bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Mar 2010, 11:06   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
AMD launches Magny-Cours competition

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...-cours-compo/1

__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 11:25   #2
GFC
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 118
GFC has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
GFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 11:30   #3
flibblesan
Destroyer
 
flibblesan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,402
flibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitflibblesan is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFC
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
-_-
flibblesan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 11:38   #4
Kúsař
regular bit-tech reader
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brnicko, CZ
Posts: 317
Kúsař has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
With this I could compile 12 levels of Quake at once! Which means I can compile entire episode + additional 33% of levels of next episode at the same time. That's awesome!
According to the link on AMD blog competing Intel product is Westmere-EP(tri-channel DDR3 memory controller). Let's wish AMD some luck for a change...
Kúsař is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 11:49   #5
dec
[blank space]
 
dec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 300
dec has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFC View Post
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
If one frame is fully rendered by one core you MIGHT MIGHT get like 12fps

If i was going to enter id say 48 CPU's is better left for like government/military applications. Not like terminators but lets use the scenario where the police are looking for a murderer or something. Assuming there were camera's (or high res satellite images) a processor like this and enough RAM the computer could use the satellite's to take pictures of people who look like the suspect and cross reference that with where the crime happened and when and give the police a "its most likely one of these people" list.


Or the FBI could just watch you bathe for kicks.
__________________
Pure. Refreshing. Bacon.
dec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 12:24   #6
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,386
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
one hell of a folding@home machine, ps its my idea, so anyone submitting it, i want half the processors
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 12:28   #7
p3n
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 778
p3n has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by dec
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFC View Post
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
If one frame is fully rendered by one core you MIGHT MIGHT get like 12fps

If i was going to enter id say 48 CPU's is better left for like government/military applications. Not like terminators but lets use the scenario where the police are looking for a murderer or something. Assuming there were camera's (or high res satellite images) a processor like this and enough RAM the computer could use the satellite's to take pictures of people who look like the suspect and cross reference that with where the crime happened and when and give the police a "its most likely one of these people" list.


Or the FBI could just watch you bathe for kicks.
http://www.top500.org/

Welcome to Earth....
p3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 13:09   #8
CharlO
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 97
CharlO has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by dec
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFC View Post
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
If one frame is fully rendered by one core you MIGHT MIGHT get like 12fps
Like 48 isn't it? Thats likely to be playable.
CharlO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 13:19   #9
Pete J
RIP Kidmod
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,886
Pete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFC
Yea, but can it run Crysis?
I suppose someone has to ask it

I wonder if these chips are overclockable? Probably not but hey, we can hope. Cooling for these chips must also be quite large.
__________________
Lian Li PC-P80B / EVGA X79 Dark / i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz (no HT) / Corsair H80i / 4x4GB Avexir Core Blue Series @ 2400MHz 10-12-12-31-2T / 3x SLI EVGA 3GB GTX 780 @1075MHz Core 7000MHz Memory / X-Fi Titanium Professional / 2 x 250GB Samsung 840 / 120GB Vertex 2 / 480GB Vertex 2 / 2TB WD Caviar Green / Silverstone Strider 1500W / Asus PQ321QE / Dell 3007WFP-HC / Headphones TBA / Logitech MK710 and MX3200 / Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 / Datacolor Spyder3 / Win 7 Ultimate x64 / Gigabyte P34G V2
Pete J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 13:49   #10
eddtox
Homo Interneticus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maidstone, Kent
Posts: 1,296
eddtox has yet to learn the way of the Dremeleddtox has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i just hope they don't start trying to tell us that we need 48 cores in our pcs. i think it's a great achievement, but the average joe shouldn't need more than 4 cores at the very most, with one or two still being the sweet spot.
__________________
Check out my big clearout sale - Now with added Kindle
eddtox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 14:35   #11
TomH
Bwahahahahaha
 
TomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 751
TomH has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddtox
i just hope they don't start trying to tell us that we need 48 cores in our pcs. i think it's a great achievement, but the average joe shouldn't need more than 4 cores at the very most, with one or two still being the sweet spot.
Yes, but this is the future, not the present.
__________________
Blog: full of inspirational geekism. Maybe.
StaffsLUG: Linux users group, Staffordshire.
TomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 15:22   #12
Brooxy
Like a boss (but not a boss)
 
Brooxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,068
Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.
I think the winning reason will be:

The best use of 48 cores is having them because we can
Brooxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 15:27   #13
tad2008
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Sussex, UK
Posts: 311
tad2008 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
You forget to mention that this is ONLY open to U.S. Residents which leaves us in the U.K. out in the cold once again...
tad2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 15:28   #14
tad2008
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Sussex, UK
Posts: 311
tad2008 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Cleans glasses, then re-reads.... <looks abashed>
tad2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 18:28   #15
Nexxo
Whatever's Geek.
 
Nexxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 26,504
Nexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by KĂşsař
With this I could compile 12 levels of Quake at once!
Finally, a sensible application for all that expensive tech.
__________________
In memory of Kidmod-Southpaw (1997 - 2014)
a fellow geek, modder, dreamer of dreams
https://www.justgiving.com/kidmod


Current project: Metaversa 02 Ada.
Nexxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 18:38   #16
Farfalho
Supermodder
 
Farfalho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 421
Farfalho has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I thought this would have x64-bit architecture! For AMD claiming the first x86 12-core processor, I'm a bit disappointed but well, it has 12 core, hurray!

A great way to make use of that is by making real-life simulations in engineer, better, faster and more accurate simulations and medicine. It can also be used to guess the loto and euromillions numbers which could be a cheap investment xD
Farfalho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 19:04   #17
brave758
Ultramodder
 
brave758's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: all over
Posts: 1,141
brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.brave758 is definitely a rep cheat.
I already posted this

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=184316

But ya my title could have been better. Hindsight, great eh.
__________________
The PC : X99 Deluxe = Crucial 16gig@2400= i7 5820K EKWB = PA 120.3 Rad = EKWB EVGA 780 ti classified SLI = Corsair AX1200i PSU = Mountain Mods U2-UFO= 2 x M4 SSD raid 0
Laptop : Alienware M17XR3, 2960xm, 16g corsair vengeance 1600, crucial M4 256, GTX680M 4gig, 3D, Killer networks wifi card.
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. (Martin Luther King)

Last edited by brave758; 8th Mar 2010 at 19:17.
brave758 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2010, 21:48   #18
Sloth
#yolo #swag
 
Sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, US
Posts: 5,634
Sloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The world's most badass paper weight.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k | Gelid Tranquillo | ASUS P8P67 | G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB | XFX 7970 Black Edition | SeaSonic X650 | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF922
Dell U2412M | 2x Samsung Syncmaster 931B | SteelSeries Siberia V2 | Razer DeathAdder 2013 | Leopold FC200RR/AB | Leopold FC200RC/AB
Sloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2010, 01:56   #19
Vigilante
Minimodder
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
Vigilante has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farfalho
I thought this would have x64-bit architecture! For AMD claiming the first x86 12-core processor, I'm a bit disappointed but well, it has 12 core, hurray!
It is 64-bit, the article just mentioned x86 to refer to the class of processor (in comparison to ARM-type architectures). It would be extremely silly for a quad opteron system with 32 memory slots and 48 cores to have no more than 4gb of memory address space :P
Vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2010, 08:43   #20
crazyceo
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 563
crazyceo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
AMD cause uproar with their recent 12-Core release as it "EPIC FAILS!" when it's beaten in benchtests by Intel's Q6600. You know it's going to happen!
crazyceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:27.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.