bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Apr 2010, 09:02   #41
SazBard
10 Print "C64 ftw"
 
SazBard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK/Turkey
Posts: 319
SazBard has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by harlam357 View Post

You're welcome.

This is not a problem per say... this is by design. The Completed and Failed counts are designed to be in effect since the last client start, or current client run as I call it. I've already made some changes to allow the toggle of either the "Client Run" total, or the overall "Client Total" as reported in the FAHlog.txt file. The Failed will continue to work as is for the time being.
This is really great news, thanks for adding this feature and for all your hard work on a great program.

I still can't get it to upload the html files to my webspace though But I can live without that.
__________________
Folding stats
SazBard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2010, 17:24   #42
harlam357
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
harlam357 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taffy View Post
Hi Harlam, I have reduced this problem by setting the refresh rate to 5 min but at 15 mins the units can delay showing the change from a completed unit to the new unit. however if you close down the computer " for updates etc" then you lose the unit counts,is there some way to cache these and continue after the startup ?
Oh OK... I see what you're saying. Yeah, 15 minutes per refresh is just the default value. Any value between 1 and 180 is acceptable.

See my last post... I'm adding a feature to toggle between the "client run" Completed count and the "client total" Completed as reported in the FAHlog.txt file. I am not changing the behavior of the Failed Count at this time.

The intention of the feature when designed is as it exists today... and "caching" those Completed and Failed Counts is not something I planned to do. On the surface it seems easy, just add the counts to a file and reread them on startup, and that may sort of work. But there are also scenarios where it would not work. It would take quite a bit of leg work to handle correctly it correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SazBard View Post
This is really great news, thanks for adding this feature and for all your hard work on a great program.

I still can't get it to upload the html files to my webspace though :p But I can live without that. :D
The standard format for an FTP URL with user and password is as follows:

ftp://user:pass@somewhere.com/Folder/Path/

If you can send me your HFM.log file I can take a look and the error returned from the web upload process may indicate the problem and possibly a solution.

I implore you both, and anyone else here who needs help or has a request, to see the section directly below regarding the HFM Google Group. As much as I like to visit forums where I maintain an announcement thread on HFM, I just don't have the time to make the rounds to all the forums as often as I'd like. You can always find me quickly at the HFM Google Group and the information posted there is then in a centralized location where users from many Teams and Forums can find and benefit from it.

---

Need help with HFM? Have a Feature Request? Please Join the Discussions. Post in the HFM Google Group.

http://groups.google.com/group/hfm-net
harlam357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 02:41   #43
harlam357
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
harlam357 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
New Version: 0.5.0 - Revision 180 - Beta - Download

Whew! Been a couple of months since I last came around huh? I'm pleased to annouce the availability of HFM v0.5.0 - which includes the long awaited "auto-update" feature. Just a couple (five) words about this.

You have the option to turn on or off the check for updates on start-up. The ONLY time HFM will auto-check for updates is on start-up. However, there is also a manual check in the Help Menu that will provide you more verbose feedback than the auto-check will.

What does this mean? It means I'll be able to deliever updates and fixes more quickly and easily. It means I will be in a thread near you even less often than I already am now. I have about 9 threads where I maintain/update this same information when I release an update. It's time consuming and I can easily spend several hours getting all my threads updated. So, for smaller, less significant updates my plan is to forego the usual thread updates since running HFM can now tell you when an update is available. I'm going to look into scheduling update checks or another means of ongoing notification since, if you're like me, you don't shutdown HFM that often.

When receiving an update notification you can download either the MSI or Zip distribution. If you're on Windows and download the MSI it will install once you exit HFM. No change to the Zip distribution, you're on your own.

Check the HFM Google Code page for downloads and details on the changes. As always, if you need to find me quickly, see below. I usually answer pretty quickly.

---

Need help with HFM? Have a Feature Request? Please Join the Discussions. Post in the HFM Google Group.


http://groups.google.com/group/hfm-net
harlam357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 16:33   #44
1Razor
Living life one day at a time....
 
1Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Salisbury, UK
Posts: 273
1Razor has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks for all your effort harlam357, much appreciated
__________________
Folding stats
Gaming: Silverstone TJ07, Asus P5Q Del, Q9550 @3.2, GTX285, 4Gb OCZ PC8500, 750GB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX1000, Dell 2408WFP, WinXP SP3. Folding: Antec 300, Asus P5Q Del, Q9550 @3.2, 2*8800GT, 4GB Corsair PC6400, 750GB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX620, Win7x64. Folding: Antec 300, Asus P6TD Del, i7 920 @3.8, 9800GTX+8800GT, 6GB Corsair PC12800, 1TB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX1000, Win7x64.
1Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 06:42   #45
oatey4519
can't be arsed...
 
oatey4519's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambs, Uk
Posts: 437
oatey4519 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
cheers for the info..
__________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz EK HF Nickel Blocked - 8GB Corsair Vengeance RED - EVGA Z77 FTW - 120GB Corsair Force GT - 1TB Samsung F1 - 1TB Samsung F3 - EVGA GTX 660 FTW Sig2 3GB - EVGA GTX 470 x 2 - Coolermaster Silent Pro M1000 W - Corsair 800D - Dell 2209W 1920 x 1080 - ASUS Xonar Dx - Sennheiser PC350 Headphones - Saitek Keyboard & Logitech G9 Mouse
oatey4519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 09:11   #46
Taffy
Folding for Margaret 17/3/2011 RIP
 
Taffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Exiled in Staffordshire
Posts: 560
Taffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi Harlam, I have just updated to V5.00 OK however both the previous version and this one do not deal with the new core 23 units correctly. its mainly a maths error, giving the iteration time as 1hr 12min when it should be 8mn 7secs (or thereabouts on my setup) and the PPD are therefore incorrect. the log shows the correct iteration time.
__________________
1) MSI 790FX-GD70, AMD PH.II X4 955, 4GB Corsair DDR3, 1 x GTX 760, 1000W PSU in Lian Li 2100. 2) Alienware M17x-R2 folding on i5 520M
Folding stats
Taffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 02:57   #47
leexgx
CPC hang out zone (i Fix pcs i do )
 
leexgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 1,242
leexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
also put some sort of check in place crashing when .net is missing
__________________
i7-920 (4Ghz) <> Titian ferna <> Rampage extreme III<> GTX480 <> 6gb 3x2gb OCZ Gold 1600 <> SSD M225 256gb / segate .11 1.5TB <> X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty <> TK 1000w Toughpower <win7 x64> GreenFrog Computers Warrington
leexgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2010, 22:03   #48
1Razor
Living life one day at a time....
 
1Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Salisbury, UK
Posts: 273
1Razor has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I just tried to view Benchmarks and it doesn't appear to be working now, but definitely did before the upgrade.....!

Running on my Gaming machine set-up.
__________________
Folding stats
Gaming: Silverstone TJ07, Asus P5Q Del, Q9550 @3.2, GTX285, 4Gb OCZ PC8500, 750GB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX1000, Dell 2408WFP, WinXP SP3. Folding: Antec 300, Asus P5Q Del, Q9550 @3.2, 2*8800GT, 4GB Corsair PC6400, 750GB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX620, Win7x64. Folding: Antec 300, Asus P6TD Del, i7 920 @3.8, 9800GTX+8800GT, 6GB Corsair PC12800, 1TB Spinpoint F1, Corsair HX1000, Win7x64.

Last edited by 1Razor; 21st May 2010 at 22:05. Reason: Which machine
1Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 13:25   #49
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Guys, quick question. on HFM, when I have my SMP client running, the Status bar is yellow and says "RunningNoFrameTimes" when I hold the mouse over it.

My GPUs all say "Running" and are green. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 13:41   #50
Taffy
Folding for Margaret 17/3/2011 RIP
 
Taffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Exiled in Staffordshire
Posts: 560
Taffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Normally when the bar is yellow the client has not completed enough Framesto calculate the scores and this is normal as SMP clients can take several mins to do a frame
__________________
1) MSI 790FX-GD70, AMD PH.II X4 955, 4GB Corsair DDR3, 1 x GTX 760, 1000W PSU in Lian Li 2100. 2) Alienware M17x-R2 folding on i5 520M
Folding stats
Taffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 14:21   #51
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Ah fair enough. I have just added a machine, so all good then.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jul 2010, 20:33   #52
Taffy
Folding for Margaret 17/3/2011 RIP
 
Taffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Exiled in Staffordshire
Posts: 560
Taffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just updated to the latest version, seems Ok
__________________
1) MSI 790FX-GD70, AMD PH.II X4 955, 4GB Corsair DDR3, 1 x GTX 760, 1000W PSU in Lian Li 2100. 2) Alienware M17x-R2 folding on i5 520M
Folding stats
Taffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Oct 2010, 04:12   #53
harlam357
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
harlam357 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
New Version: 0.6.0 - Revision 249 - Beta - Download

I'm proud to bring you all two pretty big feature additions to this version of HFM. The first is the addition of the Work Unit History Viewer and Database. This database supersedes the CompletedUnits.csv file that has been written with information on completed work units prior to this version. Check the Tools menu.

You also have the option to Import your CompletedUnits.csv file so we don't leave all that good data you've been collecting with no where to go. There were some inconsistencies in the manner HFM wrote to the CompeltedUnits.csv file so I've done my best to write the Import to only process *Good* data that can be verified without a whole lot of fuss. The Import will weed out any duplicate entries in the file and also give you option to "fix-up" the entries in the file that were unable to be imported. Here are a couple likely scenarios:

- p6701/6702 have an issue with a comma in the work unit name. You can safely remove the ENTIRE work unit name from those entries. The import completely ignores the work unit name value. Once the bad entries file is clean-up up you can Import that file and only those entries by performing another Import on that file.

You can find the WU Database file in the HFM Data Files. See the Help menu. The file name is WuHistory.db3. If don't feel like you got everything Imported the way you want you can simply delete that file and try again.

Example:

Code:
BAD:  6701,p6701_VSD in POPC and water, neutralized,Windows SMP - Main Workstation,...

GOOD: 6701,,Windows SMP - Main Workstation,..
- International users are likely out of luck using the CompletedUnits.csv Import unless you want to script or hand convert your CompletedUnits.csv file to be formatted in United States English format. The issues here include decimal numbers written with commas and date values not in en-US format. I apologize to any of you this will effect but this Import is a one off deal and I made the decision to keep it simple and not attempt to write a bunch of code to fix this one time deal. The software is Beta and issues like this are the reason I continue to label it as such.

The second big addition is the ability to Merge Client Data from other instances of HFM. For example, you have clients running at work and would like to monitor them in conjunction with your clients running at home. However, you do not have access to all the log files over HTTP or FTP. The solution, the HFM instance at work can act as a data collector using the Web Generation option 'Copy Client Data to Target' to place a ClientData.dat file in a location exposed by a HTTP or FTP server. Then on your home machine you can use the Clients -> Merge Client Data option to point HFM to that data file. Once retrieved the clients monitored by the remote instance of HFM will be visible in the local instance IN A READ-ONLY FASHION. You cannot edit or otherwise control the remote clients. It's simply a data merge.

What else? FahMon Import support has been removed from the main code base. It is now available as a Plugin. Download and read the readme.txt file for instructions on getting it installed. There are also new hotkey options (Alt+O) and (Alt+P) to cycle the Bonus and PPD Calculation options respectively.


Check the HFM Google Code page for downloads and details on the changes. As always, if you need to find me quickly, see below. I usually answer pretty quickly.

---

Need help with HFM? Have a Feature Request? Please Join the Discussions. Post in the HFM Google Group.

http://groups.google.com/group/hfm-net
harlam357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2010, 17:48   #54
Synay
Supermodder
 
Synay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 442
Synay has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ha! Finally I got around to bringing up my live folding status. I must admit, HFM.NET made it really easy. Check it out here: folding.coalescency.org

Just a quick question, does anyone know if you can make hmf.net not forget how many Wu's the clients done when I temporarily shut them down? Counter resets every time I do that, even if the monitoring stays on all the time.
Synay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2010, 13:49   #55
jondi_hanluc
Retired Folder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 185
jondi_hanluc has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This is maybe a question for StreetSam or Saspro, how do you guys go about uploading you HFM HTML files to your web site automatically?

I currently have this free web site http://jondihanluc.net16.net/summary.html

I'm using a free FTP program called Filezilla to upload my HTML files generated by HFM but I can only do it manually, I'd like to be able to do it automatically every 30mins or so. Is there a particular FTP client you use or is there another way to go about it?
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats

Last edited by jondi_hanluc; 8th Dec 2010 at 17:51.
jondi_hanluc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2010, 15:30   #56
StreetSam
Supermodder
 
StreetSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 261
StreetSam has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondi_hanluc View Post
This is maybe a question for StreetSam or Saspro, how do you guys go about uploading you HFM HTML files to your web site automatically?
Rather annoyingly the computer that does that is down at the moment, but I'll see if I can remember. I think HFM is supposed to upload the files itself, however much like you I could never get it to work. So I used a small FTP prog that uploads the files once every fifteen minutes, but of course I now can't remember what it is called, though I think it is FileZilla. Sorry, I'll try to remember to post again when that computer is back working.
__________________
Folding stats
Current Folding@Home stats
StreetSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2010, 15:45   #57
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,879
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondi_hanluc View Post
This is maybe a question for StreetSam or Saspro, how do you guys go about uploading you HFM HTML files to your web site automatically?
?
In preferences tick "create web site"
Set it to whatever time period you want.

In the target folder put in:

Code:
ftp://username:password@ftp.yourhost.tld/ftpdirectory/
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2010, 17:47   #58
jondi_hanluc
Retired Folder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 185
jondi_hanluc has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I've got it working using Saspro's method, I had to uncheck that "copy FAHlog" that was messing things up, but it's working great now. Thanks for the replies both.
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
jondi_hanluc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2010, 08:02   #59
standinwave
Folding in memory of my mum
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 265
standinwave has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondi_hanluc View Post
I've got it working using Saspro's method, I had to uncheck that "copy FAHlog" that was messing things up, but it's working great now. Thanks for the replies both.
I just couldn't get the auto upload to work. I ended up using Filezilla and manually uploading whenever I remember Any ideas? I use Webtemp to upload to the same webspace and that works just fine
standinwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Dec 2010, 08:53   #60
jondi_hanluc
Retired Folder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 185
jondi_hanluc has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by standinwave View Post
I just couldn't get the auto upload to work. I ended up using Filezilla and manually uploading whenever I remember Any ideas? I use Webtemp to upload to the same webspace and that works just fine
I just copied what Saspro said, below is a screenie of mine:

__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
jondi_hanluc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:46.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.