bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st Mar 2010, 08:29   #1
Sifter3000
I used to be somebody
Moderator
 
Sifter3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The South Sea Bubble
Posts: 1,766
Sifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
AMD Opteron 6174 vs Intel Xeon X5650 Review

If the 6-core Core i7-980X Extreme Edition wasn't fast enough for you, we've another treat for you today. Meet the world's first 12-core CPU and its Intel rival, which hopes to get by with six physical cores and six logical Hyper-Threaded cores.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpu...x5650-review/1

__________________
The Rt Hon Alex Watson.
Dennis Publishing Emerging Platforms, bit and CPC alumni.

My weblog is The Wired Jester.
Photos on Flickr.
Sifter3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 08:46   #2
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,153
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm hoping this line isn't a misprint
6128 2GHz 8 80W 1,333, 1066, 800 $266
Though the motherboards are FAR from economical (in regards to a specialty case requirement, and high set up costs), 8 physical cores at 2GHz a piece is a rather INSANE value for $266.
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 08:55   #3
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
No, it's not a misprint, but don't forget that $266 is the list price, so what you end up paying (depending on where you buy it) won't be exactly the same as this. It's a great price even so
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 09:23   #4
confusis
Kiwi-modder
 
confusis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,406
confusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysis
looks like folding has a new king... might be time to save for a amd 6174setup!
confusis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 09:27   #5
barndoor101
Bring back the demote thread!
 
barndoor101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Clitheroe, Lancs
Posts: 1,694
barndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysis
you got the Xeon table wrong - the logical cores column
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz // 12Gb Crucial Ballistix 1600Mhz // Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X (x2) // 3x Samsung 2333SW // Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB & F1 1TB // 160gb Intel G2 SSD // Asus Xonar DG
Asus P6T SE // Antec EarthWatts 750W Modular // CM HAF922 // Corsair H100 // Logitech G11 & G5
Dell Studio 1737 // ASUS Transformer Prime
barndoor101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 09:49   #6
500mph
The Right man in the Wrong place
 
500mph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 2,129
500mph has yet to learn the way of the Dremel500mph has yet to learn the way of the Dremel500mph has yet to learn the way of the Dremel500mph has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Was I the only one who thought the Picture was stretched when they first saw the Opteron?
__________________
Rocketfeesh Emergen-C!
[Web][Twitter][Steam]

500mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 09:54   #7
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,153
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard
No, it's not a misprint, but don't forget that $266 is the list price, so what you end up paying (depending on where you buy it) won't be exactly the same as this. It's a great price even so
Even if it hits the deck for $299 retail, it's still a fantastic deal if you think about it. It would really open the door to rather ridiculous performance, when you consider that you could probably build a 16 core, 32GB of ram rig for a shade under 5k.

I'm curious as to those motherboards, though. Judging by the haphazardly placed pci-e slots and giant motherboard gaps, I assume there's I/O risers, or?
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 09:54   #8
coolmiester
Coolermaster Legend
 
coolmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 2,081
coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!coolmiester - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Made good reading and great to see Bit-Tech covering something for the dual CPU enthusiasts, especially as i just got a couple of X5650's

I'm currently running mine in an Intel S5520SC Shady Cove board running BIOS update 48 and getting in the region of 36014 in Cinebench R10 to your 32724 which is quite a large increase.

I'll run a few more of the benchmarks you ran and see how they compare.
coolmiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:09   #9
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by barndoor101
you got the Xeon table wrong - the logical cores column
What do you think is incorrect in the table?
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:14   #10
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,153
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
What do you think is incorrect in the table?
It may be difficult to utilize a CPU with 0 logical cores.

L5609 1.86GHz 4 0 40W 1,066, 800 $440
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:15   #11
Kúsař
regular bit-tech reader
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brnicko, CZ
Posts: 317
Kúsař has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
With this many threads available I'm curious how would two or more "heavy" applications run on these...
Kúsař is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:16   #12
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulatin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
What do you think is incorrect in the table?
It may be difficult to utilize a CPU with 0 logical cores.

L5609 1.86GHz 4 0 40W 1,066, 800 $440
No, the table is correct. This CPU does have 4 physical cores but doesn't support Hyper-Threading so doesn't have any logical cores.
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:22   #13
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,153
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
No, the table is correct. This CPU does have 4 physical cores but doesn't support Hyper-Threading so doesn't have any logical cores.
Makes sense. Can you add an * to it in the article, and clarify this to deal with further confusion?
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:27   #14
barndoor101
Bring back the demote thread!
 
barndoor101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Clitheroe, Lancs
Posts: 1,694
barndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
No, the table is correct. This CPU does have 4 physical cores but doesn't support Hyper-Threading so doesn't have any logical cores.
ahhhhhhh right, you were doing it in addition as opposed to giving the total - normal nomenclature is to give the total physical cores then the total logical cores, that way you can easily tell if the CPU has HT.

a single physical core without HT is still a single logical core
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz // 12Gb Crucial Ballistix 1600Mhz // Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X (x2) // 3x Samsung 2333SW // Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB & F1 1TB // 160gb Intel G2 SSD // Asus Xonar DG
Asus P6T SE // Antec EarthWatts 750W Modular // CM HAF922 // Corsair H100 // Logitech G11 & G5
Dell Studio 1737 // ASUS Transformer Prime
barndoor101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 10:29   #15
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulatin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard View Post
No, the table is correct. This CPU does have 4 physical cores but doesn't support Hyper-Threading so doesn't have any logical cores.
Makes sense. Can you add an * to it in the article, and clarify this to deal with further confusion?
Good idea, I've added an addendum underneath the table to hopefully avoid any confusion over this issue.
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 11:13   #16
Doomah
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Doomah has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
About the X5677. The reason it's higher clocked but less cores is simple: Some server software is 'pay per core'. So if your server has less cores, you pay less for the software. So instead of taking a slower 6 core, you actually save money by taking a faster quadcore.
Doomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 11:16   #17
barndoor101
Bring back the demote thread!
 
barndoor101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Clitheroe, Lancs
Posts: 1,694
barndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysisbarndoor101 can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doomah View Post
About the X5677. The reason it's higher clocked but less cores is simple: Some server software is 'pay per core'. So if your server has less cores, you pay less for the software. So instead of taking a slower 6 core, you actually save money by taking a faster quadcore.
its probably more to do with certain applications not scaling above 8 threads - so having 8 faster threads is more desirable than ahving 6 slower ones.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz // 12Gb Crucial Ballistix 1600Mhz // Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X (x2) // 3x Samsung 2333SW // Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB & F1 1TB // 160gb Intel G2 SSD // Asus Xonar DG
Asus P6T SE // Antec EarthWatts 750W Modular // CM HAF922 // Corsair H100 // Logitech G11 & G5
Dell Studio 1737 // ASUS Transformer Prime
barndoor101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 12:45   #18
unclean
SMP obsessive
 
unclean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,194
unclean has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Guys, the explanation of why the Opteron is so much faster in Cinebench R11 is flawed. Although there is some element of truth regarding the lower clocked cores, as there is more overhead associated with actually executing each thread, that can be said of R11 too. The difference is really due to the 16 thread limit present in Cinebench R10.

I don't know, it seems like nowadays there's an element of thorough analysis that's missing and results are rushed online.

Same for the 470 & 480 reviews. Arguably, the 480 *is* the fastest single card, not by much of a margin, granted. However, to give the 470 lower ratings (mainly regarding value) than the 480 seems absurd, as it clearly represents much better value for money.

I feel like a parent saying "I'm not angry, just disappointed"...
__________________
i7 920 @ 4GHz 6GB Tracer 4870X2 || Dual Xeon X5340 @ 3GHz 12GB FBDIMM 4TB RAID5 w/27" Dell 2707WFP || Dual 1.6GHz LV Xeons @ 3.2GHz || Dual Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2350MHz || Dual Athlon MP2400+ || Dual Celeron 366 @ 550MHz
unclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 13:14   #19
venommachine
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
venommachine has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Post by; Tulatin:

I'm curious as to those motherboards, though. Judging by the haphazardly placed pci-e slots and giant motherboard gaps, I assume there's I/O risers, or?

The Supermicro UIO boards come with various different PCI-E Risers, to go in either 1U or 2U form factors. Supermicro of course have DP Workstation solutions available also for mid-tower or workstation form factors for personal supercomputing.

Boston Limited, where the test kit came from, are the guys who know all

JW
venommachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 13:18   #20
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclean
Guys, the explanation of why the Opteron is so much faster in Cinebench R11 is flawed. Although there is some element of truth regarding the lower clocked cores, as there is more overhead associated with actually executing each thread, that can be said of R11 too. The difference is really due to the 16 thread limit present in Cinebench R10.
Good point, sorry about that - I've been trying to write the Opteron 6000-series, Xeon 5600-series and forthcoming Xeon 7500-series reviews together, and had overlooked the thread limit in Cinebench R10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclean
Same for the 470 & 480 reviews. Arguably, the 480 *is* the fastest single card, not by much of a margin, granted. However, to give the 470 lower ratings (mainly regarding value) than the 480 seems absurd, as it clearly represents much better value for money.
This isn't the right place to discuss this, as there's two dedicated threads for the GTX 470 and 480, but just because something is cheaper doesn't mean it's better value for money.

Value for money is an indication of the balance between performance/features/price - not just an indication of how cheap a product is.
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:27.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.