bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Feb 2010, 14:37   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Google moves into ISP realm

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...to-isp-realm/1

Google has announced plans to launch a trial fibre-to-the-home service which will see the search and advertising giant offering 1Gb/s Internet connections to home users.

__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 14:48   #2
UncertainGod
Ultramodder
 
UncertainGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,422
UncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the DremelUncertainGod has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ah, this story doesn't let the truth get in it's way at all does it?

There are conducting trials with up to 500,000 people (multiple small scale sites) to test new fibre rollout strategies that they can then pass on to ISP's in order to give fast network rollout a kick up the arse. Also it doesn't help remind ISP's that if they didn't improve their network and keep it open then Google certainly has the pieces in place to move into the market.
__________________
Twitter Blippr Last.fm Steam Google Profile

PSN ID: Sp4rkR4t
UncertainGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 14:50   #3
B1GBUD
A Paragon of Virtue.... Apparently
 
B1GBUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Guildford
Posts: 2,221
B1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Any word up upstream speeds?
__________________
Teh unofficial Bit-Tech proof reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teelzebub View Post
( Kid you dont want either only bud is any good lol )
B1GBUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 14:52   #4
shanky887614
Multimodder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 203
shanky887614 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
look at tomshardware there is more detail

and you have to vote for your town to do this and it is only availible in the us
shanky887614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:16   #5
Stewb
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 600
Stewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
125k bytes is now ulktra high speed broadband? Thought that was known as midband... or not even that... slowest broadband I know of is 2Gb/s....

yes, indded, out by a factpor of 1000

Last edited by Stewb; 11th Feb 2010 at 15:23.
Stewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:21   #6
markoshust
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
markoshust has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
you are incorrect. the slowest broadband you know of is probably 1Mb/s, not Gb/s. This is a thousand times faster than a 1Mb/s connection.

Last edited by Bindibadgi; 11th Feb 2010 at 16:06. Reason: Please be nicer
markoshust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:22   #7
Stewb
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 600
Stewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel


Not enough sleep.

Oh yes. that really is quite fast
Stewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:28   #8
Digi
The not-so-funny Cockney
 
Digi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Only cockney in DK
Posts: 1,451
Digi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by B1GBUD View Post
Any word up upstream speeds?
Fiber should be a 1-to-1 link right? So up and down should be the same.
__________________
i5 3570k with a H100 on top / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / EVGA GTX 670 2gb SC / 8gb Corsair Veng 1866 / 128gb Crucial M4 / Seasonic 80+ 750w / Fractal R3 / 1TB Samsung F3 x2


A member of a mystical group of master-gamers. Find them hiding at www.tunedgaming.co.uk
Digi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:33   #9
Stewb
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 600
Stewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digi View Post
Fiber should be a 1-to-1 link right? So up and down should be the same.
Time for me to stop looking like an idiot hopefully.... Maybe its technically a 1-1 link but my fibre isn't, ive got a 20Mb down but a 2Mb up, maybe thats just the ISP but its not necessarily a 1-1.

Last edited by Stewb; 11th Feb 2010 at 15:41. Reason: B/b
Stewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:40   #10
NuTech
Mod Master
 
NuTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 2,222
NuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run CrysisNuTech can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewb View Post
Time for me to stop looking like an idiot hopefully.... Maybe its technically a 1-1 link but my fibre isn't, ive got a 20MB down but a 2MB up, maybe thats just the ISP but its not necessarily a 1-1.
Sure you're not talking about a Cable connection?
__________________
NuTech
NuTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 15:41   #11
Stewb
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 600
Stewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the DremelStewb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuTech View Post
Sure you're not talking about a Cable connection?
Yup, definitely fibre, ill check, its either 2Mb up or 4Mb up, certianly not as fast as the down though.
Stewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 16:18   #12
proxess
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Zeist, Netherlands
Posts: 975
proxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for presidentproxess should be considered for president
Fiber usually isn't 1to1. It's usually dedicated down and shared up (at least that's how it is here in Portugal). For home use at the moment we have 100Mbit down dedicated and 100mbit up shared between 5~20 households. For the industry there are a few banks (2 or 3) with 10Gbit.
__________________
Laptop: i7 4800MQ 2.7GHz (~3.7GHz); 2x 4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600MHz; Nvidia 780M 4GB; Crucial M4 256GB SSD; Ubuntu 14.04 x64 and Windows 8.1 x64.
Ubuntu #8076 / Linux #429448
proxess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 16:25   #13
shigllgetcha
Come at me bro
 
shigllgetcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,031
shigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysisshigllgetcha can run Crysis
but will it run onlive lol
__________________
I dont trust anything I hear on QI ¶ xbox live id: shigllgetcha ¶ PC: some dell
shigllgetcha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 16:38   #14
TheStockBroker
King Battletoad
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 1,298
TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Cloud computing, anyone?
__________________
Corsair Carbide 540 / Asus Maximus VI Hero / 4670K / Corsair H80 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600Mhz DDR3 / EVGA GTX 780 / Asus Xonar DX / 512GB OCZ Vertex 4 / Seasonic X-650 / Dell U2711
TheStockBroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 17:24   #15
SJS-1697
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
SJS-1697 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Im sure this is all a plan for Google to get out there OS to more computers this will increase the speed at which the cloud os will load.

Also the fiber link that i use on a regular basis is 1:1 and thats in the uk, and i get about 50mb both ways.

so just depends where you are and how its set up but im all for supporting the fast internet connection
SJS-1697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 18:41   #16
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,345
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
"experiment with new ways to help make broadband Internet access batter, faster, and more widely available,"

can you batter the internet, does it taste nice with chips
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 18:44   #17
Redbeaver
The Other Red Meat
 
Redbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,782
Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
not available for Canada.... booo
__________________
Ophelia
ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo - Q6600 - 4GB DDR2 - NVIDIA 8800GTS 640 - WD Black 2x320Gb RAID-0 - Silverstone TJ-06 [Modded]
Perseus
ASUS Z97i-Plus - 4670K - 8GB DDR3 - Zotac GTX 970 - Crucial MX100 256GB - Corsair 250D [Modded]
www.pecelayam.com
Redbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 19:39   #18
Blackie Chan
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Blackie Chan has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
http://www.google.com/tisp/install.html
These are their devious plans.
Blackie Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 19:53   #19
Waynio
Mmmm Donuts
 
Waynio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,958
Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackie Chan
http://www.google.com/tisp/install.html
These are their devious plans.
LMAO .
Waynio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2010, 20:01   #20
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,345
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Blackie you got the wrong date to post that one, 48/49 days early
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:45.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.