57   #19
Cerberus90
petrolhead
 
Cerberus90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 6,526
Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.Cerberus90 is definitely a rep cheat.
noooo, they need to come and upgrade Leicestershire/Warwickshire rural broadband.
__________________
Steam: Cerberus90
| Q6600 @ 3GHz | 256GB Samsung 830 |
| Gigabyte GTX660 Windforce| Fractal Core 3000 |

Cerberus90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2009, 15:21   #20
Abhorsen
Hypermodder
 
Abhorsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 744
Abhorsen has yet to learn the way of the DremelAbhorsen has yet to learn the way of the DremelAbhorsen has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardware150
pft the north, south yourkshire is south of me D:

Quote:
Originally Posted by barndoor101 View Post
I suppose they had to find a way to unclog the backlog of sheep porn downloads.

Think you're thinking of Wales there
Yorkshire is north.

Booya! Finally a decent net connection for me!
Abhorsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:34.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.